We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Good Breakfast & newly refurbished bedrooms!!”
Review of Camden Lock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Camden Lock Hotel
Ranked #430 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Location, Good Breakfast & newly refurbished bedrooms!!”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I went onto Trip Advisor and saw varied reviews but decided to bite the bullet and so glad we did. We did get off at Camden tube station and walked along the main street taking in the views of the amazing shops. Nearest tube to the hotel is Chalk Farm and the hotel is only across the road when you come out. The staff are friendly and although we couldn't check in, we were able to leave our bags in their secure room whilst we did a bit of exploring! We did have a few drinks in The Enterprise - it's a bit 'spit and sawdust' and almost a typical old style pub but the staff and people were friendly so no complaints there. There was also a roaring fire on the go even though the sun was shining - nice to see! There is a lot of noise & music from The Enterprise late at night, but what else can you expect on a main road?
The beds were very comfy and the rooms look as though they've had new carpets and the bathroom was lovely - nice corner shower! We were staying on the first floor so directly overlooked the pub but as we were at the theatre on the evening, it didn't matter although there aren't any nets up at the windows and our bathroom window was directly opposite the pub so if you have your light on, punters may be able to see you. My sister and her husband were in the room next door which was on the corner and they had a bath but apart from the noise, they slept well too.
The breakfast was amazing and extremely tasty - for £5 it's well worth it. You had a choice of continental or full English with a choice of scrambled or fried eggs. Brown or white toast is included and you also get a pot of tea or coffee. Well worth the money and would they should be proud of their breakfast - very hearty!
Would I stay there again? Without a doubt - good value and nice and clean.

Room Tip: Probably request a room not facing the main road or the pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicoleta F, Manager at Camden Lock Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Dawn B,
Thank you so much for your review.
We are delighted that you and your sister enjoyed your stay with us and delighted that you will stay with us again.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    274
    148
    44
    30
See reviews for
50
246
77
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

If you want to see a gig at The Roundhouse, this is THE best place to stay. It is literally across the road. It is also handy for Camden with its diverse shops and markets. It's also a couple of minutes from Chalk Farm tube station.
Handiness aside, the actual hotel has very welcoming staff, and for a fiver a head, you can pop next door to The Lounge in the morning and have a very good full english breakfast.
The sheets and towels are clean, and there is the obligatory coffee/tea making tray. Need more than the two tiny portions of milk, though.
The bed, surprisingly, was comfortable, but really they could do with some thicker mattresses, and plumper pillows to improve comfort. The carpets are a bit tired, too.
If you are in a room facing the street, you won't get any peace. It's very busy out there!
Considering the average price of a similar type hotel room in London is about £150, The Camden Lock is pretty good value.

Room Tip: If you want some sleep, you should try to book a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveBrighton64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicoleta F, Manager at Camden Lock Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear LoveBrighton64,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay.
We are pleased that you found our staff welcoming and our breakfast very good. Unfortunately we do have a few rooms with old carpet but the issue will be addressed during our ongoing refurbishment process.
Thank you again for the feedback and we hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed one night while in London for an auction. Small but spotlessly clean and great value. Spent following morning at Camden market, right on the doorstep and the evening visiting all the local pubs. Very colourful area. Hotel was right next to Chalk Farm tube station and across the road from the Roundhouse. Café next door that interlinks and made a tasty breakfast. Excellent service and all in all a bargain at £80 for 2. There wasn't parking but we parked in Cannock street car park at £14.50 for 24 hours - this way we managed to drive without forking out a further fortune on the trains. Would recommend this hotel and stay again.

Room Tip: Even though we had a room on front main road the glazing was good and wasn't too noisy. Made fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonAnge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicoleta F, Manager at Camden Lock Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are delighted that you found the hotel clean and great value with excellent service.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel is in a great location for a night out in Camden - a very short walk to most of the clubs and bars. However, it really is a "no frills" experience - you get what you pay for. The room was fairly clean - the carpet had quite a few stains on it. Also we couldn't have the window open due to the road noise so the room was rather warm. However, for the price you can't really complain - by far the cheapest option in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicoleta F, Manager at Camden Lock Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Andrea C,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review .
Our refurbishment process will include the change of all old carpets still existing in some of our rooms. Our good location does come with the road noise, unfortunately, especially in London.
Once again thank you for posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The hotel doesn't look much from the outside, more like a hostel. However it was directly opposite the tube, so very easy to access from the West End. I asked for a quiet room as was put on the 3rd floor on the back of the hotel. No Lift but I needed the exercise. The room was a little tired looking, but was a decent size, the bathroom was fairly small but functional. It doesn't provide evening meals, but as mentioned this is a really happening area with restaurants and pubs galore many with live music. Value for money, reasonable, no more. Breakfast was extra although I didn't partake.

Room Tip: If wanting quiet then ask for one at the rear. Not that I am saying that front ones are noisey as I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicoleta F, Manager at Camden Lock Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Nigel J,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are pleased that you have found our hotel value for money and reasonable.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus
Level Contributor
430 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This hotel is directly opposite Chalk Farm tube station on the northern line so quick and easy access into the centre of London. 10minutes walk to Camden Town/Market. Reception staff are very helpful and eager to make the stay pleasant. We were in a group of 7 and everyone on the top floor had refurbished rooms which were great. The rooms are not huge but not as small as some hotels. One person was on the middle floor and had one of the older style rooms. There is no bar at the hotel but plenty of pubs in the immediate area. We didn't have any bother with noise. Breakfast is in the on site coffee shop. I would recommend this hotel as a good base if exploring London but you would probably only want to spend the night here and not lounge about during the day. Again there is a world of food and entertainment on the door step on Chalk Farm Road heading into Camden. The hotel is good value and an excellent location.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngusAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicoleta F, Manager at Camden Lock Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear AngusAsh,
Thank you very much for your review.
We are delighted that you have found our newly refurbished rooms great.
Thank you for your kind comments about our reception staff and looking forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, Teesside
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel as my husband was playing a gig at the pub next door and I have to say it exceeded my expectations. The staff were friendly and helpful, from the initial booking to checking in and out. The bedroom was large and clean with great lighting and a well stocked hospitality tray and the bathroom had a lovely large walk in shower. Breakfast was excellent, and again the service was prompt and pleasant. Location was great too, next to Chalk Farm tube and Camden is definitely a vibrant place to visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louise d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicoleta F, Manager at Camden Lock Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear louise d,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and about the room.
We are delighted to have exceeded your expectations and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Camden
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Camden
York & Albany
York & Albany
#658 of 1,067 in London
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Corner House Hotel
#750 of 1,067 in London
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Lock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Lock Hotel

Property: Camden Lock Hotel
Address: 89 Chalk Farm Road, London NW1 8AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #430 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Camden Lock Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Camden Lock Hotel, a small hotel situated in Camden next to the world famous Camden Lock just north of Regents Park. The Camden Lock Hotel situated in one of the trendiest places in London opposite the legendary Roundhouse theatre at London’s Camden Town is a real value-for-money, quality accommodation. There aren’t many places where you can spend one night out and have the luxury of such a wide range of different music venue choices. Camden Town provides not only a diversity of alternative shops and restaurants, but its pubs, clubs and bars, new and old such as Koko Club, Jazz Café, The Electric Ballroom, the Forum etc. which make Camden such a must area to visit and enjoy!The Camden Lock Hotel is situated just 5 minutes away from Kentish Town West Overground station.The Overground runs every 10 minutes for a 27 minute journey directly into Stratford, the heart of The Olympic Village.Please note: the hotel does not have a lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camden Lock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Camden Lock
Camden Lock London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing