We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Camden Lock Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$214
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Belgrave(London)(Great Value!)
US$278
US$231
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$300
US$273
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$264
US$250
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$312
US$294
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$256
US$234
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$356
US$347
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Rosewood London(London)
US$588
US$491
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Grand London Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
US$176
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$215
US$171
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (657)
Filter reviews
657 results
Traveller rating
130
292
157
47
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
292
157
47
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschalk farm tube stationjazz cafenoisy pubgreat locationminute walkprimrose hillfull englishroom was cleannorthern linebreakfast is servedthird floorshort stayhigh streettwin roomtea and coffee making facilitieswould stay againstayed here for one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
320 - 325 of 657 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Me and my firends went to this property to attend a gig in front on the hotel. I expected a below par place, but actually appreciated it. The rooms are basic but clean and bed confortable. The Staff is very pleasant and helpfull and i liked the cafè next to the hotel where you can also have a nice english breakfast if you are on B&B. WiFI is free so its good. If you need a hair dryer ask the reception. Nice!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALESSANDRO-ATT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicoleta F, Manager at Camden Lock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear ALESSANDRO-ATT,
Thank you very much for your review and for your kind comments about our staff.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Stayed here while at function at Roundhouse as Hotel is opposite.

Staff were courteous and check in was easy. The rooms are small but clean and well presented. My bathroom was spotless and the shower put many much more expensive hotels to shame.

Can be a little noisy in rooms at the front of the hotel but to be expected in Camden when location is this convenient.

Breakfast is taken in the downstairs coffee shop and was quick and well prepared.

A good value hotel and perfect for an overnight stay in Camden/Chalk Farm.

Room Tip: If you want quieter night get a room not facing the road. Alternatively go to the Enterprise pub opposite and don't worry....
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ypxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicoleta F, Manager at Camden Lock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Ypxn,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Your kind words are very much appreciated and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you again and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed at the Camden Lock Hotel on a Tuesday night to attend a concert in Camden. After reading many reviews about this hotel I must say I was a bit concerned, but it was local to our venue so we took the chance. On arrival the lady behind the desk was very polite even though we were a little early for check in she handed us our key. The room we were was small but very clean and freshly decorated, however it was very noisy due to workmen inside a nearby room redecorating and the noise from a busy high street, this would not normally be a problem but I think the window had no noise reduction at all! I have to say that this hotel is good for a stopover but not for anything longer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicoleta F, Manager at Camden Lock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Tony B,
Thank you for your review. Please accept my sincere apologies for the noise caused by our maintenance team. Thank you for your kind words about our receptionist and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I went onto Trip Advisor and saw varied reviews but decided to bite the bullet and so glad we did. We did get off at Camden tube station and walked along the main street taking in the views of the amazing shops. Nearest tube to the hotel is Chalk Farm and the hotel is only across the road when you come out. The staff are friendly and although we couldn't check in, we were able to leave our bags in their secure room whilst we did a bit of exploring! We did have a few drinks in The Enterprise - it's a bit 'spit and sawdust' and almost a typical old style pub but the staff and people were friendly so no complaints there. There was also a roaring fire on the go even though the sun was shining - nice to see! There is a lot of noise & music from The Enterprise late at night, but what else can you expect on a main road?
The beds were very comfy and the rooms look as though they've had new carpets and the bathroom was lovely - nice corner shower! We were staying on the first floor so directly overlooked the pub but as we were at the theatre on the evening, it didn't matter although there aren't any nets up at the windows and our bathroom window was directly opposite the pub so if you have your light on, punters may be able to see you. My sister and her husband were in the room next door which was on the corner and they had a bath but apart from the noise, they slept well too.
The breakfast was amazing and extremely tasty - for £5 it's well worth it. You had a choice of continental or full English with a choice of scrambled or fried eggs. Brown or white toast is included and you also get a pot of tea or coffee. Well worth the money and would they should be proud of their breakfast - very hearty!
Would I stay there again? Without a doubt - good value and nice and clean.

Room Tip: Probably request a room not facing the main road or the pub
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicoleta F, Manager at Camden Lock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Dawn B,
Thank you so much for your review.
We are delighted that you and your sister enjoyed your stay with us and delighted that you will stay with us again.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

If you want to see a gig at The Roundhouse, this is THE best place to stay. It is literally across the road. It is also handy for Camden with its diverse shops and markets. It's also a couple of minutes from Chalk Farm tube station.
Handiness aside, the actual hotel has very welcoming staff, and for a fiver a head, you can pop next door to The Lounge in the morning and have a very good full english breakfast.
The sheets and towels are clean, and there is the obligatory coffee/tea making tray. Need more than the two tiny portions of milk, though.
The bed, surprisingly, was comfortable, but really they could do with some thicker mattresses, and plumper pillows to improve comfort. The carpets are a bit tired, too.
If you are in a room facing the street, you won't get any peace. It's very busy out there!
Considering the average price of a similar type hotel room in London is about £150, The Camden Lock is pretty good value.

Room Tip: If you want some sleep, you should try to book a room at the back.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveBrighton64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicoleta F, Manager at Camden Lock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear LoveBrighton64,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay.
We are pleased that you found our staff welcoming and our breakfast very good. Unfortunately we do have a few rooms with old carpet but the issue will be addressed during our ongoing refurbishment process.
Thank you again for the feedback and we hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews