We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location at a Budget Price”
Review of Camden Lock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Camden Lock Hotel
Ranked #431 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great Location at a Budget Price”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed a night at The Camden Lock Hotel. Great location, 100yds from Chalk Farm tube station and a couple of hundred yards from Camden Lock itself. Helpful and friendly staff, basic but clean and tidy. Tea/coffee in the room, Good TV and Shower and comfy bed. The only problem was adjusting the shower temperature - be careful as I scalded myself! The room was very hot and as it faced the main road was not very quiet but you get what you pay for and I'd stay again but try and get a room at the back. Went out to 'The Blues Kitchen' in Camden which was amazing - Great food and Sunday night Blues Jam. Great

Room Tip: Try for one out the back for a quieter night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kipims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicoleta F, Manager at Camden Lock Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Kipims,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.
Thank you for your comments about the room and about the staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back in one of our rooms at the back of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    282
    152
    45
    30
See reviews for
52
252
81
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Camden Locks Hotel is a great option for those who want to stay away from the old nasty (but expensive) hotels in central London. There's an underground station across the street and plenty of buses to choose from. Rooms are spaceous and clean. We had problems with getting hot water in our 3rd floor room so was moved to similar room on 2nd floor. Staff was friendly and helpful and the cafe breakfast was decent. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elu22222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicoleta F, Manager at Camden Lock Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear elu2222,
Thank you for your review.
Please do accept our apologies for the hot water issue you have experienced.
Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trivolzio, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

If you use the hotel basically as a place to rest between shopping and walking around London , this is the best place to be. At the heart of camden town this hotel is neat and clean , the personnel is very friendly and helpful and the room ( with en-suite small bathroom ) are confortable ( even if in the "small" side ) . Enjoy Camden ( and its not-so-quiet pub just below your window , but nothing to worry about ) and save some pounds at the same time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicoleta F, Manager at Camden Lock Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Carlo A,
Thank you ever so much for your review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here to see a gig at the Roundhouse which is just opposite. Very reasonable , clean, free wifi and plenty of tea and coffee. Also very close to tube at Chalk Farm and Camden market.
Wouldn't stay for any longer than a couple of nights as quite noisy as you should expect in this part of London but great for one or two nights.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank P9C7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicoleta F, Manager at Camden Lock Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear P9C7,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
We are pleased that you found our hotel very reasonable and clean.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Let me make one thing clear. I like The Camden Lock Hotel. It's a short walk to Camden Market, Regents Park and the famous Roundhouse is right across the road.

The newly refurbished room I had was meticulously clean, a tad on the small side but everything was in order and the people running it were first class. Lovely people. No problems. You couldn't ask for more. So it ticks a lot of boxes at a reasonable price.

Not that the outside street view Is very promising. And the walk from reception to the room is not the leisure industry's greatest experiences. But these were not the real drawbacks for me. It was more the things that are out of the hotel's control anyway. Like noisy traffic, growling motorcycles, police sirens and the base heartbeat from The Enterprise pub next door. These probably sound more irritating than they actually are though. The nightmare gang of girls - tipsied from a night out at the burlesque show who giggled and shrieked away the last bit of their evening back in their room - were more of a problem but, hey, what hotel doesn't have its share of those from time to time? Get over it!

The Camden Lock Hotel can do nothing about most of that. Maybe they're a victim of their own location. But live with this, concentrate on the nice room in a decent hotel, and you 'll have a nice stay. Good luck guys.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicoleta F, Manager at Camden Lock Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Uber-Scribe,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your comments about the room , staff and cleanliness are very much appreciated.
The staircase and the corridors are due to be refurbished in the coming months more towards the end of our bedrooms refurbishment programme. Thank you for your understanding regarding the outside noise and we look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I was expecting the hotel to be basic. I booked with Avios but I believe the cash price is around £100 per night. For that money, even in London, I would expect a little better than this.

The building resembles a run-down guesthouse or bedsit block from the outside. The reception and communal areas are very tired and run down. The actual room wasn't quite as bad but it was very small, furniture knackered and it was in need of decorating. It's in quite a noisy location but sound insulation is OK with the windows closed (no use if it's a hot night!)

On the plus side, it was clean enough, service was friendly, the location is OK (10 minutes walk from the main Camden Town area), and the included breakfast was good with a choice of full English or continental.

All in all I was a bit disappointed. However if you need to stay overnight in Camden and can get a good rate it's worth considering. Personally, next time if I'm going out in Camden I'll either get a taxi home to Surrey or pay a little extra and try the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank London_traveller_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicoleta F, Manager at Camden Lock Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear adesmart,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay.
Please accept our sincere apologies for disappointing you. We are currently undergoing a rolling programme of refurbishment which will include also the communal areas.
We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future perhaps in one of our newly refurbished rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I booked this hotel through Avios as I was going to a gig at The Roundhouse. I can't fault the location to Camden Town underground and The Roundhouse, 2 minute walk to both and there are plenty of restaurants, pubs and takeaways in the area. The Hotel is basic and could do with a bit of updating. When we arrived we were asked for photo i.d.,must say I've never been asked for this in a UK hotel before, you usually use your credit card, but I had to give details of my driving licence which were kept on record for 12 months apparently. I wasn't too happy about that...The room was small, dark and at the back of the hotel with the air con unit buzzing away. There was no remote control for the tv and rubbish under the bed. I asked to be moved and got the impression I was being a nuisance but the new room was bigger, better bathroom and at the front of the hotel with some street noise but I don't mind it to be honest. Still, the room had some faults, cracked window in the bathroom, leaky radiator, one of the wall lights not working and some of the trim on the dresser ripped off...it's just little things like this that put you off, basic or not. But the bed was comfy and linen clean so had a good sleep. The breakfast was served in the adjacent cafe and it was lovely, they did a great Vegetarian cooked breakfast too. So overall, basic but convenient and I would stay there again but only for one or two nights.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have air con noise, rooms at the front have street noise, take your pic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willow127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicoleta F, Manager at Camden Lock Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Willow 127,
Thank you for your review.
We are sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations to the full. Your feedback is extremely important to us and it will be passed on the housekeeping and maintenance department.
We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Camden
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Corner House Hotel
#752 of 1,069 in London
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camden
York & Albany Hotel
York & Albany Hotel
#664 of 1,069 in London
303 reviews
La Gaffe
#449 of 1,069 in London
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Lock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Lock Hotel

Property: Camden Lock Hotel
Address: 89 Chalk Farm Road, London NW1 8AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #431 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Camden Lock Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Camden Lock Hotel, a small hotel situated in Camden next to the world famous Camden Lock just north of Regents Park. The Camden Lock Hotel situated in one of the trendiest places in London opposite the legendary Roundhouse theatre at London’s Camden Town is a real value-for-money, quality accommodation. There aren’t many places where you can spend one night out and have the luxury of such a wide range of different music venue choices. Camden Town provides not only a diversity of alternative shops and restaurants, but its pubs, clubs and bars, new and old such as Koko Club, Jazz Café, The Electric Ballroom, the Forum etc. which make Camden such a must area to visit and enjoy!The Camden Lock Hotel is situated just 5 minutes away from Kentish Town West Overground station.The Overground runs every 10 minutes for a 27 minute journey directly into Stratford, the heart of The Olympic Village.Please note: the hotel does not have a lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Camden Lock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Camden Lock
Camden Lock London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing