We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“little gem”
Review of Camden Lock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Camden Lock Hotel
Ranked #422 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“little gem”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I stayed here on a girlie week-end,booking a twin room for 3 nights.The hotel couldnt be easier to find,being opposite Chalk Farm tube.On arrival the very helpful lady on the desk,whom i found out later was called Marina,gave us plenty of information,as well as maps to make our stay easier.Our room was up two short flights of stairs on the first floor-there is no lift,but this presented no problem.We were very pleased with the room allocated to us,although not that big,it felt in no way cramped,with clothes hanging space,and dressing table,kettle ect,and twin beds,with two pillows on each,and white duvet covers,and overhead reading light.A modern London scene picture on the wall was a nice touch,to a simply decorated room.The en-suit was large and modern with floor to ceiling tileing ,plenty of towels,spare loo roll,and complimentry shower gel,hat,shampoo.There were a few cracked tiles if you really wanted to be picky,but that pales into insignificance when overall this is a great little hotel,in a vibrant area,very clean,very friendly,helpful staff,and i have not even got to the breakfast,which when booked in advance saves you £1.50 per day.We had the vegetarian full English,which is beautiful and comes with juice and a hot drink at £5 per head.This is served until the godly hour of 10,in the adjoining cafe,which is bright and welcoming.The free baggage leaving service is an extra bonus ,as we still wanted to explore the area after booking out.I would defineately stay here again,and cant believe i had not found it before.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genevieve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    281
    150
    44
    30
See reviews for
50
249
79
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I arrived at Camden Lock Hotel at half past 2, knowing that check in started at 2. I was hungry and tred when I arrived, my plan was to drop my stuff of in my room, grab some lunch and then go for a nap in my room as I was booked in for an operation the followng day.
However, when I arrived at the hotel I was given the key to my room and after opening the door I noticed that the room had not been cleaned from the previous occupants. I went back to the reception desk, returned my key and told of how my room had not been cleaned but that I wwill be back after I had got some lunch. Pretty reasonable I think.
After lunch (about 3.30) I returned to the reception desk where they rung the cleaner and asked if my room had been cleaned yet. To my surprise it had not! By this time I was getting pretty fed up. I complained to them of how I had arrived well after the allocated check-in time, and an hour later am still not in my room. With the reply being "we normally have two cleaners but one is away on holiday." As if this is my problem?!
I was then offered a free breakfast, I had to decline as I had to fast from 12 midnight in preperation for my operation. After stating this, I was given no alternative! Which, really, is disgusting and very unsympathetic. I then continued to wait in reception for atleast another half an hourbefore I could go up to my room.
I pain over £90 for the double bedroom for the one night and at that price I did not expect to receive the welcome that I got. Very unsatisfying and upsetting. Surely if hotels know that one of their cleaners is going on holiday and oonly leaving ONE other to clean the WHOLE hotel then they would find a temporary fill in?
Also, if a customer has arrived at the hotel and is the only ONE waiting for their room to be cleaned then that would be PRIORITY and get done first?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel 2 or 3 nights every week in April and May 2014. The staff were very friendly and always helpful. The accommodation is basic, but clean. There are plenty of nearby restaurants to make up for the lack of an evening dining room. Great Value and a Great Location.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back at far quieter than those at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bazza1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicoleta F, Manager at Camden Lock Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Bazza1955,
Thank you very much for your review.
We appreciate your comments about our staff.
We look forward to welcome you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thame, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

An amazing find, great price and ideal location. We stayed in a twin room- which wasn't huge, but was really nicely turned out, clean and modern with a great shower in the en-suite. Overlooked the pub next door- but didn't find noise a problem despite it being a Saturday night. Great to be able to hop of the tube or bus and be able to literally walk straight into the hotel, and we walked less than five minutes to explore Camden market. A great find- and I will be using again whenever I need somewhere to stay in London! Will be recommending!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JaB1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicoleta F, Manager at Camden Lock Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear JaB1991,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
We are delighted that you found the hotel “ an amazing find” and that you will be recommending us.
We look forward to welcome you again next time you are in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel may not be the most fancy place in London, but for the price it's great. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and it is in a quiet area just minutes away from Camden nightlife and markets...breakfast is also great and it's close to two tube stations. Would definitely recommend .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicoleta F, Manager at Camden Lock Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Gerard F,
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Chose the location as I was at the Roundhouse for a gig, hotel was fine, a little shabby but clean and staff very friendly.

Only complaint was that there is a little noise that comes from the pub next door, but other than that the stay was fine

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicoleta F, Manager at Camden Lock Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Nick W,
Thank you for your review.
Unfortunately there is nothing we can do regarding the noise from the pub next door from us.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at the Camden Lock Hotel for one night. We found it really clean, spacious enough with a really nice en suite. Price was excellent, and the location was good for what we wanted to do. The beds were really comfortable. We paid to stay for breakfast and it was worth doing

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starnepus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicoleta F, Manager at Camden Lock Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Starnepus,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We appreciate all your comments and we look forward to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Camden
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Camden
York & Albany
York & Albany
#664 of 1,068 in London
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Corner House Hotel
#756 of 1,068 in London
406 reviews
Five Kings Hotel
#894 of 1,068 in London
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Lock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Lock Hotel

Property: Camden Lock Hotel
Address: 89 Chalk Farm Road, London NW1 8AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #422 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Camden Lock Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Camden Lock Hotel, a small hotel situated in Camden next to the world famous Camden Lock just north of Regents Park. The Camden Lock Hotel situated in one of the trendiest places in London opposite the legendary Roundhouse theatre at London’s Camden Town is a real value-for-money, quality accommodation. There aren’t many places where you can spend one night out and have the luxury of such a wide range of different music venue choices. Camden Town provides not only a diversity of alternative shops and restaurants, but its pubs, clubs and bars, new and old such as Koko Club, Jazz Café, The Electric Ballroom, the Forum etc. which make Camden such a must area to visit and enjoy!The Camden Lock Hotel is situated just 5 minutes away from Kentish Town West Overground station.The Overground runs every 10 minutes for a 27 minute journey directly into Stratford, the heart of The Olympic Village.Please note: the hotel does not have a lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Camden Lock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Camden Lock
Camden Lock London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing