We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“okay place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Camelot House Hotel
Ranked #453 of 573 London B&B and Inns
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“okay place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

We stayed here two nights and did not have any problems. The room was clean and the staff was friendly. Wireless internet from our room worked fine. The stairs our narrow and there is no elevator so an older person would have a harder time getting up to a higher room with luggage. The free breakfast was next door at the Ventures. It was very good and cooked fresh each day. The woman working there was very friendly and took care of us each morning very fast. Considering that this hotel is close too everything and is much cheaper then most hotels in London it is definitely worth it if you are on a tight budget.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millerlit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    3
    11
    7
    45
See reviews for
10
13
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

I was appalled with the condition of the room, there were burnt out electical sockets (illegal), burns on the carpet, filth on the pictures, walls and furniture. The appliances don't work and are unsafe. We even found condoms and rodent traps under furniture! The cleaner let her self in our room whilst we were in there because she had lost something, good job we hadn't just got out of the "dirty" shower! Completly shocked that they are even still trading?

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazz1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

We stayed at this hotel for one night because our flight was cancelled and we needed at room at 2 am. The rooms were dirty and the toilet/shower only had cold water. The rooms towards the street (Sussex Gardens) are noisy and the windows leak. The window frame was black from fungi.
The rooms smelled from guests smoking in the rooms.
The location near Paddington is OK.
Breakfast is in a hotel next to the Camelot (same low standard).
WIFI did not work.
Although it was cheap (55 GBP) I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbsnbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

My wife and I stayed at this hotel last night. The first room we were booked into was dirty - the carpet on the floor was stained and it didn't look like it had been vaccuumed recently. The radiator was only partly warm so the room was cold. The shower didn't work so the temperature of the water varied continuously. We insisted on moving out of this room and the next was better - shower worked, but the light stayed on in the very small bathroom all the time. I also noticed that a plastic bag was taped to the smoke alarm.

For only £10 - £15 more we have stayed in far better hotels than this in London.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonFrequenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holon, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

We had the most terrible experience at the camelot house. When we arrived we were told our room was actually next door, at the ventures hotel. We entered at filthy room with old, stained and dusty furniture, no curtains, mold in the shower and a dirty blanket on the bed. We refused to stay there and demanded another room in the orignal building. We were given another room that was only slightly better. The wallpaper on the ceiling was peeiling off, the mattress was filthy on both sides (we tried to flip it over but the under side was worse than the upper one plus we found an old pair of socks under it... the furniture here was also dirty and had stains and scratches on them. the room was very dark and the curtains hanger was broked so we couldn't close it all the way through. At least the maid brought clean bed linen and towels but that was the only good thing we can say. The original plan was to stay there for 5 nights but we ran away the next morning and found a wonderfull hotel on the same street which was only a little more expensive. Needless to say we did not have breakfast because we were afraid to see the dining room... In short, stay the hell away from it. It's awfull, dirty, moldy and highly over priced for what you get.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yifat71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

I have stayed in everything from an Intercontinental to a Travel Lodge and honestly this place was ok. I was concerned after reading older reviews on this site, however it was in a great central location and I didn't want to spend a lot of money. I really appreciate the good service and the effort these guys were trying to go to build up this hotel. The room was clean and included all the basics TV, fridge, en-suite (lovely hot shower with good pressure), table, draws and wardrobe, breakfast included. My room (322) had a lovely big window that looked out onto the street with a little balcony. The location was the best: literally a 5 minute walk to Marble Arch, Oxford Street, Tourist bus pick ups, and multiple tube stations including Paddington which I took the express train back to Heathrow. Its basic cheap accommodation and providing you are polite and respectful the staff will do all they can to accommodate (carried my massive suitcase up and down the stairs for me and helped me establish what airport terminal I was heading to). Thanks guys.

Best points:
o Location, Shower, Window & Balcony.

Parts to improve:
o Quality of lock on window, buzzer on desk, free wifi.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SparkySophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

It´s a terrible place, do not ever waste your money here. The room was dirty, the towels was dirty, the breakfast was not to eat. We spend one terrible night and then left. They didn´t care becauce we had already paid! DO NOT EVER BOOK THOS HOTEL!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bronshoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shakespeare Hotel
#625 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Metropole
Hilton London Metropole
#582 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Winrose Hotel
#372 of 573 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Marylebone
London Kings Hotel
London Kings Hotel
#53 of 573 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot House Hotel

Property: Camelot House Hotel
Address: 18 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #453 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelot House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Camelot House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing