We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel or hellhole?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camelot House Hotel
Ranked #431 of 556 London B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel or hellhole?”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

The worst hotel I've ever stayed in. Room was like a prison cell. Mouldy shower head, dusty floor and noisy water system made it the stay from hell. Quite a walk from tube station - not a safe area at night.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjgal75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    3
    11
    7
    45
See reviews for
10
13
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2011

this hotel is so handy, the bus leaves you off on the corner of the street just 1mins walk from the hotel. buses take you to oxford street in a few mins. there are also buses to liverpool st station and victoria station, paddington station is 5mins walk away, or you can hop on a bus to take you there. The tube station is also just a few mins away. lovely vibrant area full of people, shops and supermarkets. The hotel itself was great value for money. the room was spotless as well as the shower and toilet which was a bit small but was still OK. our room had a double bed, table and chairs, flat screen television, small fridge, kettle and cups, tea and coffee and some hanging space, we just used our cases to substitute for drawers. the staff were very friendly and helpful and fresh cooked breakfast was great. I thought it great value for money being in the heart of london at £75.00. per night for both of us. will go there again

Room Tip: our room was at the back, the rooms facing onto sussex gdns may not be as quiet because of traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamsunday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saintfield
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2011

This is the worst hotel I have ever been in! The rooms are in a terrible state of repair and they were not clean. An electrical extension cable trailed across the room to power the fridge which I was too reluctant to even open. The 'en suite' bathroom was simply two stud walls in the corner of the room. Bathroom ventilation was simply the fact the bathroom walls didn't go all the way to the ceiling, so it just vented into the room.

The room was so small the bed was against 3 walls.

My colleague's room was in a similar state.

NOT recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ-Saintfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paphos
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

What a horrible filthy, cramped place. It shouldnt be given a licence to trade.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazpaphos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

we took our grandson and grandgirl to see London for one week.Hotels on London are not cheap and if you like to be near centrum like Hyde park they are never it.
I red evaluations of Camelot and they did not look promising, but Camelot and its four beds room was better then we thougt, Of course rooms were old, but it only 2.3 stars hotel. It si saying , the forest answers like you do. We were nice and glad and after a while we got a smiling hotel with good service. Breakfest room was tiny, but serving good and food ok.

Room Tip: take backside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EERO42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wahoo, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I'm from the United States and I stayed there with a group of about 20 other people during a trip we took to the UK. We were supposed to have a different hotel, but it didn't work out because the football game between Barcelona and Manchester was going on that weekend and most good hotels were already booked. Anyway, stay away. Far, far away. The rooms are tiny. Half the plugins don't work. The toilets don't flush correctly. The showers a horrible (our bathroom was in what looked like it should have been a small closet). Half of the TV's only get a few channels. They never gave us enough towels. And there's a tent outside, where men gather to smoke hookahs every night. Several friends of mine got touched inappropriately by older men. It's terrible. And on top of all of that, my friend and I had items missing from our rooms... I will say though, there us one redeeming quality. The breakfasts. They're cooked fresh by an amazingly sweet woman. My friends and I looked forward to going down to breakfast there every morning. It's very delicious. But I would still advise you not to stay there. It's not even worth the cheap price it costs.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaitlynrae13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston ma
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

5 floors no elevator put me on the 5th floor. Room inadequate. Bed had no headboard room dirty no water for shower and hair dryer to filthy to touch. I would have cleaned it to use but what was the point no water for shower so could not wash hair. Not enough plugs had to unplug tv to use the kettle. Did not even stay for the free breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanBostonMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Metropole
Hilton London Metropole
#578 of 1,067 in London
4,547 reviews
Winrose Hotel
#357 of 556 in London
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
London Kings Hotel
London Kings Hotel
#56 of 556 in London
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot House Hotel

Property: Camelot House Hotel
Address: 18 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #431 of 556 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelot House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Camelot House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing