We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, good price and lovely cosy room”
Review of Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Central Hotel
Ranked #96 of 556 London B&B and Inns
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great location, good price and lovely cosy room”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Excellent location, easy to find, right opposite Kings Cross station. Surprisingly quiet for such a busy spot! A lovely, well appointed, cosy warm room on the third floor - very comfortable. Altogether a very nice hotel and experience, very reasonably priced, Id definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: No lift so heavy luggage has to be carried up flights of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    231
    130
    68
    49
See reviews for
141
181
76
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buggiano, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I stayed at Central one night with my whife and my sons. The Hotel is very close to King's Cross tube, just 50 meters from the exit ( Euston rd). The room was clean and the breakfast good. The receptionist are really very kind. I suggest Central for a cheap and warm stay in London

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I stayed at the Central Hotel with a friend over New Year. The hotel is in a fantastic location, across the road from Kings Cross tube and St Pancreas station and is easy to find. We arrived before check in, so our rooms weren't ready, but the staff let us check in and leave our bags with them so we could get sightseeing. When we arrived back later that afternoon they had our bags in our rooms and even hung up our coats, a nice touch. The rooms were very clean and perfect for what we wanted - a place to put our heads for the night. The breakfast was lovely and is included in the price of the room. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to visit London on a budget.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RiaStevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Our room was situated on the 3rd floor so if you got heavy luggage be prepared because there is no lift! Although the room was quite small, it was comfortable and clean. Towels were changed every day and the room was equipped with tea/coffee set, hair dryer, TV. Breakfast included cereals, fruit, nutella, toast with ham and cheese/jams and English breakfast. Overall it was a comfortable, relaxing stay! Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rit003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I arrived really late in the evening and was glad to find the reception still open. it was also very easy to get to and the location right near the train station is ideal. though there was no lift, i was helped with my bags up to my room. my room was comfortable and i was happy with everything. will definitely pass through again if i ever have to stop over in london.

Room Tip: chhose rooms on the first sloor if you have heavy baggage because there are no lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veldhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

The small bedrooms and the lack of an elevator, are amply compensated by the perfect location of the hotel (only 1 minute from Kings Cross station) , the comfortable beds, the fact that the hotel is very clean, the good breakfast and most important of all the hospitality and friendliness of the staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed 1 night to go to see loose women recorded. I left my purse on the seat in the hotel and never realised till I received a phone call to say it was behind the reception. I was touched by the honesty of the staff. You hear of so many negative things these days. The room was spotless, great English breakfast great rate for night. Location was excellent right opposite St Pancras and Kings Cross. Would stay there again .

Room Tip: Superior triple room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2208olivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#247 of 1,067 in London
1,965 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#547 of 1,067 in London
895 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#237 of 1,067 in London
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#121 of 1,067 in London
2,351 reviews
Bloomsbury
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#81 of 556 in London
559 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Meridiana
Hotel Meridiana
#72 of 556 in London
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel

Property: Central Hotel
Address: 16-18 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8EG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 556 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Central Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central hotel is a family run bed and breakfast conveniently located in the heart of central London offering superb value for money accommodation. The hotel is situated barely a minutes walk from Kings Cross Tube Station, St Pancras international and offers easy access to all of London's tourist sights, shopping districts and theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing