We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value for money, great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dalmacia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dalmacia Hotel
Ranked #740 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“good value for money, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

The hotel is located a ten minute walk from the hammersmith tube station and thus directly with Heathrow. The Freshfield Mall is a twenty minute walk up the road. And it takes less than an hour to get to almost anything in town. There's a large Tesco with anything you need diagonally accross the street.

Reception was was very friendly, the rooms clean.

Rooms at the front will be noisy as it's a busy street; the furniture, decor and facilities are a bit dated (but then "you gets what you pays for").

Room Tip: You'll be better of with a room towards the back - the street is rather busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    91
    34
    16
    9
See reviews for
47
54
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

There was good communication from the hotel via online,ie. quick response. Hotel located outside centre as you may know, so you have to take Shepherd's Bush tube about 15 minutes walk or Hammersmith (we did not use this station but mostly used its same line (pink) station Goldhawk Road, much nearer, 5-10 mins walk across the road). From here you can visit Portobello market easily and beyond. With regards to room, hmm what can I say, compact? It was a deal and a decent enough beds to sleep on. TV, towels, kettle, tea facilities available in room. Was able to print out flight booking from office. However, toilet flush not working as efficiently as you'd expect from a decently reviewed hotel, fan not provided until you insist it be put in the room given the hot summer temperature, manager Mr. B was upset at some point for mistakenly sitting at the couch to wait for him when the door was wide open and no sign present to indicate it is a private area. It may partly be due to misunderstanding exacerbated by having English as a second language but this is not an attitude expected of someone working in the hospitality industry. Never had a meh/ bad experience at a hotel ever but what can you do. Overall, if budget is tight and you have no qualms about maybe experiencing some of the above situation, as they say "be my guest!" :-)

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank camille r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Really wasn't bad, room was small, but cheap and clean, the guy on reception was friendly and the location was good. All went well until I realised I'd left a Calvin Kline ring in the room and it wasn't handed in
Suppose I can't blame the hotel, but is still a little annoying.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lockettx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week in late June the hotel is in a good location with a bus stop right outside the front door which takes you to Hammersmith Station and also has some good restaurants and takeaways in the general area. The staff were good as we arrived very late and they were accommodating. Again no air con and Sheppards Bush Rd can be busy so ear plugs or sleeping pills could be a good idea the place is a bit dated but ok if you want somewhere to rest your head after a busy day.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Not a particular good couple of nights here. Don't accept a basement room , I was in number 11, as you cannot get the room down to a managable level because if you open the window the busy road noise drowns out the TV and there is no air conditioning. You can't leave the window open if you leave the room as it is burglary risk being on the road side down a set of stairs, so a sauna like room welcomes you back!

The electrics need a review, one plug socket was loose on the wall and the kettle had to be switched off at socket as the switch was faulty. Leave it boiling too long and you scald you hand on the handle! There was a distinct lack of plug sockets, I had to switch my mobile recharging /lap top each time.

Bed was reasonably comfortable with good quality sheets, coverlet and pillows- so no complaints there.

Admittedly the shower and toilet room were nice and clean but the toilet flush wasn't always powerful enough to dispose of the waste, say no more!

Continental breakfast was OK for £4. A couple of rolls, a croisant , some toast and orange juice were served to you. Free choice of cereals , some meats and cheese. Hardly inspiring but value for money in London. The cook wasn't in during my stay so couldn't sample the cooked breakfast at £7.

I arrived at about 6.00pm after a long train journey from Manchester and reception was OK though he questioned my booking which had been done via work and what was paid/ not paid. He showed to my room which meant going outside and down to the basement rooms but didn't check the TV, etc. before leaving. Incidentally the TV remote was with the key in reception and not in the room. I couldn't get TV to work as it wasn't plugged in, fortunatley the reception guy came doing to query my reservation and I asked him were the plugfor the TV was, after scabbling around he couldn't find it either so went away to get an extension lead. I eventually found the plug about 4 ft up the wall, not the usual place.

The breakfast staff on the first moning were pleasant enough, the second morning ta different chap was a bit more socialable, but I wouldn't say they went overboard to help.

Room Tip: Don't go down into the basement rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Superior, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

I was only here for about 16 hours as a London landing pad before heading to Wales but everything was good and my room was spotless. Managers were friendly and helpful. I wasn't able to take the breakfast due to my early morning departure so I cannot comment on the food. Later in my trip someone commented that Shepherd's Bush is not a nice neighborhood but I thought it was fine and, in fact, had more personality than other parts of the city I saw. I chose this location as an intermediate spot between city center and Heathrow. Just a 10 minute walk from Hammersmith Underground station.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We did not have a nice experience at the Hotel: no surprise in London were hotel rooms have absurd prices and space is sold at gold price, but our Dalmacia stay has been difficult. The basin was partially obstructed, the shower offers you that begone Soviet-like experience one does not really miss (either volcano-hot or arctic-freeze), the heating regulation in the rooms is impossible.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AndreaTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pearl Hotel London
#812 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Hotel 65
#780 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#225 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Guest House 2
#693 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Brook Green Hotel
#314 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Hotel Sergul
#149 of 571 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalmacia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalmacia Hotel

Property: Dalmacia Hotel
Address: 71 Shepherds Bush Road, London W6 7LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Hammersmith / Fulham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #740 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dalmacia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Dalmacia Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing