We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value and perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Ranked #788 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Good value for the price with adequate breakfast, clean rooms and friendly personnel. Despite published and also visible Wifi, Internet was never accessible.
Location is at the edge of underground Zone 1 and it is near to public transport stations.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Matjaz Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
There are newer reviews for Westbury Hotel Kensington
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

We arrived pretty late as a party of four was greeted by a very friendly guy on reception he was very helpful and gave us all the info we needed. We had room 403 & 408 both room's were not that big but had everything we needed including a kettle and a TV. The toilet and shower again was not that big but it was fine for us. The room was very clean, we had to leave before breakfast was served, check out was very easy and if I needed somewhere to stay in London I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarrylB1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I was a little worried by some of the other reviews when booking but I disagree with many, perhaps they were looking for too much in this price range.

The staff at check in were friendly and helpful. The room in the basement was very compact and the window let in cold (that was helped by the curtains). Not the comfiest bed I've slept in. No TV remote (I think you had to rent them), but good free wifi coverage.

Had safe, kettle and hairdryer in room also. Shower room was more of a wet room as the curtain around the shower wasn't that functional. I suspect the room could be quite noisy depending upon the adjacent guests, but I didn't have a problem.

Breakfast was fairly basic.

However, all in all, a very good rate for London and a reasonable location. I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gazzamuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Considering you can spend about half the room cost on the price of a decent lunch the hotel is economically priced for being in such a handy area. Breakfast is hassle-free; then 10 minute walk to the station and you're touring...!!
Rooms were clean and were maintained each day. Yes, the rooms are small but you're entering a city where people live in bed-sitters; "compact" is what you get...
If you're a tourist and intend on spending days and evenings exploring London and just want a comfy place to put your head at night the Westbury is fine. If you are intending on spending days and evenings in the room watching television or have big expectations of a serviced hotel look further and spend a lot more...

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Arrived in London and taxi to supposed Hotel. This is not a Hotel, nothing but very cheap accommodation, on arrival were not even greeted with a hello. Requested to see room first and were told no matter what this was the only room. Checked in it was a double bed, both my husband and I are over 6foot tall, requested a Queen Size bed. No can do. The room was less than 2 metres square, no where to open a suit case. We were supposed to spend 6 nights here, bad mistake trusting our travel agent. We went up to the room and rang the Holiday Inn and received a booking through them. We didn't even stay the night as it was that bad. Carpets were filthy along with the room. We have travelled through Europe for 3 weeks prior to this and never have we seen such poor accommodation.

Room Tip: Avoid this accommodation.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We (me and my husband) stayed her for 1 night the weekend before xmas . We choose this hotel for 2 reasons, It's proximity to Earl's court (we went there to see Pete Tong, Calvin Harris and Tiesto they were awesome!! )which is just a short 5 minute walk and the price, we paid £40 for bed and breakfast so wasn't expecting too much.The room was very small but we really didn't care as we were literally just going to sleep in it shower and be on our way. The room was clean and the bed was extremely comfortable,We have stayed in some expensive and luxurious hotels and this has to be one of the best night sleeps I have ever had in any hotel room, and I have a bad back so usually really miss my mattress !
The breakfast was a very basic continental but I am not complaining, £40 for 2 people bed and breakfast in london in a prime location, result I would say.We would most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank normskideb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

After we had booked the hotel all we seemed to see were poor reviews, WELL IGNORE THEM.

The hotel staff were extremely friendly, the breakfast whilst not a feast was more than adequate to set you up for the day. The hotel is well located, some great restaurants in easy walking distance. The room, albeit a bit tight was comfortable, clean and more than adequate for our needs, we are returning in the early new tear for a couple of nights.

The hotel does not profess to be a luxury or boutique hotel, it is what it claims, comfortable, well located and friendly.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 306, whilst a bit on the small side it was very comfotable.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie-Mike-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#748 of 1,072 in London
459 reviews
Caring Hotel
#535 of 1,072 in London
786 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#644 of 1,072 in London
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Saint Simeon
Saint Simeon
#704 of 1,072 in London
360 reviews
South Kensington
Avni Kensington Hotel
Avni Kensington Hotel
#726 of 1,072 in London
1,059 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#845 of 1,072 in London
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westbury Hotel Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbury Hotel Kensington

Address: 22-24 Collingham Place, London SW5 0PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #788 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £43 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Westbury Hotel Kensington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, newly refurbished hotel with friendly staff - close to museums, Earl's Court and Olympia exhibition centers, underground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Westbury Hotel Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbury Kensington London
Westbury Kensington Hotel London
Westbury Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing