We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home away from home in London!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Highbury Centre
Ranked #84 of 563 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Since a memorable week at the Highbury Centre in 2003 fresh from our home in Melbourne, Australia with 3 young children, the Highbury Centre has become our sanctuary and home away from home in London. We have recommended it to many people who love it to.

We love it's history as a missionary guest house. We love it's peaceful, tranquil location in such a pretty part of North London surrounded by parks and fantastic eating and shopping in Highbury and the Angel Islington.

We love the gardens particularly in summer with rose bushes and roses so florid and scented. The 2 guest rooms are gracious and a welcome place to relax in the afternoons or evenings. The rooms are always comfortable and clean and with the new renovations the extra new bathrooms are welcome.

In 2003 we loved the abundant full English breakfast. Sadly, maybe due to costs, the same scrambled eggs, bacon and hash browns have been served since we have moved to England in 2010. If 3 options for a cooked English breakfast are only on offer, perhaps a rotation of tomato, mushroom, sausage or beans could be put on the breakfast menu just to add a little bit of variety?

That aside, for such good value for money in London, and that feeling of 'coming home' the Highbury centre is a jewel in London's crown!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sallyapokis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for The Highbury Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

I have been visiting the Highbury Centre (Foreign Missions Club) for twenty years and am always happy to recommend it to friends, including solo travelers. The Highbury Centre provides simple, affordable rooms in a great location - a quiet side street within easy walking distance of the underground. A bus passing the end of the street will also take you to the west end. A cooked breakfast is included, there is a snack bar and a laundry facility. Yes, its not the Ritz, its a Victorian building without a lift and not all the rooms are en suite - but you're not paying Ritz prices. If you're looking for safe, comfortable, spotlessly clean accommodation and friendly hospitality you might consider the Highbury Centre.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WillDownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I booked this on the Internet so knew it would be quite basic. It exceeded all my expectations. It is quite a charming building if somewhat dated inside. I loved having space outside the bedroom - to relax - two lounges and an internet room, a fridge and microwave to use . This more than compensated for the small bedroom . I also appreciated having a laundry. These were not available at other B and Bs we stayed at.
I was grateful to be able to leave luggage there while I travelled and to chat with staff and other guests. It made my stay in London a special experience

Room Tip: Having an ensuite seemed like a good idea but actually the communal facilites were better. The showe...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivienne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I've stayed at the Highbury Centre three times and have enjoyed each stay very much. The place seems like it was three row houses that were connected, so it has many different staircases and nooks and crannies; it just has a fun, Victorian feel about it.

The rooms are all different; you could get a big one or a really tiny one, but they all have high ceilings and large windows. They don’t have TVs in the rooms and some rooms have shared bathrooms (each bathroom is different too. It’s kind of fun), but the beds are comfortable, the rooms are very clean and the breakfast is pretty amazing.

This place is a bit out of the way, but it's on two bus lines that go right into central London (19 and 4) and about a 10-15 min walk to the Tube station (Highbury and Islington). However, it’s less expensive than staying in central London, and much much quieter. Highbury fields (the park near the Highbury Centre) is lovely and it is a cute residential neighborhood.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennyrenny06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I found this place while trying to book 3 rooms for 6 people staying for 2 nights in London while not wanting to spend an arm and a leg. In the past, I have tried B&Bs in London with mixed success, and then finally settled on some chains, (Jury's Inn, Holiday Inn Express, etc.) in an effort to stay in London for a reasonable amount of money. Highbury Centre is located in a residential area. The address they gave us didn't quite work in the GPS, and we arrived quite late, so we ended up spending about an hour trying to find it. All of the staff leave at 10 p.m., but they sent us an access code to let ourselves in. The rooms are tiny and spartan, but clean and cozy. Breakfast was lovely. A short walk will get you to public transit and from there you can see all you want to see of London.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GraftonSpaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I spent 9 days at the Highbury Centre with members of my church choir. They have special rates for “Christian workers”, so it was very affordable. When I give it 5 stars, don't interpret that to mean that this place is the Ritz. It's VERY basic, but what it does, it does well. The staff members are kind and efficient; the rooms are clean and well-maintained. There are no lifts and no air conditioning, but this isn't so rare in the UK. I was in a "family room" for 5 on the top floor, so there was a lot of stair climbing involved. Some rooms have baths in the rooms, others use hall bathrooms. The fewer the amenities, the less cost for the room, so you can have a London room for a bargain price. They offer a full English breakfast and offer snacks that you can purchase from their sitting room. The Centre is in a lovely residential neighborhood in Zone 2 on the London Transportation System grid. It’s a 15-minute hike to the Tube, a 5-minute hike to the bus line. We were there in August, and the temperatures were mostly in the 60’s and 70’s, so the lack of AC wasn’t an issue.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the building can be loud at times if people are talking loudly on the street...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I stayed at the Highbury Centre in a single room for one night. It is difficult to find affordable accommodations in London, so if economy is what you're going for then this is your place. It was clean and offered a full breakfast. No air conditioning, so Americans be aware of that!

It worked well for our group because it offered economy, a quiet neighborhood close to the Underground for sightseeing, and covered basic needs.

The showers are communal but were clean, so pack a robe for the trip down the hall. The toilets were also just a few on each hall. If you're looking for a clean place to sleep and shower, and a hot breakfast, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western London Highbury
Best Western London Highbury
#544 of 1,072 in London
501 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge London Finsbury Park hotel
4.3 mi away
Mitre House Hotel
Mitre House Hotel
#553 of 1,072 in London
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Makedonia Ltd
Hotel Makedonia Ltd
#902 of 1,072 in London
205 reviews
1.5 mi away
Corner House Hotel
Corner House Hotel
#745 of 1,072 in London
417 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Castle Bar
The Castle Bar
#167 of 563 in London
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highbury Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highbury Centre

Address: 20-26 Aberdeen Park, London N5 2BJ, England (Formerly F M C Christian Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 563 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in North London, in a peaceful and quiet conservation area, we are only 30 minutes away from the main attractions of the city. With its 40 comfortable guest rooms, spacious lounges, beautiful garden and several facilities, The Highbury Centre provides a satisfying and peaceful accommodation for visitors. Our place is ideal for solo travellers, friends, couples or families. We have two well equipped conference rooms to offer for meetings up to 30 people. Reductions are offered for full time employees of Protestant Christian organisations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Highbury Centre Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing