We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Tidy but .........!!”
Review of Fitzroy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fitzroy Hotel
Ranked #394 of 558 London B&B and Inns
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean & Tidy but .........!!”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The staff at the Fitzoy were lovely but there was a very small shower/toilet in the basement which was shared between the other rooms so if you're booking is not en suite you will have to share the shower/loo with everyone else. This means that for most of the time you'd like to use it, it's engaged. Also, the curtains are too small for the window with no nets either so you'll need to get dressed/undressed in the dark.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank L K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    26
    45
    34
    112
See reviews for
45
50
33
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Late booking on afternoon of stay, tried to cancel it after reading the reviews, but was told I'd be given the 'best room in the hotel'. Ok, I kept the booking. Arrived in London at 9.30pm, rang the hotel to find walking directions from the NCP carpark - no answer (advertised as 24hr desk service). We walked with our suitcases for what felt like 100 miles, asking along the way where this hotel was. NOBODY knew where it was. Tried to ring the hotel a further 5 times, NO ANSWER. Managed to get a lift on a ricshaw who knew the area, he too couldn't find it. He did manage to get us to the street, which was split into two and the hotel was in the middle of the second block when it should have been on the end (which threw us as we went to the second block about five times!). Tried to ring the desk another 3 times, still NO ANSWER. Time now approaching 11.20pm and last check-in at midnight... starting to panic! Eventually we found it at 11.30pm. Knocked on the door. NO ANSWER! Hammered the door and the bell, a miserable scruffy man answered. Teh smell of the hotel hit us on the steps outside. Reluctantly we went in. The man asked me to go downstairs to sort out paperwork only to be asked to pay before being shown the room. He then made me feel very uncomfortable when I said I needed to discuss payment methods with my fellow guest and asked me WHY I needed to do this, and followed me back up the stairs to my sister. By this point, he realised that we were not happy with the shabby hotel, and asked if we wanted to see the room. Beds only had sheets on them, Big plain room, no pictures on the wall, no desk in the room, no curtains, stains on the carpet, pungeant smell, generally awful (wouldn't have left my dog there to sleep). I explained that we did not want to stay but he wouldn't open the door to let us out until we agreed to pay. Eventually left at 11.40pm and by the skin of our teeth got into another hotel in the nick of check-in time. Would never recommend this hotel in a million years, photographs nothing like the actual room and looks like a little grotto from the outside.Have complained to get my money back through the company I booked with.

Room Tip: Always read the reviews before booking!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank Dawn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Considering our room and the hotel generally we paid an extortionate £80 for our stay . We were put in the attic room which involved four flights of stairs up which I carried our case. There is no lift. The stairs are steep and narrow with thread bare carpets and the fire doors are all kept open with wedges and fire extinguishers! The shower door was cracked leaving shards of sharp plastic exposed. We did not use the shower as around the base was mouldy and just looked unhygenic. The whole of the en-suite was small, cramped with cracked tiles and exposed plaster and really quite dangerous! The room itself, although clean, was dingy with a poor standard of decor. The curtains had several hooks missing and so hung poorly. The general appearence of the hotel from the first moment you enter is poor with dirty curtains and dirty poorly decorated walls and thread bare carpets. I would say it was more like a hostel than a hotel. At breakfast we had to wait for a table to become free with no explanation from the staff as to why! The breakfast was adequate but not great. We were rushed as their were other guests waiting. My hot breakfast being served and just left on the table while I was still eating my cereal. Several guest around us were grumbling about the condition of the hotel. The staff just seemed embarrassed

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jeffsquire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

i literally got depressed when i got there!!it looks nothing like the pictures!wish i saw this site before booking that hellhole!!the guy that works there was sooooo unfriendly,booked for two nights only stayed one night wich was one night to much!!this place was not safe at all!!the room door wouldn´t close,had to lock it so it would stay shut.the place totally creeped me out,around 4 in the morning someone knocked loudly on the door when i opened the door no one was there.this hotel is like something out of a horror movie,plus the smell there was unbearable!!please don´t be fooled because for a little bit more money you can stay somewhere sooo much nicer.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank noushin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreview, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

This is cabin/camping style lodging. The room is very small and old. The bathroom is very tiny though fairly clean. When we got there, we were told that paying with credit card will cost extra. Only the location is good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joritch3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

there was food wrappers left in the room when we first arrived in our room. couldnt find the tv remote until the day we left which we found under the bed?

the rooms are absolutley TINY! could only just fit between the bed and the wall and can only take about 2 steps between the door and the bed. bathroom was tiny, couldnt even close the bathroom door as the door didnt fit the door frame. the curtains were draping down and couldnt close. the walls were covered in stains and dirt. felt dirty even sleeping in the bed!
all you could hear at night was the street noise!

there was no elevator and we were on the top floor, had to go up 6 flights of stairs with our 20kg+ suitcases!! unbelieveable.
locations was the only plus, you walk out and there are many shops and cafe's and a metro station about 3minutes away walking. this was the only plus. however everything was expensive around here being london.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank natalie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broken Hill, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

My diary states - what a dump!!

Firstly, this is not an Hotel it is a very poor Bed & Breakfast. There is a sign stating it is a B & B next to the doorbell (that no-one answers).

When we finally entered the premises (after another guest left the door open!!) we were greeted with a hallway full of sheets and towels covered in plastic that had obviously been dropped back after cleaning. The pile would have stood at least four foot high by twelve foot long. A definate fire hazad!! They remained in the hallway for the next 18 hours.

The elderly gentleman in the basement office was less than polite and when his card machine failed, it appeared to be my fault.

We were taken to a room on the ground floor after he looked at our suitcases and grunted and then it took him a good ten minutes to find the correct key to open the bedroom door. Wish he hadn't found it!!

There was only just enough room to push our suitcase between the bed and the bathroon. The toilet was filthy and broken, toilet paper on top of cistern as no holder. Windows were dirty and cracked, curtains filthy. Television was not viewable. No teaspoons, one milk. When the hairdryer didn't work I investigated and found the wires had been cut. Quilt was a "filthy thin thing" between two sheets. At least we knew the sheets were clean but they had holes in them.

The worst thing about our stay though was when using the shower the water didn't drain and you ended up in ankle deep water. Yuk!! And when anyone went in or out of the front door the whole room shook.

We found another 'real' hotel a couple of blocks away and moved there the next afternoon.

We did voice our disappointment to a young member of staff who was very apologetic but as the owner was nowhere to be found we could not let him know how we felt.

Room Tip: "Don't bother with any of them"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank qwertytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Euston Square Hotel
Euston Square Hotel
#688 of 1,069 in London
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
Central London Serviced Aparthotel
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Studios2Let - North Gower
Studios2Let - North Gower
#47 of 871 in London
520 reviews
Bloomsbury
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzroy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzroy Hotel

Property: Fitzroy Hotel
Address: 41 Fitzroy Street, London W1T 6DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #394 of 558 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fitzroy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fitzroy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing