We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreary, dinky, but desirable.”
Review of Fitzroy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fitzroy Hotel
Ranked #409 of 557 London B&B and Inns
Soesterberg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Dreary, dinky, but desirable.”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

The other reviews made us gird our loins to reserve here, but honestly at the prices of London hotels, one can't expect this cheap and get 4 star. Our experience was not that bad. For a two star. Indeed, the hall carpets are truly sad, the cracks in the walls need doing up, the room we were in ( on the ground floor facing the back) was tiny. If you don't close the fire door the traffic in the front hall makes the room door rattle. The security light in the back shines through the window all night- so even though the drapes were hung on two hooks and magic, they were thick enough to darken the room. I was very glad to avoid the long and winding stairs up to the upper floor rooms; the stairs to the breakfast room are dangerous for unwary tall heads. The en suite facilities take up a full quarter of the original room, so the walking space is 12 inches on either side of the bed. But there is plenty of space in front of the desk/drawers. There are no bedside lights. One pillow each. The shower is a sardine can for everyone over 100 pounds, the toilet is just about big enough for one.
BUT the linens are clean, the toilet flushes, the shower is warm, the room carpet clean and padded. The breakfast cooked to order, or one can ask for just toast. The morning ladies are lovely. The breakfast room is contemporary and airy (even though it was a basement). I have a very sensitive nose. I had no problems with smell, mildew, or other nasty stuff.

It isn't really a hotel. It is a hostel really. Like a solid tent. There is no reception. We were greeted after ringing the doorbell by a young clean cut gent, who went off for our keys, came back with them and the code of the WiFi, and we were left to get on with it. I wonder if people just leave and do not pay, because not a soul signed us in at all ( although we did reserve on line and had a number.)

The location is PERFECT. Three tubes and taxis within walking distance, not on a busy street, two food stores that are open LATE and a pharmacy around the corner, ATMs close by, the MUSHU restaurant is a real winner on the corner.

Our excursion was a Mama and Miss week in London for my fresh hatched 18 year old graduate. We were in the hotel to sleep, wash up and have someplace to put our souvenirs.

If you want more, you have to pay more, somewhere else.

It might be disgraceful on the upper floors, but our room suited us just fine...for a two star. I would venture to stay there again in the same room.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JadeHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    24
    43
    34
    112
See reviews for
45
47
33
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Skien
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Me and my brother stayed in this hotel for two nights, two nights I'm never getting back.

First of all the rooms are poorly isolated, wich means you can hear the guests living next to you as if they were in the same room.

Tidyness: When we arrived there were marks on the sheet, bed, walls and on the floor. The toilet hadn't been cleaned and the shower was broken.

Size: We rented a double room, but we barely could fit our luggage (one case) on the floor.

Ventilation: Non existent, wich means you get sweaty nights and kitchen smell in the room during the meals.

Bathroom: Untidy, full of lacks, wall-to-wall carpet on the floor. The shower looks like a tomb.

In general: Not recommended at all!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
7 Thank NilsIver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

With much terror, I entered the hotel after forwarding the previous awful reports via email to the manager. The rooms are extremely basic, barren, in poor repair, smelly and old. The owner obviously doesn't spend a pound, literally, to fix anything minor let alone major. The owner is doing himself a disservice because he could make back his money on just minor upgrades, for example he could put FREE old pictures on the wall. Instead they are bare. No blowdryer. It really does smell like old smokers rooms covered in heavy perfume.
But that said, it's pretty cheap. The staff, especially the morning two women, were very nice and breakfast was fantastic. Fresh egg, sausage, rasher, toast, coffee, tea, orange juice, beans. We only slept in the hotel-we were there as a family of five which we squeezed another bed into room 2 meant for 4. The whole room was all beds but it was all we needed for 4 nights. Seriously, owner needs to clean and service and repair. It does the trick if you are tight on budget and have an open mind about the bare minimums needed for a trip. All the guests were clean cut, families, singles, couples. Not scary or shady in the slightest. People working there rebooted wifi and it worked after I asked and the offered us to move if we wanted a less smelly room.

Room Tip: Room 2 next to front door gets street noise, windows open by staff, door makes walls shake when it o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hopeimaginepeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

this has to be the worst hotel ever. Dirty falling apart and nothing like the website. We stayed in room 2 next to the front door. Window could not close, curtains were black instead of white. Front door banged constantly until 3.15am due to workers outside front door smoking, swearing and arguing right next to our open window which was wedged open so couldn't shut them out! Beds had holes in them as did carpets and wooden treads of steps into on suite. TV only had 2 channels. Shower was coming away from wall and filthy - shower curtain was a broom handle threaded through plastic curtain and rested on top! Sink was broken and cracked and top of tap was missing. No towel holder or toilet roll holder these were broken off just screws remaining. Tiles off walls and very dirty.It was a room for 4 and had 4 cups and 4 milks but no teaspoons - wouldn't have used it anyway as kettle plug only fitted half into socket with bare prongs - lethal.
Although the foreign girls that worked there were polite they kept apologising that they were a very basic hotel - not basic a hovel!
We went down for breakfast at 7.30 and were the first down yet tables were still dirty from previous morning. Food was inedible - disgusting all round. Walls mouldy half way up.
Most depressing place we have ever stayed in and completely different from their website

Room Tip: We apparently had the best room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sharoncoyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Please don't ever go to this hotel. The website is all a big fat lie. I am so upset can't even say anymore. It is a RAT HOLE, HELL HOLE, GUTTER, SEPTIC TANK. I am so lucky i did not get sacked for checking my boss into this hotel.

Room Tip: Will add on the photos soon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Uloma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

It was terrible. Filthy, cracking walls, cramped space, itchy bed, no AC, no hairdryer, unreliable wifi. That about describes our experience.

Room Tip: You better find somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The staff at the Fitzoy were lovely but there was a very small shower/toilet in the basement which was shared between the other rooms so if you're booking is not en suite you will have to share the shower/loo with everyone else. This means that for most of the time you'd like to use it, it's engaged. Also, the curtains are too small for the window with no nets either so you'll need to get dressed/undressed in the dark.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank L K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Fitzrovia
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
#512 of 1,067 in London
914 reviews
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
Astor Court Hotel
Astor Court Hotel
#600 of 1,067 in London
664 reviews
Fitzrovia
Central London Serviced Aparthotel
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Studios2Let - North Gower
Studios2Let - North Gower
#49 of 847 in London
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzroy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzroy Hotel

Property: Fitzroy Hotel
Address: 41 Fitzroy Street, London W1T 6DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #409 of 557 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fitzroy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fitzroy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing