We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location but too small rooms” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glendale Hyde Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glendale Hyde Park Hotel
Ranked #910 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    46
    69
    52
    80
See reviews for
33
96
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

But I was quite happy with our room, yes small but adequate. Very quiet and clean. Nice light breakfast to start the day. We were able to leave our luggage there while out and about on our last day. Very handy to Paddington station. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joannam76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yukon, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Great location. Close to Paddington Station and Hyde Park. Nice lady at front desk. No lift and lots of stairs! Very small but clean room. Linens were clean but quite worn. Breakfast included in a very small breakfast area with only 3 small tables.
Doesn't have free wifi which should be standard everywhere.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Momx3j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

This is a truly awful hotel.

I had to stay here for two nights recently and couldn't wait to get out.

My room was unclean with stains on the curtains and on the bed and paint was flaking on the window frames. The double room could only just fit in the double bed. The temperature at night (centrally regulated) was so hot that I had to sleep with the window wide open which meant I had to listen to passing traffic.

It's not even particularly cheap.

The worst hotel experience of my life. Avoid!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulK2977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Another Tube strike threatened - last time I had a four hour commute home. I needed a cheap room near to where I work in London.

£45 a night - I was really not looking forward to it but ,,,,,guess what? It was not bad at all! Tiny little single room with an en-suite, tea making facilities, fridge, TV, all shoe horned in. Nice touch was the little fan as the room was right at the top and could have been stuffy on a really hot day. Best point was, it was all spotlessly clean.

True, the breakfast was not great but I was happy enough to grab a couple of pieces of toast and a boiled egg. It was a bit noisy from 11 to midnight with door banging as people returned to their rooms. There was some street noise as my room faced the street, it is central London!!

I would definitely go for this place again if I just wanted somewhere to lay my head overnight.

Room Tip: SO long as you are fit and strong (no lift) ask for a room on a high floor. There is not much sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Legendry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Main reason to visit this hotel is the location. Nice area, good walking distance to Paddington Train station.
The Hotel itself is average.
Positive: Quiet. Good location. Provides breakfast.
Negative: The smell at the reception as soon as you arrive. Key access for just one people, leaving it at the reception like in the old days. Overall willing to chat and interact from the staff.
Stairs: No elevator available.
Would I go back? Maybe, depending on the budget.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend while visiting London, the location is great quite central and near a tube station and the building itself is in a lovely area. The rooms are absolutely tiny but clean and fit for purpose (and price considering it's London) the only real downfall is the breakfast room which is a bit of a joke with just three tables, found it slightly uncomfortable eating when I queue of other parties and crammed in the doorway waiting for a seat looking at you awkwardly as if to hurry up. All in all fine for you pay for just very small rooms and poor breakfast facilities.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LCH1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.2 mi away
Caring Hotel
Caring Hotel
#495 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Belvedere
The Belvedere
#646 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.4 mi away
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#669 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mitre House Hotel
Mitre House Hotel
#548 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shakespeare Hotel
Shakespeare Hotel
#618 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#775 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendale Hyde Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendale Hyde Park Hotel

Property: Glendale Hyde Park Hotel
Address: 8 Devonshire Terrace, London W2 3DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #910 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Glendale Hyde Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Glendale Hyde Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendale Hyde Park London
Hotel Glendale Hyde Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing