We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wish I'd had made time to look at reviews in more detail”
Review of Holly House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holly House Hotel
Ranked #922 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I'd not recommend this hotel. Booked over the internet using Booking.com I paid £105 for two adults and a child. The internet price was more than the rack rate!
We were shown to a basement room which had a double bed which was clean and adequately made up. There was a set of bunk-beds that had graffiti from past guests. There was also a day bed and a sun lounger type bed available so you could have squeezed 6 in. The general structure of the room ie walls and skirting etc were in a poor state of repair even though they did look as if they had had a layer of paint put over them. We opened a cupboard to find a toilet and open drains that stank so much we had to leave the extractor fan running...to no avail. We looked for alternative accommodation but there were no rooms available.
The hotel location is great only a couple of minutes from Victoria railway station. We couldn't face the breakfast as the smell from the 'en-suite' just made everything feel dirty and unclean.
I felt as if this should have been an hostel not an hotel you may then have expected very little for your money.

Room Tip: check your room and ask for another if it's not up to scratch ....don't pay before you check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pevensey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,016)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

343 - 349 of 1,016 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Berlin, Germany
21
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Located only a few minutes away from the Victoria station with trains, buses and the subway. I had a family room with two beds for the first night there. It was large, but quite noisy, because it was close beside the breakfast room and staff from the hotel was running around in front of my room door in the evening.
Next day, they knocked at my door at 9am (I was sleeping until then) and said that I have to change my room. The new room was small and a little bit dirty. I had a grasshopper in my bathroom and between the toilet and the edge of the wall was not enough space to sit on it with your legs straight in front of you.

I would recommend the hotel because of the location and the cheap price, but I didn´t like the unkindliness of the staff and the state of the rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Basicly took this based on the location, Rooms are not so good you could tell is like a crash pad type very small bath that is imposible to wash properly but gain this is if you just need a place to rest for a few hours or a night, Stuff are good but that doesn't help

Room Tip: If you want to save take a hotel near east Court area chepaer and go to victoria using metro this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

A typical London budget hotel, everything was as expected (small room, old furniture, funny bathroom...). The location is very good, 10min walk to Victoria station, friendly and safe neighbourhood. But every experienced London visitor knows this type of hotel. Cleanliness o.k., tea and coffee making fac. exist. Rail track very near, but not to loud.
Recommendation to advanced London tourists, all others should look for a more comfortable (but much more expensive) hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The experience was terrible. The sound of the trains passing through the station at night was unbearable as the these were really close and the thin glass of the window barely block the noise, it was impossible for me to sleep. The room was also extremely hot and that was weird considering it was winter and that the heater was off. There were also cockroaches in my room. I travel a lot and I have visited a lot of different hotels and I can say without any doubt that Holly House Hotel has been the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Álvaro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

The staff were great but the place is like a dump.I paid about £400 for a week, so wasn't happy. During the week had three different bedrooms for various reasons.To add salt to injury 2 days before I was due to checkout, the heating packed in and the room had old windows which could not keep the cold out. I was told they had no other heater that could be used.Would advise against staying here.I chose due to location.Would never stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

When i arrived at the guest house i was taken to my room that was in a building 2doors down the road (the annex), it was quite nice but very warm i had to turn the rad right down (but i guess hot is better then cold) it was in a very good place quite close to victoria station :-) I had a very good nights sleep, I didnt have breakfast because i had to leave early to get my flight so i dont know what that was like but all in all it was a good stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuernseyJes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Comfort Inn Buckingham Palace Road
Pimlico
The Dover Hotel
The Dover Hotel
#649 of 1,077 in London
526 reviews
Pimlico
Stanley House
Stanley House
#770 of 1,077 in London
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Enrico Hotel
Enrico Hotel
#921 of 1,077 in London
555 reviews
Pimlico
Huttons Hotel
Huttons Hotel
#647 of 1,077 in London
1,430 reviews
Pimlico
Lidos Hotel
Lidos Hotel
#431 of 1,077 in London
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly House Hotel

Address: 20 Hugh Street, London SW1V 1RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico , Victoria
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #922 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £40 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Holly House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Holly House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing