We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barely good enough for a short quick stay. You definitely get what you pay for!”
Review of Holly House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holly House Hotel
Ranked #931 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Barely good enough for a short quick stay. You definitely get what you pay for!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

If you plan on staying at the Holly House in the summer months plan on relying on a small fan to cool you down. No air condition made sleeping miserable.

Our bathroom light didn't work, so that made for an interesting time when showering or relieving yourself at anytime, no windows in the shower/bathroom for ventilation.

Breakfast consisted of instant coffee and four pieces of toast.

Rooms are clean, and it's fairly cheap for London and a decent location. The train can be heard all day and night if your room backs the station.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richardpk82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    162
    321
    167
    274
See reviews for
219
256
174
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
La Palma, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Good location behind Victoria Station, 15min walking distance to Big Ben or Buckingham Palace. Trains noise wasn't a problem for me. The room (single with private bathroom) was really small, the only place to stay was on the bed, and I could hear perfectly my neighbours in other rooms. The bathroom was still smaller, I couldn't barely move inside. Staff was just worried about their obligations, didn't look so nice. Overall a low quality/price rate.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
436 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I concur with a lot of the other reviews - this was cheap by London standards @ £85/night (but not by mine!) & the location just by Victoria station is good & bad - very convenient, but pretty noisy on a hot summer's evening, with the constant stream of trains.
The hotel is really quite basic & our room was tiny tiny, with possibly the smallest bathroom I have ever seen.
We booked a double room - the bed was only just a double, pushed up against the wall, so that getting in & out of the bed was quite a feat, trying not to knock oneself on the cantilevered shelf holding the TV.

Room Tip: I suspect that rooms at the front of the hotel are quieter as they are not backing onto Victoria rai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

You want a central basic cheap B&B. This is it.

Rooms basic but tidy, more plugs in our room than I've ever seen before.

You don't go to London to sit in your room.

Breakfast was continental but there's a Wetherspoons and Frankie and Bennys literally round the corner so we just went there.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andypelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells-next-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The Holly House has a lot going for it: very central location in Victoria, clean rooms, friendly & helpful staff - all at a really good price for central London (£52/night)

It does however have one major drawback

That side of Hugh Street backs directly onto the main line right outside Victoria railway station. I think the first trains started shunting at about 0430 and I had to get up and leave by 5:45!
If you can get a room at the front of the hotel, then is a great option for a budget central London hotel. Avoid the back rooms unless you like trains – a lot !

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front of the hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curried_aardvark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Vegas Hotel
Vegas Hotel
#899 of 1,067 in London
43 reviews
Pimlico
Enrico Hotel
Enrico Hotel
#927 of 1,067 in London
529 reviews
Pimlico
Stanley House
Stanley House
#703 of 1,067 in London
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Comfort Inn Buckingham Palace Road
Pimlico
The Dover Hotel
The Dover Hotel
#635 of 1,067 in London
507 reviews
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#311 of 1,067 in London
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly House Hotel

Property: Holly House Hotel
Address: 20 Hugh Street, London SW1V 1RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico , Victoria
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #931 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Holly House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holly House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing