We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty over priced hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Lily London - Kensington/Earl's Court
Ranked #988 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Hotel was to expensive for the room rate hear are some points why.
1 dirty tiles on the bathroom wall
2. Small bathroom with leaking sink
3. Not enough milk tea/coffee in room 3 milks are not enough for two people.
4 boxes of bleach left on the floor in reception for over 24 hours do these people not follow cosh guidelines any child could have go hold of this
5 the corridors are shabby along with the dining room that smelled awful
6 breakfast is a joke one egg a burnt bit of bacon one sausage and watery beans is not a full English breakfast and not what I expect in the rate
7 got sent up to the room after checking in being told it was ready but it was not the housekeeper had only just striped the bed.
8 can't the staff have one job in the hotel how can one person do the kitchen housekeeping and reception no wonder the place is dirty.
9 the housekeeping staff leave linen ect all over the corridors this is a fire hazard.
10 room smelled of bleach as it was all they had to clean.
11 not very accessible for disabled guests.

AVOID this hotel as all costs the only upside was that it was near earls court and a pub

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tgh82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (864)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Lily London - Kensington/Earl's Court
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 864 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

I was on a business trip and struggled to hang my suits in the cupboard that you had to use for a wardrobe. The clothes had to be hung on a slat as it wasn't deep enough, there was also a small black box on the floor of the cupboard which is used to kill vermin. I expected a mouse or rat to greet me in the night.

The bathroom is very very small, I am only small but for anyone above 5ft 2" would struggle.
The shower was broken and the water wasn't very hot.

It was a very basic cooked breakfast in the morning, and the restaurant was dirty, dark and not clean. No continental breakfast on offer.

TV remotes had to be requested and a £10 deposit had to be left.

Windows don't shut so the noise from the planes landing at heathrow every couple of minutes means you don't get any sleep. Take ear plugs.

Would not stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alakeland1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I was VERY worried after booking this hotel then reading the trip advisor reviews- All I have to say is it is perfectly acceptable for the money you have paid, if you want 5* quality then pay the extra!
Staff friendly, tired but clean & breakfast service great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lilie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I don't normally write reviews, but wanted to this time to warn other people against staying here.

The hotel isn't cheap, especially when there's an exhibition on. For the money you get a tiny room, dirty linen and a broken toilet. I can't speak for the rooms I didn't see, but I'd be surprised if any were of a good quality. The toilet is so small you can't sit on the loo normally as the bath is so close. The hot water is intermittent, and the windows don't shut properly. As the hotel is in Heathrow's flight path this means you can't sleep very much. The breakfast was a very low quality cooked breakfast, and the staff are less than helpful and don't seem particularly bothered about customer service. The wifi kept cutting out, and you have to pay a deposit if you want the luxury of a TV remote.

To balance out the review, I'll hold my hands up and say it is in a good location for Earls Court, but I can't think of anything else positive about the hotel.

Seriously, stay somewhere else if at all possible.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oli963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I will start with the advantage as it's only one thing , it's close to underground station and bus station.

Otherwise let me share my experience i had last week:
- Not clean at all ( beds were smelly , bathroom is full of insects and horrible unclean towels & of course bathroom is away from being clean)
- Room Service is terrible
- No AC so if you feel hot you need to open the window that will bring you all night noise, cold and insects , so you wouldn't be sleeping after all
- No Minibar
- Reception crew are not hospital at all, rudeness is all around.
- Breakfast area is very old fashioned and with very very very poor furniture and quality.
- Breakfast is of a set menu, so it's either you take it or leave it.

Overall it's a terrible experience that I would never ever want to have again and for sure will never come back to this place, it's not an expensive place but even the price paid is much more than service provided.. Aint Worth it !!!

Hope I could attach some photos, but I couldn't even try to stay in the hotel as much as I can.. I used to go there only when I am deadly tired just to sleep on the spot.

STAY away from this place

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaHa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Just got back from 3 days in london had a brill time ,as for hotel lilly i was dreading our stay there after reading the reviews but i was pleasently surprised the room yes were small but for what we wanted they were fine the beds were clean and really comfy ,the staff were very friendly and helpful the breakfast was fine the location was brill i have no comlaints remember this is a two star hotel its a budget hotel but its perfect as a base when your sight seeing in London.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zoe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

this must be the worst and smallest room i have ever stayed in even my pet dogs have a bigger bedroom the room also smelt horrible and the breakfast well what can you say the tables where dirty the food was terrible plus the tea tasted of soapy water the staff did not want to take your


order and they could all have done with a good bath my advise stay away from this so called hote ps i have notified the local food and hygeine inspectorsl

Room Tip: i dont think there are any
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Hammersmith / Fulham
Ibis London Earls Court
Ibis London Earls Court
#460 of 1,072 in London
4,455 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Travelodge London Fulham
Travelodge London Fulham
#498 of 1,072 in London
458 reviews
Earls Court
Sara Hotel
Sara Hotel
#670 of 1,072 in London
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#746 of 1,072 in London
459 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#834 of 1,072 in London
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lily London - Kensington/Earl's Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lily London - Kensington/Earl's Court

Address: 23-33 Lillie Road, London SW6 1UG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Hammersmith / Fulham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #988 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £60 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lily London - Kensington/Earl's Court 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for cheap hotels in Kensington then Hotel Lily is THE place for you. Comfortable and only a minute’s walk from the West Brompton Tube Station, Hotel Lily aims to please with its cheap rooms and warm, attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Lily London - Kensington/Earl's Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing