We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“depressing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lily London - Kensington/Earl's Court
Ranked #991 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Mississauga, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“depressing”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

we booked this hotel hopping for easy access to Natural History Museum, to our disappointment it was far and away not only from museum but everything and anything, overpriced, squeezed in third bed, so in order to get to bed we would have to climb it like in kindergarten, beds are old not very comfortable, not very clean, no air-conditioning in rooms, Wi-Fi only if you pay for it
terrible neighborhood, hotel from a different era ,long time gone, kind of unpleasant experience for family type traveling
very average breakfast, neeeeever again.........front desk not so pleasant, specially blonde lady with red lipstick?????

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MayaPola2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    102
    195
    163
    369
See reviews for
125
205
101
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

A group of us stayed here for a last minute theatre break as most hotels fully booked. The photos on its own website are very different to the actual reality of the hotel. We booked a room with 4 single beds and this looks quite spacious on the website. 3 single beds were pushed together with no gap inbetween them. Meaning we had to climb on from the bottom. The fourth bed was a step away from the bottom of the other 3. As we went in July it was very hot, absolutely no air conditioning so the room was boiling with four people in. The room was dark, dirty looking, in need of refurbishment. The bathroom was the same with greyish dirty looking towels. The whole hotel apart from the reception area is run down and not well maintained.
We had breakfast included in our price and this was located in the basement, near the toilets which did not smell pleasant as you walked past. The breakfast was basically a rude waiter giving you a glass of orange and a plate of a fried English breakfast. No other options, no cereal, vegetarian, fruit, other pastries ect. The cook basically kept churning out plates of the same breakfast and they were handed out like a school canteen. I did not eat this so cannot comment.
The location of the hotel is near a tube station but that's anout it. It took us approx 30mins on tube to get to central areas like Oxford circus.
They only positive about this hotel was the friendly and helpful receptionist.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nikki37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Building was ideally located to local transport and was convenient for our trip. However on arrival to leave our bags until check in a few hours later, the service received was disgusting, the lady who served us was rude and unwelcoming. On return to check in we went to our room which was nothing like was shown in the pictures from the website. We came expecting an open room with a decent bathroom but entered a small cramped room with only 2 sockets which again was inconvenient. The bathroom was nothing like we expected- dimly lit and both the bath and toilet had chips in them. Also described in our package a full English breakfast was included. What we received was not a full English and also made to a poor standard with cold hard toast. We never expected anything spectacular for the price we paid but we definitely expected more and the website gave a very inaccurate portrayal of what service would be received at this establishment. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Billy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Three of us had rooms here for a business trip - all were just as bad - hotel was tatty and in desperate need of refurbishment, bathroom doors didn't close - bedrooms very noisy (no double glazing); also really hot and stuffy (no air-con.). One morning they forget to leave any fresh towels in my colleagues bathroom - but had taken the old ones away - so (as the phones did not work) she had to get dressed again and go down 3 floors to reception to get towels before she could shower.
The breakfast was generous but luke-warm, so after the first morning we didn't go there for breakfast.
Television and Wi-Fi didn't work. I suspect they would have done but for an extra payment - but they weren't inclusive.
Lastly, the hotel room look nothing like the photos!

Room Tip: none of the rooms looked much better than ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phoenix029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I say this because on booking.com the images the have used are NOTHING like the actually hotel. The rooms are sort of clean but no where near as beautiful looking as the photos. My room had broken windows that took me about 4 minutes to close (not exaggerating), a broken ceiling in the bathroom so every time i opened the bathroom door the ceiling flew open! Shower head holder was broken, water leaked from the tap, toilet was grimy and bathroom towels are old.
They deactivated my card a night early and after doing room service (I.e making my bed and that's it) forgot to give me towels...
They give you nothing in the way of toiletries (just two bars of nasty soap), no hair dryer, dirty kettle and things for making tea (although i brought bottled water, didn't dare using their water to drink).
The WHOLE hotel is way too warm. It makes you feel dizzy, there is constant noise and dirty curtains.

If it were much cheaper it might have been a better stay, but the price does not correlate with the hotel standards.

Room Tip: No such thing as a good room - unless you're lucky!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanicemad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is dangerous and threatening.

I stayed one night in this hotel and albeit I was shocked upon the arrival into the room what happened during the night and beyond was horrifying.

At 1am a stranger walked into my room where myself and my daughter slept.

I was pregnant at the time and I was awoken to the door opening, footsteps walking into my room and to my bed and then walking out again. I was frozen to the core with fear and when the door shut I went and opened it to see who it was.

A girl was outside as shocked as me, stating she was due to be staying a further night here and when she first came to the door her key card didn't work so she went down to reception whereupon no security checks were done and her key was simply reactivated.

My young daughter awoke horrified and crying stating, why was there a stranger in our room, and she was inconsolable. I could only calm her by lugging a heavy chair across the room to the door to barricade it as clearly double locking it on the inside did nothing and upon doing this I felt some pain but went back to bed and spent the next 4 hours calming her to sleep.

My husband called the hotel at the time it happened and the porter apologised however told us to discuss it with management in the morning.

In the morning we stated what had happened, albeit they were fully aware and we simply said we want a full refund. From this moment they became rather nasty, refusing a refund and that we would have to take it up with the directors. The night porter whose fault it was continually blamed the other guest rather than himself!

We initially spoke to the 'higher' management on the phone and she stated this would have to go to the directors to be given a refund. We found this quite baffling however we were, after quite some time, offered a 50% refund.

When we called and stated we would not accept anything but a full refund they became very nasty towards us.

We reiterated the incident that happened over and over as they clearly had no comprehension of what it did cause and could have caused baring in mind the hammer attack that happened only a few months before.

They still refused a full refund and I emailed them to state that we could take this immensely further however all we asked for was a refund and I also stated that the day following this incident I suffered a miscarriage.

Whilst I did not blame the hotel for this I did state that the incident contributed to an enormous fear and high stress level and I had to physically lug a heavy chair across the room.

I again simply asked for a full refund.

Within 5 minutes of this email I received a phonecall supposedly from the hotels solicitor! She was appauling to me on the phone, she stated, 'she found it with grave concern' that I should blame a hotel for a miscarriage, when in fact I didn't blame them, I just stated facts and she went onto state that she would offer a full refund on the condition this went no further! I agreed as there was little else to say on the phone. She was threatening and rude.

Little did we expect that a further email would arrive with a 'contract' in other words a 'gagging order' to state you may have your full refund as long as you sign this to state you will not take this any further and will not post any bad reviews about us online!

We of course refused to sign such a contract and found it utterly disturbing that a hotel would issue such a thing.

Upon various phone calls with booking.com they agreed that the stress we had been put under was abhorrent and they refunded us the money themselves. They in fact stated that any attempt to manipulate feedback by the hotel was in breech of their contract to booking.com.

Hotel lily would not issue us the refund and I can only thank booking.com for being decent people.

Apart from this incident the hotel was quite disgusting. The bed was stained, the windows were barely legal and it was so noisy I could barely sleep at all and yet I was not on the ground floor. The road is busy all night. The most noise however was from the opposite door slamming all night! I thought it must have been someone who was drunk yet in the morning I realised the door was one of the laundry rooms and porter door so I'm not sure whether it was staff themselves making such a noise.

The shower fell off of the wall, the toilet roll holder was hanging off, the bin was battered and the overall cleanliness was not as I have experienced in better hotels.

Wifi is £5 and was useless. It kept kicking me off after I finally managed to log in and I ended up simply using 3G.

A disgusting hotel, a risk to its clients, utterly unsafe and barbaric customer service. If you want to pay cheaply go to a hostel in London as you can guarantee you will be safe which overall is the most important thing when staying in London.

Avoid like the plague!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank seasonedcamper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanfairfechan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were going to Wimbledon for the finals so wanted somewhere reasonable, not too far away and with parking. We got most of that at the hotel Lily except the most important part - reasonable - was missing. I'll start with the good part.
It was a short tube journey from Wimbledon, we parked there for the duration for 30.00, it included breakfast and cost 80.00 for the 2 of us for the night.
Now the rest.
The hotel is dirty, the lift tiny, the restaurant shabby.. Despite ordering a vegetarian breakfast in advance, all I was offered was beans on toast or toast. Cereal was available but not offered or visible.. The cooked breakfast that my husband ordered was instant and fair, but with no variations. Sausage, bacon, egg and beans. was on the plate ready to be served.
Our room - 314 was, on first inspection, clean and tidy. However I spent 10 minutes digging years of fluff out of the vent in the miniscule bathroom with a cotton bud to make it work.(I left it on the floor so it may be there now still as we saw no evidence of cleaners anywhere).. We had only one towel but the bathroom was so tiny only one person could fit in at a time! I found a sweater and a pair of trousers left behind by a previous occupant, in a drawer. The room was too hot but opening a window was not an option on a hot Saturday night. The fire door in the corridor was propped open and there was no escape route map in the room.
However the bed was comfortable and we managed to sleep, and the TV worked, despite being advised that a 10.00 deposit for the remote would be required, and we found free wifi. It just about served it's purpose but I wouldn't go back again. Best part was the walk through the beautiful and historic cemetery down the road.

Room Tip: Don't have room 314 - a loose manhole cover outside clunked every time a vehicle drove over it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxxxx04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Hammersmith / Fulham
Ibis London Earls Court
Ibis London Earls Court
#460 of 1,069 in London
4,412 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#729 of 1,069 in London
455 reviews
Earls Court
Sara Hotel
Sara Hotel
#670 of 1,069 in London
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#665 of 1,069 in London
297 reviews
Hotel 65
#753 of 1,069 in London
557 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Travelodge London Fulham
Travelodge London Fulham
#515 of 1,069 in London
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lily London - Kensington/Earl's Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lily London - Kensington/Earl's Court

Property: Hotel Lily London - Kensington/Earl's Court
Address: 23-33 Lillie Road, London SW6 1UG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Hammersmith / Fulham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #991 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lily London - Kensington/Earl's Court 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for cheap hotels in Kensington then Hotel Lily is THE place for you. Comfortable and only a minute’s walk from the West Brompton Tube Station, Hotel Lily aims to please with its cheap rooms and warm, attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Lily London - Kensington/Earl's Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing