We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“exellent hotel for a family of four”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of London House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
London House Hotel
Ranked #296 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“exellent hotel for a family of four”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed for 12 days in a family room. We even got a family room on the first floor with a view to the garden in front of the hotel, we were so grateful for that. The hotel was quiet, never had any problems with any sounds, well ofcourse we heard noises from the street, but that`s life and didn`t bother us at all. There`s a fridge in the room, and there was enough room for breakfast "things" for all four of us, that was a big plus. The bathroom was a good size and clean. The beds were comfortable. The people at the reception were friendly. The location of the hotel is perfect, quiet, but round the corner is almost all you need. It´s very close to markets, kensington garden, good connection travalling to almost any direction... bus stops, tube stations. We`ll definitely come back if ever need accommodation in London. We had a perfect vacation. (There`s a shuttle bus service to and from heathrow, so getting to the hotel is easy, but with heathrow express/connect trains to Paddington was also easy as can be)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nea Ö
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    1,197
    256
    67
    34
See reviews for
474
811
226
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I have stayed at the London House Hotel twice before, once in a twin room, once in a family room and this time in a small single as I was on a solo trip.

The hotel clearly states that the room is small, I was on my own for 2 nights so wasn't concerned with an overly fancy room as I would be spending very little time in it. I was actually pleasantly surprised with the size of the room. It has a single bed with two shelves at the bedside, a small dressing table, mirror and stool, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities, wardrobe with a fridge, safe, shelves and small amount of hanging space, ensuite with shower, air conditioning(easy to operate). There was place on the floor to lie my small suitcase out.

As with previous stays I had the breakfast both mornings at £7. Good continental selection as before. There are cafe's and small supermarkets on Bayswater road that you could easily buy breakfast items from, but this suited me fine as I could eat quickly and then head off out. Breakfast starts at 7am and I think finishes at 10am (?).

The room was spotless on arrival and housekeeping service provided each day. Toiletries are provided and replenished each day.

The room was comfortable for a couple of nights. I think it would be ok for one person for up to 3 or 4 nights but if you were staying any longer, it would probably be better to have a bigger room. I got a non refundable rate of just over £170 for a Sunday and Monday night which I was more than happy with.

The only think that I feel lets the hotel down is that the reception staff are not the friendliest, but I only dealt with them on check in and check out. They also need to invest in some decent pillows!

The hotel is close to Bayswater and Queensway tube stations and a 5 minute walk to Kensington Gardens. I felt safe walking around on my own and Bayswater road is busy at all times of day. The hotel was quiet though.

Queensway tube station still only has one lift in operation (was also like this last July) so prepare yourself for a wait for the lift at times or walk up the 123 stairs! (did this several times!)

I will definitely return to this hotel again - reasonably priced, good area, clean and comfortable - what more do you need unless you are staying for a considerable amount of time?!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elljay01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHHManager, Manager at London House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you very much for your nice and detailed review. I am glad to read that you have enjoyed another stay with us and that you were happy again with the cleanliness, location, services and the room/ hotel itself. However, I regret to read that you were not happy with our staff that is always nice, helpful and trained properly. However, I hope that you will be able to meet our receptionists again. We wish to see you back to London House Hotel soon. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Be'er sheva, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Our room was made daily.
the room faced a small quite park.
Location is close to the tube (Bayswater and Quieensway), to bus stops, London city bicycle rental and to the Hyde park, we bought some supplies every morning and went to the Hyde park for breakfast!
The room had both heating and A/C, we kept our window open all week long and got some great fresh air.

Room Tip: ask for rooms facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amirber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Clean, comfortable room, with AC, wifi, and good mattresses all for an affordable price. On a quiet street, but easy access to the Circle Line (Bayswater Tube) or the Central Line (Queensway Tube stop). First time staying in this part of London, but we'd return to the London House Hotel again. Also within walking distance of Paddington Station for easy access to transport to/from Heathrow.

Room Tip: We had a room in the basement, but not near the breakfast room. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kchatelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHHManager, Manager at London House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us taking for consideration our location, facilities, cleanliness and prices! We would love to see you back to London House Hotel, so please contact us directly for the most competitive offers. Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

My friend and I stayed here 3 nights after a cruise to Norway, and we really liked the hotel. Thought the price was quite reasonable compared to most other choices in London, and we were very comfortable here. The room was small, but very clean, the beds were comfy, and they had free wifi, which is always a great perk! Would stay here again the next time I travel to London

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dawnskers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel is refurbished, and both the reception AND the rooms looks very nice and clean. The rooms are a bit small, but it is ok. You are supposed to sleep in your room, and the beds are pretty good. The best hotel bathroom I´ve experienced in London hotels except big high rated hotels.

We had two doublerooms with backyard view. No view though, but quiet area. Close to Bayswater Underground station, a lot of restaurants and shops nearby.

Excellent value for money!

Room Tip: Quiet street on both sides. We chose backyard "view". Satisfied with that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stavanger99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHHManager, Manager at London House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments. I am glad to read that you were satisfied with your rooms booked and with our hotel itself. I am very happy that our standards at affordable prices are being appreciated and we keep doing our best to satisfy every single guest. Please feel free to contact us directly for the most competitive prices! Look forward to seeing you back again soon. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed for eight nights and every thing was perfect. The location is top-notch, and the room was great -- go with the double room for a little extra space, it is worth it. Now, the staff ... Top-notch, ten stars all the way! Everyone was extremely helpful, knowledgeable and went beyond the call of duty to make my stay, and navigation through the country and its public transportation, the most pleasurable experiences. I will stay there again, and again ..... **********

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHHManager, Manager at London House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review! I am glad to read that you were satisfied with your stay at London House and that we haven’t disappointed you in any way. This is very important to us that our guests are happy to stay with us and we do our best to satisfy every individual guest of ours. Please contact us directly in the future for best competitive prices as we wish to welcome you at London House again! Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#281 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#426 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#234 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Vancouver Studios
Vancouver Studios
#338 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#356 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London House Hotel

Property: London House Hotel
Address: 81 Kensington Gardens Square | Bayswater, London W2 4DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#259 Family Hotel in London
#321 Romantic Hotel in London
#323 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — London House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming , newly renovated Hotel in Central London situated in a quiet and charming street The London House Hotel overlooks a leafy Victorian park in the exclusive Bayswater area and offers the excellent combination of both comfort and affordability in a prime location in central London. All room are newly renovated with contemporary décor. All rooms have air condition, TV, safe, mini fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your London House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing