We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay in London”
Review of London House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
London House Hotel
Ranked #313 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed for three nights in July 2014, three persons, we were given a room in the basement. The pros and the cons:

pros+
- Nice corner of a nice area, plenty of shops and nice restaurants almost next door
- Big room, not just for London, but really a good size
- Bathroom with Body Shop products (with a tag "Don't take me" - we were travelling with hand luggage so they were too big anyway)
- Quite nicely decorated
- Comfortable beds (very important!)
- Overall, in my opinion very good value for the money in London

cons-
- We were given a room in the basement, so no possibility to sleep with window open even if it's warm
- In the basement, there is a really serious problem with moist and mould. Unless you either own the building or a very allergic, probably nothing to worry about. I almost couldn't smell it in the room but quite suffocating going down the stairs and into the room.

Room Tip: Perhaps avoid the basement? We booked through Venere, maybe that's why we ended up there
Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank tmt33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHHManager, Manager at London House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you very much for your comments. I am happy to know that your stay with London House Hotel was enjoyable and the location, comfort and our hotel itself suited you well. I assume that you booked a Family room – all our family rooms are located on lower ground floor. They are spacious and nice; the rooms also have windows to be opened if required. Please contact us directly next time for any booking inquiry, every request is welcome, we always try our best to follow our guests request whenever possible. Look forward to welcoming you back at London House Hotel. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,303)
There are newer reviews for London House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

691 - 697 of 2,304 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

My family and I only have good things to say regarding our stay. The family room in the basement was plenty spacious. Location is fabulous & quiet. Hotel is updated & very clean. Luggage storage a big plus as our flight was later in the day. We would absolutely stay there again. Enjoy....

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriano G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHHManager, Manager at London House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you very much for taking your time and writing a nice review for London House Hotel. I am pleased to read that you were satisfied with your stay and that we met your expectations! We all look forward to seeing you back again soon for another pleasant and enjoyable stay. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed three nights prior to our cruise, with two other couples. Was an excellent choice-great location, quiet, and very helpful,attentive staff. Would highly recommend to anyone seeking basic accommodation at reasonable cost

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHHManager, Manager at London House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you back again soon! Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Pros
• Nice location in a Regency style square, short 5 minute walk to Bayswater Underground.
• Plenty of shops, restaurants and pubs nearby.
• Pleasant modern Reception area.
• Reasonable price.
• Good standard of cleanliness in room and bathroom.
• Comfortable bed.
• Nice clean crisp bed linen.
• Sensible check out time of 10.30am.
• Upgraded us to a better room. (Reluctantly though and would of hated to see what we would of been allocated if we hadn’t!) as celebrating Wedding Anniversary.
• Box of chocs and welcoming note left in room for our arrival.
• Domestic female member of staff very helpful.
• Fridge.
• Safe.
• Stored luggage whilst we went out and about the city the following day.

Cons
• Rooms very small, would not be happy to stay longer than a night or two.
• No bath only shower.
• Crack in shower tiles and shower head loose fitting.
• Tea & Coffee supplies very limited.
• Kettle did not reach plug socket from beverage shelf.
• Male member of Reception staff unaccommodating when presented with a simple request.

On the whole this wasn’t a bad stay and I would probably do a short stay there again but that’s mainly down to the price and the location.

Room Tip: Go for the upper levels with a garden view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHHManager, Manager at London House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you very much for your detailed review. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with complimentary upgrade and services we provided. I also read with pleasure that you were satisfied with our location, cleanliness, comfort and facilities. However, I regret to read that you weren't fully satisfied and I have noted your comments for further improvement. We hope to see you back to London House Hotel again! Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had a nice room. No pictures on walls. Small TV. Room was well-attended to every day. Helpful Staff. Breakfast is not worth the price. Eat out. Close to very good Indian and Greek and Lebanese restaurants.

Room Tip: Do not get the breakfast option.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnr1948_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHHManager, Manager at London House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with London House Hotel. We are actually in the middle of choosing some decoration/ pictures for our rooms to make them more pleasant and homely - thank you for your note! Our fully continental breakfast is a great start for a day and we are also upgrading our breakfast service regularly. However, we are located in great area as you said and every person can find something suitable here. We hope to see you back soon! Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a new hotel in the center of London. The location is excelent, close to two different underground stations and to different bus stops (with direct buses for instance to piccadilly circus and Marylebon railways station). Very closeby are many restaurants and shops. The Natural history museum can be reached with a nice walk through hyde park. To save some money we recommend booking a small room, which is truly small but still very confortable. Breakfast is simple but nice and the staff is really helpful. Definitely a great place to visit London!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cat_from_rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHHManager, Manager at London House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you very much for your nice comments! I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with our hotel’s location, comfort, facilities and service. We look forward to seeing you back again soon! Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed at LHH for a week in June and loved it! We had two twin rooms in the basement that had plenty of room with lots of storage. Both the room and bathroom were very clean. The staff did a great job at helping us with any questions. The location do the hotel can't be beat. There are great restaurants around the corner too. I definitely plan on staying here on my next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summermc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHHManager, Manager at London House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments! I am very happy to read that you were not disappointed with your stay at London House Hotel. I am glad that you were satisfied with our location, staff and services. We definitely love to see you back soon, so please contact us directly for best available offers and prices! Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#289 of 1,072 in London
1,658 reviews
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#359 of 1,072 in London
1,510 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#267 of 1,072 in London
1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#406 of 1,072 in London
303 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#129 of 1,072 in London
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London House Hotel

Address: 81 Kensington Gardens Square | Bayswater, London W2 4DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#259 Family Hotel in London
#321 Romantic Hotel in London
#323 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £75 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — London House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming , newly renovated Hotel in Central London situated in a quiet and charming street The London House Hotel overlooks a leafy Victorian park in the exclusive Bayswater area and offers the excellent combination of both comfort and affordability in a prime location in central London. All room are newly renovated with contemporary décor. All rooms have air condition, TV, safe, mini fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your London House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing