We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack of Customer Service... and Integrity”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Point West Apartments by Crown Lawn
Ranked #283 of 929 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Crown Lawn offers the poorest service I've come across. The apartment we had (716) was not as advertised and had some "unadvertised" downsides you'll want to be aware of. Including, again, heroically poor service.

Background: Point West is a large apartment building with private owners of individual flats. Crown Lawn appears to own and let some number of these. Apparently so do other firms--the result is that there's no management on premesis... and very little accountbaility.

When you arrive you pick up your key from the building concierge or ...get this!... the guy at the internet cafe down the street. (not making this up).

Except that when I arrived with my wife and three kids Crown Lawn had forgottento leave the key at the desk. The concierge had no idea who we were or what firm to call about our apartment. When we finally reached crown lawn they were full of weak excuses -- Had i checked also with the guy at the internet cafe? (sadly, yes) and then, "we weren't sure what time you were arriving" said "Juss" at the home office, full of apology (I note here that it was just after 8 pm at this point... when WERE they going to bring the keys round??). The result was that I waited in the lobby with my three small children for MORE THAN TWO HOURS while the got the key across town to us. FInally got into the apartment--after a transatlantic flight with three children--at 10:30 PM.

Not so happy but understanding at this point--mistakes happen, etc, and the guy on duty--"Juss" or whatever his name was--promised to call in the morning to "work everything out" ... he asked me three or four times what time was best for him to call. "Get some sleep. We'll sort it all out for you in the morning." Except that he never called. Or responded to calls or texts the entire next day!!

Similarly the staffer they sent over with the key that night was a lump of a guy who didn't know much about anything... such what the wireless password was. Or why the washer/dryer they'd advertised was actually just a washer. (Would have been fine if we hadn't packed on the assumption that wecould do laundry in our room). Or why there was no coffee maker. Or why the "day bed" for our third child they charged us 15 pounds a night for was an inflatable mattress that we had to wedge into a room so tight we could then use the closets...

He promised to show up the next day with answers to the internet issue at least. Needless to say he never did. We never heard from any of them for the rest of our stay.

Anyway the other key thing you need to know--beyond the small issue of terrible service and poor integrity--is that the apartments back onto the Gloucester Road tube station. This means trains coming by all night that are really loud. So 1) you may struggle to sleep and 2) you can't open the windows as it makes the noise overwhelmingly loud. Not exaggerating here. it's really really loud. And of course if you're waiting for Crown Lawn to send over a fan, say, to drown out the noice or perhaps make it not so close in the small bedrooms with the windows closed, well...

Anyway, London's a great city and getting an apartment makes great sense. Just do yourself --and your family-the favor of booking with an agency that had higher levels of capacity and integrity. Otherwise I'll see you in the lobby of the Point West!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeeEllThr33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2013

The apartment looks nothing like the photos on the web site. The furniture was dated and cheap. the walls needed a coat of paint and the apartment needed cleaning. There were two of us and the shower ran out of hot water after only one of us showered. This will go down as the worst lodging I've ever had. Big disappointment!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrooklynTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Hotels in London that sleep a family of 4 comfortably are rare. Most have 2 single beds instead of the US-norm of 2 Queen-sized beds. That's where the Point West apartments shine. In addition to renting a flat with kitchen, living room, and dining room, there are 2 bedrooms that sleep 4 comfortably. We were high enough above the Tube line where the noise was not that bothersome. Point West is steps from a couple of grocery stores as well as the Gloucester Rd Tube stop.

I travelled here July, 2011 although TripAdvisor doesn't let me choose that time period. :-\

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

This apartment is in a great location. Really less than 5 minutes from the tube (even though the District and Circles lines were down when we visited), but it is a straight shot from Heathrow on the Picadilly line. Great food nearby and a quick walk to the History Museum or V & A.

Since the staff at the apartment don't work for the people you rent from it can be quite frustrating. We arrived early (as per our email) hoping to check in early. It wasn't possible and we returned at 1:50 (for 2:00 check in). We still had to wait until 2:15 to get the keys. The room was mostly clean, but there was hair on the floor and a plastic bag on the counter. We couldn't call the rental company since you had to sign up for a pay-as-you-go to call them. In the kitchen there was no coffee pot, only an electric kettle so we had to settle for instant all week. Also, we were given 2 towels and 1 roll of toilet paper for an entire week. This is not my definition of a serviced apartment. When we did call to complain they were quick to offer solutions. I appreciated the hard work of Angela to help us, but the timeline was off. I really wanted to like this apartment, but it was just disappointing.

Great location, but bring your own toilet paper.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OverseasIowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We traveled as a family of 5 to London in December 2012 and booked a 2-bedroom apartment for 10 days from 13 to 23 December. While searching for accommodation, a niece recommended us Point West as she had stayed there before. There was also an offer of 10% discount which made it even more attractive.

The location is excellent with Gloucester Road tube station nearby and a Sainsbury supermarket just behind. There is also Waitrose supermarket at the train station. Various museums are also a short walk down the road. Free wifi in the apartment was a real boon for us as we needed to also connect other comms devices like smartphones and iPADs. Security for the apartment is also good with electronic access for guests.

Having stayed at various London hotels before, I must say that Point West is value for money. The apartment is spacious enough for the family. If we had taken the hotel option, we would have had to book two rooms (the floor area of London hotel rooms is incredibly small for the price) and incur more cost. The apartment was clean, reasonably done up and there was a kitchen equipped with washing machine/dryer, dish washer, oven, microwave and fridge. We have no complaints with the housekeeping service which was once a week. Sheets were clean and towels were changed. All the heaters work and that is important in winter. We were fearful of the noise from the train but it was not as bad as we feared. Our apartment 223 faced the car park of Sainsbury supermarket.

The service provided by Crown Lawn was excellent. Over at the office, response was prompt especially from Meabh De Burca who dealt with my booking and tried her best to accommodate to all my requests. Onsite, the manager Philippe was excellent. He responded immediately to my calls. For instance, when I informed him that there was no iron, he went out to buy one straightaway. He also came to the apartment immediately when I informed him that the oven was not working and he got it fixed within the same day. Philippe also hand delivered a package when it arrived as he was aware that I might miss it as we would checking out the next morning. That is some service! Kudos also to the reception desk at the apartment. Although the staff are not employed by Crown Lawn, they are also helpful.

There are a few areas that Point West could improve upon. The markings on the oven dials are worn out so we had no idea where to click for the desired temperature. Perhaps stickers could be placed over the worn out markings. Although we stayed for 10 days, Crown Lawn still wanted to charge us for late check-out despite the fact that we eventually asked for only an hour as we had time to kill before our flight. This was disappointing as we believe that there were no guests after us. Otherwise, late check-out could not even be possible even by an hour.

Finally, I wish to point out that this is a service apartment and not a hotel. There are pluses and minuses for each. Overall, Point West is still excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Request a room where train noise is minimized.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank linnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

This is the third time we have stayed at Point West and it ended after one, very disturbed, night of 3. There were a number of irritants (see below) which we would have put up with but to be put in an apartment overlooking an extremely busy tube line (finished at 01.45, started again at 04.30) with no warning is bang out of order. We have previously been in quiet apartments in Point West but this was anything but and we ended up checking out after just 1 night - I am a very heavy sleeper but having a train going past every few minutes is not condusive to a restful stay.

"Irritants"

1. No plug in bathroom sink - thats just shabby
2. Cooker - oven so old you cant read the dials to see setting, ok you may work on the principle that most people will eat out but dont hold out a full kitchen facility if the facilities are so antiquated they cant be used
3. Ditto DVD player - so old just jumped all the time
4. Kettle workd only sporadically
5. Sofas tired

Just a few quid would make these irritants go away.

If you do consider staying here make sure you dont get apartment 218.

Room Tip: If you do go here insist on overlooking Sainsburys as thats quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Let me start by saying that the pictures provided by Crown Lawn are a gross misrepresentation of what the property actually looks like. We rented an apartment from them for one night on 16th October 2012.
Upon arriving we were advised by Reception that we couldn't check in until 2 pm. This wasn't an issue however they also advised that they couldn't ensure security for our baggage for the 4 hrs we had to wait.

Upon accessing the 2 bedroom apartment we discovered that it was nothing like the images projected by Crown Lawn and that we had a significant amount of mould in the bathroom and the general appearance was tired and unclean ( dirty carpets, dust, etc)
As my wife has reactions to mould we advised Crown Lawn and they promptly sent the maintenance manager to address the problem. He proceeded to argue the point with my wife and blame the Silicon in the bathroom for the mould build up!
After giving him a few home truths his cleaner then managed to remove 80% of the mould with some elbow grease.
I strongly recommend you consider other options for your apartment rental in London.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swervin50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#469 of 1,078 in London
603 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Go Native Hyde Park
#242 of 929 in London
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point West Apartments by Crown Lawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point West Apartments by Crown Lawn

Address: Point West 116 Cromwell Road, London SW7 4XB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #283 of 929 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: £179 - £659 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Point West Apartments by Crown Lawn 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These deluxe studio, one and two bedroom Kensington serviced apartments, recently refurbished in 2010, are situated just a five minute walk from Gloucester Road tube station and a twenty minute drive from London Heathrow airport. You can find a variety of quality restaurants and bars on nearby Gloucester Road. These Kensington serviced apartments are fully equipped with a spacious living area and full kitchens as well as a bathroom and bedroom, there is everything you need for a comfortable, relaxing stay. There is a weekly maid service included in the rates. On-site parking is available at GBP 20.00 per night per vehicle and each serviced apartment has freeview television, DVD players and stereo systems. We also provide free Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Point West Apartments by Crown Lawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point West Apartments By Crown Lawn Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing