We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Point West Apartments by Crown Lawn
Ranked #174 of 871 Speciality Lodging in London
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Like a home”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The apartment was great! I spent 4 days there with my husband and it felt like our own. it is well furnished, clean, neat, and has everything we needed. The girl who rented it to us included many basics that lasted us for a day till we made our grocery shopping. We did our laundry, cooked our own food, hosted a friend. It was our house during the trip to London. It's a 10 min walk from Gloucester Underground Station, and the same distance to almost all nice cafes and restaurants. It;s never late to grab a cup of coffee or a nice meal at night, Sainsbury's was right under the building and it was accessible until midnight. Food delivery was easy because all restaurants knew the place and delivered until 3 AM. There is somebody who comes to clean every week, so no need to worry about keeping the place clean.

When I visit again, this is definitely where I'm staying.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    28
    13
    8
    14
See reviews for
45
21
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Wales, UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Booked the apartment last minute for two nights and the staff were really helpful on the phone, made sure the keys were ready for us and gave good directions. The apartment is only a few minutes walk from Gloucester Road tube station and near lovely shops, bars and restaurants. The apartment is lovely and spotlessly clean. The kitchen is well stocked with all you need, comfy sofas and bed and a surprisingly comfortable z bed. The district line runs under the living window (even 7 floors up it can be loud), but we like London noise so even though we had windows open all night due to the summer heat, the noise of the tube wasn't an issue. Would highly recommend and would love to stay here again ourselves., I think the apartment number was 710 or 711.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daffodildazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Where to start on what we expected verses what we received. We have rented approximately 30 homes/apartments in the last 10 years. The location of the apartment is great. That ended the positives. The apartment overlooks the subway tracks leading to Gloucester Road station so you will hear the trains from when they start running in the morning until they stop shortly after midnight. The apartment was 2 bedroom. Each bedroom held only one double bed and one night stand. There was no room for any other furniture. No table, no second night stand no dresser. One bedroom closet was 60 percent occupied by the water heater. Kitchen had one towel and no pot holders. The bathroom was not clean. Over priced for what you receive.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Foodietravelers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Warszawa,Poland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Location is really great, but this is the end of pros, to choise this location. The building is located on the back side of a main street (Cromwell rd.), which actually might be very comfortable to avoid busy street noise. But the building is placed on a kind of an island, surrounded by trains' tracks. So regardless where your room will face windows, you should forget about quiet days. There is an underground (which actually is overgroung at this particular place !) night break, so the only quiet time is between 00:30 and 5:30, unless night workers won't repair someting nearby. As there was no A/C in apartment I've rented, and this was the hottests summer in London since 200 years, we had to keep windows open. The only solution is either to find another address to rent or ... buy an ear plugs in nearby Sainsbury's.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank XXXPol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We paid for a 2 bedroom apartment through Crown Lawn.

The apartment we got was very worn. That would have been ok for the price we paid except that the apartment was really quite dirty! There was dust in the cabinets, the carpets felt and looked muggy, the toilets were not clean (we had to clean it up ourselves)! The linens looked clean but in one room we noticed that the stuffing of the duvet was spilling out and in the other room, my aunt complained of mysterious bites after a sleep in that bed. Also, they run out of hot water after 1 person showers so we had to wait an hour between showers!

The so-called concierge or front desk (they have people manning it) was of no help at all. Our 1 to 2 requests (on the basic cleanliness of the apt) were never dealt with and so we never bothered to ask them for anything else. We did mention to them that we would have a package delivered but when we asked them for it, they said they had not received it while the company we ordered from insisted that it has been delivered. And I believe the company who prides themselves in their home delivery service.

The apartment was spacious though and when we called Crown Lawn to complain, they did sound apologetic) and they did give my mum a better apartment when she returned on after a trip to Europe. I also liked that Sainsbury was round the corner. But all in all, I wouldnt return even with a better apartment as I think the risk of a bad one and the poor (or should I say no service) service at the front desk would over ride it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Crown Lawn offers the poorest service I've come across. The apartment we had (716) was not as advertised and had some "unadvertised" downsides you'll want to be aware of. Including, again, heroically poor service.

Background: Point West is a large apartment building with private owners of individual flats. Crown Lawn appears to own and let some number of these. Apparently so do other firms--the result is that there's no management on premesis... and very little accountbaility.

When you arrive you pick up your key from the building concierge or ...get this!... the guy at the internet cafe down the street. (not making this up).

Except that when I arrived with my wife and three kids Crown Lawn had forgottento leave the key at the desk. The concierge had no idea who we were or what firm to call about our apartment. When we finally reached crown lawn they were full of weak excuses -- Had i checked also with the guy at the internet cafe? (sadly, yes) and then, "we weren't sure what time you were arriving" said "Juss" at the home office, full of apology (I note here that it was just after 8 pm at this point... when WERE they going to bring the keys round??). The result was that I waited in the lobby with my three small children for MORE THAN TWO HOURS while the got the key across town to us. FInally got into the apartment--after a transatlantic flight with three children--at 10:30 PM.

Not so happy but understanding at this point--mistakes happen, etc, and the guy on duty--"Juss" or whatever his name was--promised to call in the morning to "work everything out" ... he asked me three or four times what time was best for him to call. "Get some sleep. We'll sort it all out for you in the morning." Except that he never called. Or responded to calls or texts the entire next day!!

Similarly the staffer they sent over with the key that night was a lump of a guy who didn't know much about anything... such what the wireless password was. Or why the washer/dryer they'd advertised was actually just a washer. (Would have been fine if we hadn't packed on the assumption that wecould do laundry in our room). Or why there was no coffee maker. Or why the "day bed" for our third child they charged us 15 pounds a night for was an inflatable mattress that we had to wedge into a room so tight we could then use the closets...

He promised to show up the next day with answers to the internet issue at least. Needless to say he never did. We never heard from any of them for the rest of our stay.

Anyway the other key thing you need to know--beyond the small issue of terrible service and poor integrity--is that the apartments back onto the Gloucester Road tube station. This means trains coming by all night that are really loud. So 1) you may struggle to sleep and 2) you can't open the windows as it makes the noise overwhelmingly loud. Not exaggerating here. it's really really loud. And of course if you're waiting for Crown Lawn to send over a fan, say, to drown out the noice or perhaps make it not so close in the small bedrooms with the windows closed, well...

Anyway, London's a great city and getting an apartment makes great sense. Just do yourself --and your family-the favor of booking with an agency that had higher levels of capacity and integrity. Otherwise I'll see you in the lobby of the Point West!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeeEllThr33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The apartment looks nothing like the photos on the web site. The furniture was dated and cheap. the walls needed a coat of paint and the apartment needed cleaning. There were two of us and the shower ran out of hot water after only one of us showered. This will go down as the worst lodging I've ever had. Big disappointment!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrooklynTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
130 Queen's Gate
130 Queen's Gate
#452 of 1,069 in London
202 reviews
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#459 of 1,069 in London
569 reviews
South Kensington
Ashburn Court Apartments
Ashburn Court Apartments
#669 of 1,069 in London
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#164 of 1,069 in London
808 reviews
South Kensington
Cheval Gloucester Park
Cheval Gloucester Park
#1 of 871 in London
234 reviews
South Kensington
Cromwell Road One
Cromwell Road One
#504 of 871 in London
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point West Apartments by Crown Lawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point West Apartments by Crown Lawn

Property: Point West Apartments by Crown Lawn
Address: Point West 116 Cromwell Road, London SW7 4XB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 871 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Point West Apartments by Crown Lawn 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These deluxe studio, one and two bedroom Kensington serviced apartments, recently refurbished in 2010, are situated just a five minute walk from Gloucester Road tube station and a twenty minute drive from London Heathrow airport. You can find a variety of quality restaurants and bars on nearby Gloucester Road. These Kensington serviced apartments are fully equipped with a spacious living area and full kitchens as well as a bathroom and bedroom, there is everything you need for a comfortable, relaxing stay. There is a weekly maid service included in the rates. On-site parking is available at GBP 20.00 per night per vehicle and each serviced apartment has freeview television, DVD players and stereo systems. We also provide free Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Point West Apartments by Crown Lawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point West Apartments By Crown Lawn Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing