We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Point West Apartments by Crown Lawn
Ranked #183 of 842 Speciality Lodging in London
Riyadh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad Choice!”
Reviewed 12 August 2009

The area of Glouster Road is very centrally located, however, the location of this building next to the subway tracks made it the worst choice ever!

We stayed in the 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment on the 7th floor. The rooms are small and stuffy (as you would expect in London) with one bedroom being on the entrance with a view to the center of the buidling (terrible). The other bedroom, kitchen and living room were located up a flight of steps. No central AC made the apartment stuffy and difficult to sleep in at night.

Houskeeping comes once a week, which makes this a non-servicved apartment in reality as you end up doing all the folding and cleaning and taking out the garbage as no human would wait a week to get an apartment cleaned. In addition, the apartments have NOTHING (no soap, no diswashing liquid, no toilet rolls, no napkins, no shampoo, etc.). So, be prepared to spend a good amount of money on equipping the apartment if you are staying there.

Overall I would rate this property very poorly for its noise and stuffiness and would never stay there again or recommend for anyone I know to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RiyadhVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    28
    13
    8
    14
See reviews for
44
21
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2009

I stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 5 nights with my wife and 3 children. I booked a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom apartment. However, I was given a 2 bedroom apartment with only one bathroom on the 4th floor. As I checked in at about 7.00 p.m. on a friday, I could not contact the booking agent. I also could not reach anyone on the 2 emergency mobile numbers given. Left with no choice, I decided to stay. Then came another shock. I realised that the building was sandwiched between two busy railway tracks. The trains were passing by every 5 minutes in both directions. The trains only stopped running after 11.30 pm. I set the alarm at 6.30 a.m. but I awoke at 5.30 a.m. by the thundering noise of a passing train. I barely slept for 4 hours for the first 2 nights. As it was summer, the bedroom was stuffy. I could not opern the bedroom window as the noise from the passing trains became even louder. I had to make do with a small fan. Every morning, it took the whole family about 45 minutes to wash up and be ready for breakfast - thanks to the one bathroom. To be fair, the apartment itself was clean, well furnished and maintained. There is also Sainsbury supermarket just adjacent to the building. But unless you can put up with the noise of passing trains, please avoid staying here.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moorthi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownLawn, Manager at Point West Apartments by Crown Lawn, responded to this review, 21 March 2011
Hello,
We are sorry to hear about your bad experience whilst staying at Point West. It is regrettable that some of the apartments on lower floors do face the train tracks, if you are planning to stay inside your apartment during the day time, it's advisable to ask Crown Lawn for an apartment on a higher floor (where the trains can't really be heard), or better still we can allocate an apartment on the other side of the block (where available).
The development known as Point West is a large residential block with 500+ apartments.
At one stage there were many companies operating 'serviced apartments' in Point West, but now I know of just three companies with property here, our company Crown Lawn is one of them (we have 55 apartments at Point West). Crown Lawn's apartments are furnished to high standard with modern furnishings and contemporary décor. By the sounds of it you rented an apartment owned by Serviced Stays or Serviced lets, this is not a reputable company see other bad review on this site.
If a guest brings something to to our attention it's always our intention to rectify the problem right away, or (where available) offer an alternate apartment. Don't just take our word for it, we're featured on all of the top apartment booking websites from citybase to silverdoor to quality london apartments - contact any for a testimonial.

Once again we're sorry that your experience was not a good one.

Kind regards,

Head of Marketing and Sales
Crown Lawn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Castle Donington - Derby
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

Getting out of Gloucester road tube station proved no problem, finding the apartments proved slightly more difficult, but, with the eager help of a cabbie stopped at a traffic light, we spent no more that 5 minutes walking to the apartment.

The apartment was on the 6th floor (7th for the Americans) with views across London from the Wholefood shop on South Kensington, the top of the Albert Memorial, the Gherkin, a sliver of a view of the Big Ben tower, Millbank, and Battersea power stsation (disused). There were some rather nice houses on the north side of the apartments, well worth a walk over to the wholfood shop just to look at the elegant two storey houses (and the cars!!!).

The apartment was, as you may have gathered, on the outside of the building, beware those looking into the central courtyard! check first.

The apartment was clean, tidy, well supplied with equipment although the array of glasses and cutlery did leave a little to be desired. There was a kitchen, dining area, lounging area, two bedrooms and two bathrooms. All of whic were impeccably clean.

The one thing that struck us on arriving was that there were no basic supplies, such as salt, pepper, dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid, but you could have housekeeping supply the items (no doubt at a great extra cost!

You could buy everything at either sainsburys in the same block as the apartmet, or at Waitrose on the way back from the tube station. There was a nice french style bakery opposite the tube, just right for croissants and coffee.

Our visit was to the opera with dinner after at Chez Gerards, always good. The Picasso exhibition, well worth the visit and to the play War Horse - surprisingly exciting and believable!

One drawback of the apartmetn that we stayed inwas that the underground line ran almost underneath the block and thus there was a bit of noise at odd times.

All in all, a great 4 night stay at a great price (£50 per person per night).

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2009

A search of apartments in the South Kensington area revealed a number of web-sites who take bookings for Point West. We dealt with Quality London Apartments.

Prior to our stay, our contact at QLA was helpful and gave advice on local amenities and transport arrangements.

Point West is well located and only a five minute walk from Gloucester Road station.

A Sainsbury's is in the same complex as Point West. Restaurants and other amenities all close by.

Reception at Point West whilst friendly enough were of little assisstance during our stay. We were told to contact our agent if we had any concerns, which fortunately we did not.

The apartment was clean and only a few minor matters were disapointing.

No dishwashing liquid or sponge was on offer to get you started in the kitchen which is the norm when staying in a serviced apartment. (Shampoo and soap was provided in bathroom). Refrigerator had a terrible ordour which would be a big deal if you were staying a while

We stayed in an apartment on the 5th floor which overlooked Gloucester Road from a distance. .

Due to the short nature of our stay (3 days) we were not offered any cleaning service. I don' know if you get cleaning if you book for longer.

A representative (who told us he was a cleaner) turned up unannounced to collect the balance of our rent which was only a problem because he wanted the balance in cash. Unfortunately, we had to ask him to return.

Apart from the initial contact with the Agent, it was disappointing to have no contact with them after we arrived. (I kept checking our emails during our stay). They were however professional and cooperative at all times.

We would stay here again. We enjoyed the flexibility of having our own place for a few days and being able to do our own washing and ironing.

  • Liked — Excellent location, well maintained and spacious
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SAMASSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYDNEY
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2009

We are a family of 4 (with 2 teenage children) and this 2 bedroom apartment was a wonderful option for us for our weeks stay in London. there is a 24hour conceirge desk manned which is great in this security building. The apartment was spacious and clean. There was a Sainsbury's underneath the apartment block as well as a Waitrose supermarket en route back from the Gloucester Road Tube station which we found very handy. The rooms were good with built ins in both rooms so you can unpack and relax instead of living out of a suitcase. The lounge /dining area was spacious and comfortable and the heating was excellent. The kitchen was fairly well equipped including a washing machine and a dishwasher. This was very handy for a family allowing us to do breakfast & dinner at home if we were worn out from the day's sightseeing (quick easy ready made meals found in Waitrose where everyone could choose what they wanted and cooked quickly back at the apartment). We saved a lot considering London is such an expensive city to eat & drink. The bathroom had both shower & bath which was great though the hot water system wasn't as large as we are used to. Excellent location for easy access to Paddington, Notting Hill, Westminster, etc as it is on the Circle and District lines which pretty much will get you all around the city without having to change too much at all. Will definitely consider going back to the Point West Apartments when we return to London some day.

  • Liked — The convenience of the apartment and space it allowed a family with teenagers
  • Disliked — Lack of hot water & no clothes drying rack
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank LYNDHURST4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daylesford, Australia
Level Contributor
459 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 969 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2006

The apartment consisted of bedroom (Q bed), hallway, lounge/dining area, kitchen, bathroom. The strengths are the excellent location next to Gloucester Rd tube station, on a bus line, above a supermarket, in a good restauirant and residential area, close to internet cafes, 15 mins walk from museums and Hyde Park. It was great for us as we went to the theatres each day and walked innner London

The downsides are small bathroom, badly designed shower/bath, some neglect in cleaning (flat batteries, average cleaning), poor ventilation when heating is on

Helpful?
15 Thank RetiredWazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Collingham Serviced Apartments
South Kensington
Ashburn Court Apartments
Ashburn Court Apartments
#641 of 1,067 in London
34 reviews
South Kensington
Presidential Apartments Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Cromwell Road One
Cromwell Road One
#497 of 842 in London
11 reviews
South Kensington
The Harrington
The Harrington
#80 of 842 in London
276 reviews
South Kensington
Oxbridge Apartments
Oxbridge Apartments
#161 of 842 in London
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point West Apartments by Crown Lawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point West Apartments by Crown Lawn

Property: Point West Apartments by Crown Lawn
Address: Point West 116 Cromwell Road, London SW7 4XB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 842 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Point West Apartments by Crown Lawn 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These deluxe studio, one and two bedroom Kensington serviced apartments, recently refurbished in 2010, are situated just a five minute walk from Gloucester Road tube station and a twenty minute drive from London Heathrow airport. You can find a variety of quality restaurants and bars on nearby Gloucester Road. These Kensington serviced apartments are fully equipped with a spacious living area and full kitchens as well as a bathroom and bedroom, there is everything you need for a comfortable, relaxing stay. There is a weekly maid service included in the rates. On-site parking is available at GBP 20.00 per night per vehicle and each serviced apartment has freeview television, DVD players and stereo systems. We also provide free Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Point West Apartments by Crown Lawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point West Apartments By Crown Lawn Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing