We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of 54 Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
54 Boutique Hotel
Ranked #521 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 13 May 2014

For London, our room as huge. Our deluxe double twin room was very spacious and well suited for two adults and a youngish child to sleep in one bed. We had a lovely (if somewhat noisy) view of the Natural History Museum and the walk to South Kensington underground station is only about 7- 10 minutes.
The biggest drawback was that the elevator did not reach the third level and the stairs were quite narrow and windy to manouever. But all said and done, we managed the heave the luggage and our weary, London-walking bodies up each evening.
In addition, the breakfast room and breakfast was a bit disappointing. After the first day, we choice to eat out.
Would we go back? Maybe. It would depend on the price.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room for more spce.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebearsofgermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54manager, General Manager at 54 Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I am glad you were happy with the room and your stay in general. I was disappointed to read that you did not like the breakfast. we do our best to make sure we have a choice of foods on our continental buffet. I will look into this and see what we can change. The lift unfortunately does only go so far but that's due to the style and age of the building a common thing in London unless you stay in a modern build. I do hope we can welcome you back. thanks
regards
James Menhinick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

280 - 286 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

Firstly, the location is superb.
Secondly, after doing some searching I went to the hotel's own website and saw they did a special where I paid for two nights and got the third free.
Thirdly, the single room was actually very small but the manager was able to move me to a larger single for the remaining two nights at no extra cost.
There's no hot breakfast unfortunately but a generous selection of cereals, fruits and yogurts.
All in all, a very good experience at a very good price. And free wifi.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoizyLoizy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54manager, General Manager at 54 Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am glad to read that the staff here took good care of you. Our single room is the smallest room types we have but for business and one night stays in London they are in my opinion perfect. For longer stays i would recommend a double. I hope we welcome you back when you next visit London.
Kind regards
James Menhinick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We had a large and beautiful room. Superb location and nice sunny breakfast all for a very good price indeed!
The bathroom wasn't as new as the room but still Ok. The Toilet lid was broken but I noticed i had been fixed the next day!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Valérie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54manager, General Manager at 54 Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for your kind review. I appreciate your feedback as it allows us to better our product and service.
Kind regards
James Menhinick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Hotel was very clean and surprisingly quiet.
Very good location for the museums and Royal Albert Hall. Fairly close to South Kensington tube, especially if you use the museum subways.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Would certainly use again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dse100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54manager, General Manager at 54 Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for your kind review. Always glad to read about a friendly team! i hope we can welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards
James Menhinick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

A great hotel in a good central location. We were visiting the Albert Hall and this hotel was spot on for location. As a bonus we found that the Natural History Museum was over the road.
Very friendly and helpful staff .Our room was located on a basement floor which was unusual but it was great. room was clean, modern , spacious and very comfortable.
We highly recommend 54 Boutique. We will be staying again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Norman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54manager, General Manager at 54 Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you had a good stay with us and I am happy to read that you will be coming back again. Please feel free to contact us directly should you wish to book again and we will be happy to have you back with us.
Kind regards
James Menhinick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Great hotel, great location and really friendly genuine staff. Perfect for a sightseeing trip to London and/or romantic break away. Great views of the National History museum and so close to two tube stations.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globepaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54manager, General Manager at 54 Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I am glad you had a nice time and I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
James Menhinick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed in this lovely hotel for the second time. Both stay were awesome, the hotel is in one of London nicest areas, walking distance to the Hyde Park and to the Gloucester Road tube Station. The rooms are very unique, clean and modern. It is really a treat to stay in this venue. They offer a nice continental breakfast for a low price and you will find everything, you need for a good start in the day. The staff is very friendly and helpful, specially Greg who served us drinks in the bar.

I just can recommend this hotel, if you are looking for a small, clean, friendly and special place for a London trip.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54manager, General Manager at 54 Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Its nice to hear that the staff Greg in particular were helpful and polite. We pride ourselves on great service and I hope we can welcome you back for a 3rd visit some time soon. I will make sure Greg is given the positive feedback and I'm sure he will appreciate it.
Kind regards
James Menhinick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#379 of 1,077 in London
1,027 reviews
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
The Gore – Starhotels Collezione
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#149 of 1,077 in London
912 reviews
South Kensington
The Gainsborough Hotel
The Gainsborough Hotel
#808 of 1,077 in London
486 reviews
South Kensington
Grange Strathmore Hotel
Grange Strathmore Hotel
#505 of 1,077 in London
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 54 Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 54 Boutique Hotel

Address: 54 Queen's Gate | South Kensington, London SW7 5JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#190 Romantic Hotel in London
#225 Business Hotel in London
#324 Luxury Hotel in London
#350 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £95 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 54 Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
54 Boutique Hotel is a traditional townhouse with its own special qualities. Our guests find a quiet sanctuary from the hustle & bustle of London where they can relax in comfort. The 26 rooms and suites are decorated in contemporary style with modern sandstone and black granite bathrooms with gleaming chrome power showers. All rooms have air-conditioning, a modern ensuite bathroom, Free Wi-Fi internet access and flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your 54 Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
54 Boutique London
Hotel 54 Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing