We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday celebration”
Review of 54 Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
54 Boutique Hotel
Ranked #480 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Lydney
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Birthday celebration”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I recently took my mother to London for her 80th birthday...so wanted to chose a quiet but well located hotel. 54 boutique hotel fitted the requirements exactly. A quiet but well appointed small hotel near museaums, tube and hyde park. Just the job.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are the quietest. Basement room below the lounge whist well appointed and a good s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AldridgeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54manager, General Manager at 54 Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I hope the birthday trip was a memorable one and congratulations to your mother on her 80th Birthday.
Kind regards
James Menhinick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    271
    75
    33
    23
See reviews for
68
286
64
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Deciding between this hotel and a few other boutique and large hotels in the area, and even some airbnb offers - this came up as the best value around. And having stayed we're pleased we cames here not least due to the warmth and helpfulness of the staff.
Ps it's worth upgrading to the delux double room with balcony.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Potate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54manager, General Manager at 54 Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your review and I am glad you chose us from the many options available to you and i hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. We always have some great offers on our site so feel free to have a look.
Kind regards
James Menhinick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Perfect location for museums, I travelled here for a long weekend with my teenage son. Hotel is small but unique and would definitely stay again as also close to restaurant's and the tube station. Felt very safe in this part of London.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellybelly7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54manager, General Manager at 54 Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay and I hope we can welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards
James Menhinick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio City, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Definitely will recommend to others. The hotel was on a cute street, near a tube stop, and only a few blocks from good restaurants.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the room was clean and comfortable. Very quiet at night!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank t k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54manager, General Manager at 54 Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review and for referring us to friends and family. we would love t have you back soon. I see you stayed on one of our offers, these offers change frequently so please feel free to visit our website soon as we will have a new website from the end of this month.
Kind regards
James Menhinick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This was a great location for our business trip, and reasonably priced with a special spring offer. The hotel was clean and tastefully decorated. Friendly staff, excellent service. Simple but tasty continental breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54manager, General Manager at 54 Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us it is much appreciated. I am glad your stay was a pleasant one and i hope we can welcome you back soon
Kind regards
James Menhinick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The hotel is very nice, in a great location. I stayed in a deluxe room, which is spacious and quiet. The cleanliness is excellent, and the breakfast is very good. The only problem was that my room was located on the fourth floor and the elevator only went to the second floor, so I had to climb long stairs. The staff are very atendiosos and available.
I recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marcos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54manager, General Manager at 54 Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review. unfortunately with these grand old houses the lift is always a slight issue. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and i Hope we can welcome you back soon. our new website will be live soon at the end of the month so please have a browse.
Kind regards
James Menhinick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

For London, our room as huge. Our deluxe double twin room was very spacious and well suited for two adults and a youngish child to sleep in one bed. We had a lovely (if somewhat noisy) view of the Natural History Museum and the walk to South Kensington underground station is only about 7- 10 minutes.
The biggest drawback was that the elevator did not reach the third level and the stairs were quite narrow and windy to manouever. But all said and done, we managed the heave the luggage and our weary, London-walking bodies up each evening.
In addition, the breakfast room and breakfast was a bit disappointing. After the first day, we choice to eat out.
Would we go back? Maybe. It would depend on the price.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room for more spce.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebearsofgermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54manager, General Manager at 54 Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I am glad you were happy with the room and your stay in general. I was disappointed to read that you did not like the breakfast. we do our best to make sure we have a choice of foods on our continental buffet. I will look into this and see what we can change. The lift unfortunately does only go so far but that's due to the style and age of the building a common thing in London unless you stay in a modern build. I do hope we can welcome you back. thanks
regards
James Menhinick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#371 of 1,069 in London
975 reviews
South Kensington
The Gore Hotel
The Gore Hotel
#246 of 1,069 in London
1,532 reviews
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#368 of 1,069 in London
1,135 reviews
South Kensington
Grange Strathmore Hotel
Grange Strathmore Hotel
#497 of 1,069 in London
756 reviews
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#418 of 1,069 in London
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 54 Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 54 Boutique Hotel

Property: 54 Boutique Hotel
Address: 54 Queen's Gate | South Kensington, London SW7 5JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#190 Romantic Hotel in London
#225 Business Hotel in London
#310 Luxury Hotel in London
#351 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — 54 Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
54 Boutique Hotel is a traditional townhouse with its own special qualities. Our guests find a quiet sanctuary from the hustle & bustle of London where they can relax in comfort. The 26 rooms and suites are decorated in contemporary style with modern sandstone and black granite bathrooms with gleaming chrome power showers. All rooms have air-conditioning, a modern ensuite bathroom, Free Wi-Fi internet access and flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your 54 Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
54 Boutique London
Hotel 54 Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing