We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional English hotel”
Review of 54 Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
54 Boutique Hotel
Ranked #543 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Good and peaceful location, easy to reach directly from Heathrow by Piccadilly Line to South Kensington, also the Gloucester Road station near. Friendly staff, nice rooms (deluxe rooms) and good beds, worth of every penny... :) Only minus thing was that the elevator does not go to upper floors and you must climb the stairs, as we had the room on the fourth floor.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tuija L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54manager, General Manager at 54 Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your review. The lift does seem to be a bit of an issue but in these old London townhouse buildings we are a little restricted with lift size and height. we try our best to offer all the help we can with things like luggage but it is an item I can't change unfortunately. I am glad though that apart from that you had a good stay. I do hope we can welcome you back again soon. Kind regards James Menhinick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Middle of road hotel, looks great on the web, in person it's a strange place, poor communication from staff, terrible breakfast, even worse coffee, room was ok, not what I would say delux??
nothing I would say stood out, would not stay again, premier inn is nicer, or holiday inn, it just is soulless.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Staticlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54manager, General Manager at 54 Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We always try our best to make stays enjoyable. I do hope we might get the chance to welcome you back again so you can have a better experience. Kind regards James Menhinick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I read a lot of reviews here and noticed the older ones were hateful, but more recent ones were good, so I gave the place the benefit of the doubt as my usual haunt, The Knightsbridge Hotel was a bit pricey due to Wimbleton.

We had 2 double rooms from 6/22/14-6/25/14

Great location. Super close to the park, which made our daily walks easy.
They gave us free breakfast. It was pretty normal stuff. hard boiled eggs, cereal, yogurt etc.
Rooms were a little small, but not a big deal. TV on the wall looked like a laptop screen but clear picture.

Bathroom was fine.

Everything was clean.

The elevator is teenie tiny and I would LOVE to see the maximum 4 people fit in it.
Lets just say that even two people could accidentally make a baby in there.

We had to wait until noon to get one room and 4pm to get the other. Not so much fun when u land at 730am from the USA.

The current staff were fabulous and friendly, especially the late manager, Mohammed.

I felt it was great value for the money and a nice place to stay.

I would have no problem going back.

Room Tip: I requested no basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54manager, General Manager at 54 Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your review. I can happily confirm that as of yet no babies have resulted form a trip in our lift! It is I admit a small lift but in these old buildings that's all we can fit. I am happy that the staff looked after you well and that your stay was a good one. I do hope we can welcome you back in the future when you come back to the UK. Kind regards James Menhinick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great location, near the park and near the South Kensington Tube stop and all of the restaurants and pubs. Service is great, unobtrusive but very helpful. Rooms are clean, quiet and spacious. I love coming back here.....

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 2manynights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54manager, General Manager at 54 Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your great review. I am very happy to see you love the place and we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards
James Menhinick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We visited London for a short break and stayed in the hotel for three nights. Arrived to check-in and were immediately upgraded to a room with a balcony, which was great, particularly as it was quite warm in London while we were there. The staff were efficient and friendly at all times. The location is excellent, right next to the Natural History Museum and just a short walk from the Science Museum and other attractions.

We didn't eat in the hotel, preferring to use local cafes and restaurants (of which there are plenty), so I can't comment on the quality of food.

The hotel was very clean and tidy, although the room cleaning staff seem to have a habit of moving personal belongings around the room, which resulted in a brief panic when we couldn't find something at one point. Eventually found it, though, just not where we left it.

Would happily recommend this hotel to family or friends if they were coming to London.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54manager, General Manager at 54 Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am glad that you had a nice stay. Reading your comments we have had a word with our housekeeping team as they sometimes move items in order to clean and sometimes may not replace the item in its place. we have instructed them to make sure that items always be put back in their place once the room is clean so hopefully that has resolved that small issue. I hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards
James Menhinick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We needed somewhere to stay after a night out in London. The location was perfect. The receptionist was very efficient and welcoming. The room was well-appointed and clean. We will definitely be going back and recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Penelope2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54manager, General Manager at 54 Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

I like the title! I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we can welcome you back soon. Please feel free to contact the hotel directly. Thank you
Kind regards
James Menhinick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Lovely friendly service, our room was on the 2nd floor. Clean, spacious and well presented.
A very welcoming atmosphere and genuinely lovely staff. The hotel was surprisingly quite considering its location which was nice and only a short walk to the Royal Albert Hall.
We went for a short getaway to explore London and to watch a performance at the Albert Hall and can happily say I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The Deluxe Suit is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54manager, General Manager at 54 Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

I am very glad to have read that your stay was enjoyable and I do hope we we can welcome you back in the future. Feel free to visit our new website when you get a minute and are looking to return to London.
Kind Regards
James Menhinick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#379 of 1,081 in London
1,046 reviews
South Kensington
Grange Strathmore Hotel
Grange Strathmore Hotel
#516 of 1,081 in London
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#146 of 1,081 in London
951 reviews
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#487 of 1,081 in London
618 reviews
South Kensington
The Gore – Starhotels Collezione
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 54 Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 54 Boutique Hotel

Address: 54 Queen's Gate | South Kensington, London SW7 5JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#189 Romantic Hotel in London
#224 Business Hotel in London
#331 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £176 - £806 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 54 Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
54 Boutique Hotel is a traditional townhouse with its own special qualities. Our guests find a quiet sanctuary from the hustle & bustle of London where they can relax in comfort. The 26 rooms and suites are decorated in contemporary style with modern sandstone and black granite bathrooms with gleaming chrome power showers. All rooms have air-conditioning, a modern ensuite bathroom, Free Wi-Fi internet access and flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your 54 Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
54 Boutique London
Hotel 54 Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing