We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and staff smiling!”
Review of 54 Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
54 Boutique Hotel
Ranked #517 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have just spent two nights at no 54 (I know the area well as grew up nearby, hence the choice) and have to say it was a lovely and happy stay. We had two rooms, one double and one twin (for teenage boys) and although they were at the top of the house - therefore, a long walk after walking around London! - the rooms were very comfortable and the views over the Natural History Museum was a bonus. Breakfast is described as 'continental" but was definitely more than that and a lovely fresh array of fruit, pastries, eggs, ham and cheese each morning with freshly made coffee and tea. Beds were comfortable and the location as quiet and had a/c which was an added bonus. We had booked under the summer special offer and also got an Oyster card for £20 each which was a necessity. Staff were happy, helpful and smiling. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank JP09_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (637)
There are newer reviews for 54 Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 230 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Lovely hotel, friendly staff, good service, nice area. Helpful recommendation on the hotel web site. We had a small, but clean and quit room (Nr. 18). Restaraunts, pusb, bus- and tube stations near by the hotel. We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vera D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This was our second stay at 54 Boutique Hotel and we highly recommend it. The welcome, the service and the room are all second to none and the location is brilliant. Near enough to get to the shops and theatres and yet very quiet for a great night's sleep. We stayed in room 6 and enjoyed the large terrace which is a great little sun trap. The breakfast was good and even though we were last to have our breakfast the staff make you feel very relaxed and give you a 'no-need-to-rush' sense, a great start to the day.

Room Tip: Room 6 has the large terrace with seating :)
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SFLawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was a perfect base for our four night visit to the Proms, situated in a lovely tree lined street and only a 10 minute walk to the Royal Albert Hall. Also of course ideal for the nearby museums. The hotel has 26 rooms, free wifi which is fast. Rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable. If you have luggage or immobile you will want to know that there are 4 floors but the lift only goes to the second floor, then it is a walk up stairs to the top floor. We were in room 26 at the top and the room faced the back and was very quiet. The air con worked fine. Bathroom was very nice, a good shower and toiletries. Bed very comfortable and we will definitely stay again if the prices are good. Highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I just spent three nights there... and since the moment I walked in and saw the little window they have for reception I realize I had made a mistake.
The location is probably the best thing of this hotel, not about 5 minutes walk from Gloucester Rd. metro station, and right next to the Natural History Museum.
I got a room in the basement... which really dissappointed me. The room was a queen bed size and a corridor around:TINY. The window faced a huge wall and a back stairs, and though the lower part of the window was translucent, the superior was clear... and I have to bend down one time because I was half naked and somebody was coming down at the stairs.
The air conditioning was terribly noisy, so I couldn´t keep it on at night, and then the room was too stuffy to sleep.
The bathroom was just ok, though with clear wearing of things.
I thought it was terribly overprice and definetly not 4 stars... but then, I remembered that I was in London, and most hotels are overprice, and that for making it a real comparative, you should rest one star from what they say they have.

Definetly not coming back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michigato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54manager, General Manager at 54 Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you first of all for taking the time to raise your issues. I am just sorry that these points were not raised while you were here so we could have made some changes. Your room was on our lower ground floor with a window onto the outside of the property. it faces the property next door. I am somewhat surprised to read that you saw someone outside your room as it is not a frequented area. I can only apologize for the fact that you had a less than enjoyable stay. I have taken note of your comments and will see what we can do to improve them.
Kind regards
James Menhinick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Finding a convenient hotel for an occasional night in London can be pot luck, whatever you read in the reviews. Other people usually have different ideas about service, and facilities. On this occasion, the words matched the pictures. No nonsense, well equipped, clean, well serviced with polite and helpful staff. I would recommend 54 for anyone who needs a base in or near Chelsea or Kensington.

Room Tip: Just ask! rooms are quiet, with windows. Which cannot be assumed for budget hotels in London.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Malcolm A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

First time staying here. Had a dinner appointment in Knightsbridge, so location was perfect. Also, was able to get rooms for GBP 99/night, which was a bargain compared to other hotels in the area.

The hotel is small, and single rooms are also small, but has everything you need. Even room for a desk if you are unfortunate and have to work. Did not have a chance to test breakfast.

I would definitely go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel. Be aware, Lower Ground floor rooms have views into a brick...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thorhansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#376 of 1,072 in London
998 reviews
South Kensington
The Gore Hotel
The Gore Hotel
#251 of 1,072 in London
1,549 reviews
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Grange Strathmore Hotel
Grange Strathmore Hotel
#508 of 1,072 in London
765 reviews
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#375 of 1,072 in London
1,159 reviews
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#488 of 1,072 in London
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 54 Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 54 Boutique Hotel

Address: 54 Queen's Gate | South Kensington, London SW7 5JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#190 Romantic Hotel in London
#225 Business Hotel in London
#321 Luxury Hotel in London
#351 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £112 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 54 Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
54 Boutique Hotel is a traditional townhouse with its own special qualities. Our guests find a quiet sanctuary from the hustle & bustle of London where they can relax in comfort. The 26 rooms and suites are decorated in contemporary style with modern sandstone and black granite bathrooms with gleaming chrome power showers. All rooms have air-conditioning, a modern ensuite bathroom, Free Wi-Fi internet access and flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your 54 Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
54 Boutique London
Hotel 54 Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing