We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting and dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Regency Court Hotel
Ranked #1,033 of 1,067 Hotels in London
montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disgusting and dirty”
Reviewed 8 October 2007

I've stayed at some budget hotels in my time but nothing as disgusting as this place. Tiny tiny room which still cost 40 pounds a night, filthy carpets covered with patches of other filthy carpets and smelly *bloodstained* covers on the bed.
The creepy guy at the front desk took some kind of liking to me because he showed up at my door 5 times in one night with offers to chat or eat expired pudding cups he had bought me from the fridge. The last time he knocked on my door it was almost 1 am and I was so paranoid staying even one night that I piled all my luggage in front of the door so that no one could get in.
Do not go here! There are tons of other hotels on the same street that actually cost less and are WAY better.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — filthy
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank krushvillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    1
    6
    5
    39
See reviews for
6
10
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2007

I truly am a very easy going traveler and have stayed in all types of places and never, ever been treated as badly or stayed in a place as bad and rude as this.
The front desk man was extremely rude and basically threw a room key at me when I came in. It ends up he gave me the keys to the wrong room and so when I arrived that evening to go to bed was told I had to pack up all my things and move immediately to another room, was told I would be given a discount for my troubles and then they played dumb when I was checking out.
On top of that you leave your room keys with them and when I came and went I constantly was being given wrong keys which made going up and down from reception and being looked at like I was a nuisance when it was their error every time. On top of that bathroom was dirty, the maid decided to empty a plastic bag I had in the room with my stuff in it and use it as a trash bag and leave it for me, and a window was left open by the maid so bugs were in there from the trash cans outside my window.

Basically probably one of the worst experiences in a hotel ever. I like to usually expect no high level of luxury with getting a hotel so cheap in london but truly i would ward anyone thinking of this place to stay away its not worth any of your money.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank VisitingUSAstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 January 2005

I recently stayed there myself. This place is a total scam, I cant believe anyone could post a positive review of this establishment. It was filthy, the toilet was broken and the shower didnt work. I had to pay in advance and couldnt get my money back, I left anyways.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2004

I saw the photos and thought it looked lovely, as I really wanted to spend less money this time. It was horrible, horrible. The toilet didn't work, the sink was stuck, there was no cold water as the hane was stuck, it was dirty everywhere, they demanded two nights pay in advance, and an additional 5 pounds for a horrible breakfast.

Helpful?
9 Thank Jannike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 November 2004

after staying in this hotel from 21st to 25th of october i have to subscribe to the view of the other reviewers - a terrible hotel - NEVER AGAIN we knew that it was a budget accomodation, so we accepted lot of things: very small and dirty rooms, thin walls, toilet was working sometimes, bathroom less than 1m2, breakfast was very poor

the last night we stayed there water was coming through the roof and this was too much
when we complained they told us to be quiet - otherwise they will call the police!

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2004

* dirty rooms
* tiny rooms
* thin walls
* toilet was working sometimes
* the breakfast was a joke
* water was coming through the roof
* when we complained about the bad situation - after a lenghty discussion, where i started to take some photos, we where threatened with police

NEVER AGAIN!

Helpful?
6 Thank Mango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 August 2004

This hotel was clean, comfortable with bright rooms and friendly staff. We stayed at this hotel in room 4, a twin ensuite a few months ago and also in Summer 2003 in a double ensuite and loved it. We are planning another trip to London next year and will be booking in advance here. Great budget hotel with fabulous room rates!!!
It has a lovely kitchenette available for guest use 24 hours and feels like home away from home...........:)

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#853 of 1,067 in London
717 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#730 of 1,067 in London
416 reviews
Earls Court
Hotel Rushmore
Hotel Rushmore
#591 of 1,067 in London
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#693 of 1,067 in London
270 reviews
Earls Court
Windsor House Hotel
Windsor House Hotel
#976 of 1,067 in London
578 reviews
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#532 of 1,067 in London
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Court Hotel

Property: Regency Court Hotel
Address: 14 Penywern Road, London SW5 9ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,033 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Regency Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Regency Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing