We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grange Portland Hotel
Ranked #590 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Quiet Oasis”
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Pluses: Good location near British Museum, pubs, shops, and the Tube. Wide comfortable bed, window onto lovely garden, quiet, generally courteous service, very clean, good buffet breakfast, window curtains thick and wide to block all light for sleeping. Minuses: Tub/shower faucets hard to use, desk chair cushion too low and squishy to write comfortably at desk, breakfast extra except on weekends (I had to leave so early Sunday for airport that I couldn't make the free breakfast, so I asked to have my Friday breakfast free instead, denied).

Room Tip: Prefer room 1 and 2 (no elevator).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EJW8191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    82
    25
    5
    7
See reviews for
21
57
20
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
IronDukeNI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

One of my favourite hotels in London. I travel regularly for work and look to book this hotel every time and even plan to stay the weekend with my wife just before Christmas.

Located off the main streets at Holborn it offers a quiet location with efficient and friendly staff. Rooms can vary in size but are of excellent quality and nice bathroom facilities. Nice decor and peace and quiet at night.

Perfect for the business traveller or couple - not sure about families, you'd need to make sure the rooms are big enough.

5minutes walk from Holborn Tube, and 10mins from Covenant Garden and down into Leicester Square.

Room Tip: If you cant get booked into The Portland, there are other hotels of the same chaing (Grange) on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IronDukeNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We had noticed the hotels on Bedford Place on previous visits to London and were impressed by how handy they were for Russell Square Tube, The British Museum and Covent Garden area. The majority of the hotels are owned by Grange Hotels. Ours was a clean, very spacious and well furnished room on the third floor. Hotel facilities were good with very helpful reception staff. The only slight quibble was the standard continental breakfast with quite a high charge for an cooked breakfast. However there are excellent local cafe's within 10 minutes walk which provided very good value for money. We will certainly try and use this hotel or one in the same group when we visit London next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

excellent very large room with mini kitchen,. reception staff friendly and helpfull, evening meal £20 but breakfast £25 per person a bit too expensive. the gardens at the end of the road have an excellent cafe open from 7am that do a very good breakfast at a much more sensible price

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I always like to add something new to the reviews for hotels but the Portland seems to have all bases covered in previous reviews.

So in essence....

Pro's - Big bedroom (room 101), large comfy bed, very airy, very quiet, nice clean bathroom and a good sleep was had after a 4 mile night walk to settle down.

Cons - I asked for an iron and ironing board and had to chase it down an hour later, breakfast is in the next door building which is nice if its sunny but there is the potential for getting wet in a downpour as there are no interconnecting doors to the building. I cannot believe in this day and age that hotels still charge for wifi. £10.00 for 24 hour access.

The staff were friendly, the breakfast was plentiful and well presented and all in all a pleasant stay was had. I would return...if wifi was free!!!!

Room Tip: I was in room 101, it was large and spacious and the bed was large and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mj2000uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Had a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the garden, which was very nice. The room itself was very large, with a desk and chair, 2 other chairs and an occasional table and a sofa with a coffee table - so it felt really well appointed. The decor is traditional but this seems to add to the charm. I was asked to submit my credit card for "extras and incidents", when I asked what incidents could mean I was not given a satisfactory answer - so declined. This was the only quibble I had as the hotel is very nice and close to the British Museum, the tube and other attractions. Breakfast is partly self service, with the cooked element made to order - very nice. I asked for an extra pot of coffee and this was provided very quickly.

Room Tip: the hotel is full of twists, turns and corridors and can be confusing. Ask for something at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monkeyHartlepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
190 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I booked this hotel at the relatively last minute to see a friend swim in the Olympics, and was truly charmed! It is part of a complex of hotels in a block of rowhouses, part of the Grange Hotel network. I was amazed to book this place two weeks before the Olympics at a very reasonable price, given London prices. I worried -- will this place be a dump?

I was VERY pleased. The location can't be beat -- a safe neighborhood, a half-block from lovely Russell Square, and a five-minute walk from a Tube station on the Piccadilly line. The rooms are well appointed and spotlessly clean, if quite small (at least my single in the basement was). But this is London; rooms are much like in New York. Service was terrific and helpful; any problems I had were quickly addressed. Breakfast is available in the next, adjoining hotel and is quite good. (I paid extra -- worth it for the range of options and convenience.)

My only complaint? Charging 20 pounds for a full day's access to wifi is exorbitant.

But that is it. I fell in love with London, and if I return (which I hope to), I would probably stay here. It was a charming place!

Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Douglas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Buckingham Hotel
Grange Buckingham Hotel
#570 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#480 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#294 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Blooms Hotel
Grange Blooms Hotel
#577 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange White Hall Hotel
Grange White Hall Hotel
#580 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#675 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Portland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Portland Hotel

Property: Grange Portland Hotel
Address: 31-32 Bedford Place, London WC1B 5JH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #590 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Portland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grange Portland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing