We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grange Portland Hotel
Ranked #563 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Rosario, Argentina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

The hotel is really nice! I stayed there for just one night in september 2013. It has a huge bed, good decoration, and great attention from the people who worked at the hotel. Breakfast was also fine!
The only problem we had was that there was no air conditioner in the room, even though we had a premium room. We stayed in London during a really warm day and during the afternoon it was a problem. We also couldn't communicate abroad, we asked the receptionist who did her best to make it work but there was no way we could use the telephone.
Anyway, I recommend this hotel, probably not during summer, but for the rest of the time it's more than fine!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blonde_2189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    82
    23
    4
    7
See reviews for
21
57
20
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Anglia, UK
Level Contributor
458 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

I agree with the comment in August that "This is a generic large hotel cut up into smaller sections to feign "boutique" status. ". You have to walk down the road to a neighbouring hotel for breakfast - not a good idea in the rain. And whilst my room was comfortable, when I made coffee in the room, the milk portions must have been significantly outdated, as the milk flocculated when added to hot water. Quality control clearly isn't their thing here. But - itr's a convenient position, the staff are friendly. But it could be so much better.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidh of england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We were satisfied wih the hotel on the whole. It is in a grest location and close to many restaurants.The staff is pretty helpful but some did not speak or understand English very well, so we had a difficult time geting directions to places we wanted to go. The room was clean, the bed comortble, but the furniture, especially sofa, very uncomfortable.There is a microwave and refrigerator but not much else. Our room was on the street side so many noises like motorcycles and garbage trucks could be heard below our room.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room above the first level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle Hulme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed here previously and thought it was ok, this time for 1 night and arrived in the evening tired and ready to retire early for the night and watch some tv. The room was on the small side and just outside the lift on the 2nd floor. The tv had only 5 basic channels and the remote didn't work. Relatively good night sleep although woken several times with people coming out of the lift to their rooms in the early hours and loudish voices. Bathroom looking tired and very small. Only a short overnight stay and left early without breakfast but overall not impressed and overpriced, staff friendly though!

Room Tip: If given a room outside the lift - ask for a change as you may be woken in the night by noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MinecraftSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We decided to visit London and do the tourist thing. We wanted to be near the action and within easy reach of things. We chose this hotel after looking at reviews, thanks once again to Tripadvisor.

The hotel is very easy to get to on foot and is about 15 minutes walk from Euston station. On turning into the road where the hotel is, it reminded me of the game Monopoly. It was obvious that this hotel owned other property in the road and had put their corporate front on them. The buildings are hundreds of years old and look to be in excellent condition. They are very large terraced houses, which have kept their integrity on the outside but have been knocked through in places inside, to allow access.

As we entered the building we went through to the reception and then to our room. The building and our room are pleasantly decorated and clean although a little tired in places. Our room was one of contradictions. The bedroom was very spacious but the access via a tiny vestibule was a struggle with cases and spring-loaded doors to contend with. The bathroom was a good size but the toilet was against the wall with the toilet roll holder on the wall against your ribs. The bed was very comfortable and we would have slept well except for the single-pane traditional sash windows affording no protection from noise of traffic. There is a small ‘kitchenette’ built into cupboard, which was very useful, with tea/coffee/kettle/cups etc.

Breakfast was, as described by many reviews, down the road. It was plentiful and pleasant enough.

We found this hotel was great for Oxford Street and obviously the tube network. There are several traditional pubs and a few nice restaurants around the nearby British Museum or not far from it. We would use this hotel again but we’d ask for a quiet room at the back. The normal full price of the hotel is not worth it for what this is but at the right price it is perfectly adequate and pleasant enough.

Just a quick mention needs to be made for anyone with disabilities who relies on places being DDA compliant. There are a few steps leading to the front door so you’d have to check regarding another access for wheelchairs. Our bath had a shower in it and requires a ‘big step’ to get in. This would probably not suit older or disabled people but there may be walk-in showers in other rooms?

Room Tip: Get a room at the rear!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank merseyblue-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Nice place to stay as long as you don't stay in the basement rooms ! Mine was claustrophobic & the window wouldn't open so it was stifling ! Went back to Reception & given a very nice room on 1st floor instead.Lift wasn't working, but Reception did offer to carry my bags if needed.
Room upstairs was great - just as I would expect from this group of hotels.
Breakfast was next door in the Clarendon and was as good as ever.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back - but not in the. Basement !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceb346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

I had a single room for one night but was given a double (201) and was pleasantly surprised. The room was very spacious, had secent comfy bed, good quality sheets, flat screen tv, desk, table and 2 arm chairs, a bathroom with a bath, a fitted cupboard, and kitchenette (basically sink, kettle and microwave). There was a big window I could actually open, and two fans if I needed them. I thought the condition of the room was fine but maybe precious reviewers have had different rooms. The room was very quiet and overlooked the trees in the gardens at the back, so it was nice to hear birds and no traffic.

It is only a few minutes walk from Russel Square tube and there are shops and restaurants near there at the Brunswick.

As noted already the notice about thefts was a little disconcerting (especially as the main hotel door is locked and on a buzzer).

Service was fine, businesslike I suppose. In a small hotel you might expect it to be but more personable, but it was fine.

You pay to use the internet so free wifi would have been good, and I do think hotels shouldn't charge.

Breakfast was not included for me so i didnt bother but I did think the note in the lift was funny. It said that breakfast got busy at weekends 9-10 and so guests should go earlier! I think just extending breakfast eg to 10:30 on weekends might do the job instead.
For the price it is pretty good value given the standard of the rooms and location and you just need to be aware it's a small hotel so you might not get loads of extra facilities. I have stayed at a few other hotels in the area and this is the best in this price bracket. The Park/Doubletree costs a lot more and the rooms are tiny, and don't get me started on the Tavistock group!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cr135liv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Buckingham Hotel
Grange Buckingham Hotel
#572 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#467 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#295 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Blooms Hotel
Grange Blooms Hotel
#585 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange White Hall Hotel
Grange White Hall Hotel
#580 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#675 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Portland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Portland Hotel

Property: Grange Portland Hotel
Address: 31 - 32 Bedford Place, London WC1B 5JH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #563 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Portland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grange Portland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing