We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“totally disappointing hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grange Portland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grange Portland Hotel
Ranked #567 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“totally disappointing hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Had a family room with king size bed and sofa bed, king size bed comfy, sofa bed absolutely awful, got no sleep in it, mattress sank in middle very uncomfortable especially after what we paid. No way does it warrant 4*. Breakfast is very basic and poor purely continental breakfast not like other Grange hotels where they state continental breakfast but get a lot more choice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kshepherd_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Portland Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Sorry to hear that your expectations were not fully satisfied on this occasion. I hope you will consider staying with us on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    79
    23
    4
    7
See reviews for
20
56
19
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Mu husband and I were here for six nights, so I didn't want a very small room. This hotel proved to be the right choice; the double room was very comfortable, the location is good, with easy access to bus and tube stations. You have to walk down to the neighbor hotel for breakfast, which was not a problem, but it was summer.. And the price was very reasonable, given the size of the room and the overall quality of the service. Only two small problems: the room comes with a kitchenette which was great, but no closet.. And the wi fi is not free, it's very expensive.

Room Tip: The double room with a small kitchenette is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luazev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Portland Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
I am pleased to hear you found your room spacious and the hotel in a good location. I hope that you will consider using us again on your next trip to England.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

As a business traveler, this hotel was exactly what I needed. Clean room, close to two central underground stations. Walking distance from Oxford st(10mins walk).
They do not have a dining room so they send you to the next door hotel. About 20GBP.
For half that, I went to a near by diner...
Enjoy London it's great!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryannai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Portland Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Very good to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel and staff good and efficient.
Kind regards from sunny London!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is a small hotel, and the general feel is a very upmarket Bed and Breakfast, but with the reassurance that it is part of a bigger group of hotels, and so you do not get the idiosyncrasies you can with small establishments (for good and bad). We were a part of three. The double room we had was lovely and large, but the single room less so. However, it was good that the two rooms were near each other. Despite being on the lower floor it was lovely and light and neither room was disturbed by traffic or any other noise, which could have been a concern. Nice and clean, and the all the fixtures and fittings were in good order: TV worked well with a number of channels.

The walk down to the nearby sister hotel for breakfast was a nice twist, and the breakfast was good - lots to choose from in the continental selection (although some grapefruit would have been nice!). It was a fairly small dining space so I guess it could get crowded, but everyone was seated quickly.

Staff very friendly, and they looked after our bags after we checked out. Only small gripe was there was not free wifi: not a problem on this holiday, but I do think it should be standard in this type of establishment.

Excellent location for train stations, theatre land and central attractions, so I would highly recommend here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Historrygrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I was actually booked in the nearby Hotel Buckingham London which must be belonging to the same owner as the receptionist directed me to the Portland. There nothing really fancy about the hotel, it doesn't actually loo like a hotel but more like a nice looking residential apartment block.
The receptionist and staff were all very friendly, the room was nice with a view on the gardens. Even if the room was overlooking the street it would have been quite. There is a lovely square, called Bloomsbury Square, 3 min on foot and the Busy Holborn tube station with nice restaurant and pubs around (particularly liked the Shakespeare's Head).
So overall a nice hotel in a quite and convenient neighbourhood.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frenchfrog39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

A good hotel with large rooms. More hotels of the same owner in the street. Perfect for families to start your tour in London. Close to underground (200 mtr) and the hop on hop off bus stop (50 mtr) in the same street. Breakfast is good in the Clarendon hotel next door. A good restaurant (Spaghetti house) can be found in Sicilian Avenue, on your way to/from the underground (Holborn). Service of reception, concierge and other staff was very friendly. The only thing which was not good was the bar (in Clarendon hotel next door). Terrible seats and spotlights on. My tip: order a good bottle of wine (tip 2: pinot grigio) at the room service so you can enjoy before falling asleep in the beautiful room.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
171 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

In fairness, we were upgraded to a larger room (almost a junior suite) on arrival so that increased my opinion of this boutique hotel. It is a classic London hotel with helpful, friendly staff, a tasty breakfast (included in our rate), and it is clean and quaint. I know the regular rooms are small as some of our friends stayed in them. It is a great location, near Russell square, University College London, and the Holborn/Soho/Covent Garden areas. It also isn't too far to walk/run up to Regent's Park which is, in my opinion, the best large park in London. Wifi quality was mixed - my phone and computer were very fast, but my wife's computer had very slow service for some reason. It was reasonably priced; again, in fairness we had a conference rate which was probably better than the usual price. Fortunately it did not rain during our stay (hard to believe for London!), as from this hotel you have to walk outdoors to the nearby Clarendon hotel for breakfast (it is the next townhouse down).

Room Tip: We stayed in 303 which was a sort of junior suite - faces the street and was a BIT noisy given the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee_west
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Buckingham Hotel
Grange Buckingham Hotel
#568 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#446 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#309 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Blooms Hotel
Grange Blooms Hotel
#580 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange White Hall Hotel
Grange White Hall Hotel
#591 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#668 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Portland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Portland Hotel

Property: Grange Portland Hotel
Address: 31 - 32 Bedford Place, London WC1B 5JH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #567 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Portland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Grange Portland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing