We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, comfortable rooms but take ear plugs”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Orange Public House & Hotel
Ranked #158 of 556 London B&B and Inns
Newcastle
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Stylish, comfortable rooms but take ear plugs”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The food and service were spot on and walking upstairs to bed after dinner, instead of the tube, was a bonus. The room was stylish and very comfortable but as we were above the restaurant that served until midnight, it was very noisy. Our TV didn't work, so we couldn't use that as a distraction from the noise and we didn't get to grips with the air conditioning (the room was hot). The fan for the kitchen, on the roof opposite our window, made such a racket we couldn't leave the window open.

The manager was very receptive to the problems we raised and didn't charge us for breakfast, which was one of the best we have had. We stayed out quite late on our second night, mainly to avoid the noise, and the TV and air con was sorted when we arrived back, with ear plugs!

The pub and restaurant are excellent, but if staying the night, bear in mind the restaurant noise if you like to be asleep for 12.30am.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank millydog2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    26
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
11
19
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Had a really nice dinner, wine, and overall experience at Orange recently. It is a great spot in Pimlico and highly recommended for a bite to eat. The facility is beautiful, decor attractive, service attentive, and overall very good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tenmile1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The Orange is and has been for the past few years one of the 'hippest' places to be in Pimlico and greater Chelsea and the rooms here are a good value especially when compared to standard hotels. The current owners completed a restoration of the historic property thoughtfully by exposing brick and stripping away layers of paint to expose beautiful grain in original pine mouldings and flooring. As there are only several rooms you will be better served to book well in advance. The corner room is the best because it's quite large. Wifi is included. Baths are very modern and large in size (for London). Guests are treated well by restaurant staff for hard-to-get reservations. Regardless Warning: as one of the most popular restaurants in this part of London be sure to reserve in the restaurant early! Also, be reminded in case you will stay over a weekend it can be a bit noisy on Friday and Saturday nights as the place stays packed until way into the wee hours... .....but we found the muffled laughter and happy voices from below to be pleasant especially because it validated that we did not have to go anywhere because we were already wherre everyone wanted to be

Room Tip: Not too far to walk from Sloane Sq tube if you do not have too much baggage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris and Anita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Came here midday on a weekend for a light bite to eat and a few drinks with friends. We were fortunate to get a table, the place was bustling and there was a very family friendly atmosphere. The staff were particularly helpful and accommodating.

The Orange is part of the Cubitt House group that brings you other locals such as the Thomas Cubitt and the Pantechnicon. The Orange had a very different feel to both of those aforementioned places, where the other two are more businesslike and alcohol orientated you wouldn’t be ashamed to sit down, read a paper and drink a juice at The Orange.

I just had a chicken and butternut salad that seemed quite simple but was a beautifully orchestrated dish. A tad on the pricey side, £10 for a salad, but for the food you are getting I didn’t leave feeling that my pockets had been picked.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Butcher89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in the pimlico room as we were having a party at the Thomas Cubitt .
The room was beautiful, understated and elegant. Fab bed and bathroom and shower to die for.
Staff were incredible helpful and although we didn't eat there we had pre dinner drinks.
Would always stay there when we come into town now as felt very relaxed.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monkeymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bordeaux
Level Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Wow finally having tried The Harwood Fulham and others ... The Orange met all my expectations for seriously simple, wonderful top food and service! Just 10 out of 10 for everything ... Menu, decor, service and great food .... Booked to go back again on our last night here! Did not sleep there so cannot comment on accommodation ....

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piggy1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The Orange is a very happening gastropub with 4 rooms at the top. Nothing about this place resembles a traditional hotel. We had the Pimlico Room, and we loved it, but this place is not for everyone. There isn’t a traditional check-in desk, manager, or concierge, but rather the restaurant staff (managers) looks after the room guests. There is daily housekeeping and room service available. Every night there is a line of well heeled patrons waiting to get in to the restaurant, and it is bustling! This wasn't a problem for us, as we were always out or back up in our room after the restaurant had closed. The location is in tony Belgravia (you may be familiar with this district if you are a fan of the TV show, Sherlock) amongst fashionable little boutiques of both interior decor and clothing, restaurants, and condos. It’s also about a 15 minute walk to Victoria Station, and even closer to the Sloane Square Tube station. Our room looked out over Pimlico Rd, and just looking out the windows was entertaining. We watched the florist across the street construct the words “I miss you” in red roses, saw Camilla and her police escort pass by, and generally could people-watch from our “tower”.

It takes four flights of stairs to get to the rooms (no elevator, or “lift”), but the restaurant staff whisks up your luggage before you know it. Our room was spacious with high beamed ceilings, three large windows (two of which opened up), and bare wood floors. The overall feel was organic, natural, comfortable, perhaps best described as rustic-chic. Our desk was fitted with a bottle of still, and a bottle of sparkling water, a nice selection of teas, and freshly ground coffee for the French press. There is an armoire for belongings. The WiFi worked well, and is included in the price. The bed and bedding were fresh and comfy. Bathroom was natural wood and white marble, with a shower (nice rain-shower head), a towel warmer, and another large window that opened. I just loved their orange blossom scented bath amenities!

Having the restaurant below was convenient for breakfast - you didn’t have to go looking for a place to eat toast and jam or other breakfast treats - and we did make a late-night pizza dinner (they serve pizza up until closing, while the rest of the menu may be unavailable). The pizza was really excellent, as were the creative cocktails - I had the Chili Flake Margarita, straight up, yummy!

Staying here is like having your own chic flat in London with a hot restaurant downstairs.

Room Tip: Pimlico Room looks over Pimlico Rd. You can enjoy the feel of the neighborhood from here. We loved i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Demi-Sec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Chelsea
My Chelsea
My Chelsea
#491 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Belgravia
Sloane Square Hotel
Sloane Square Hotel
#188 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Chelsea
San Domenico House
San Domenico House
#530 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Sydney House
Sydney House
#217 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Pimlico
Artist Residence London
Artist Residence London
#104 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Chelsea
11 Cadogan Gardens
11 Cadogan Gardens
#101 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orange Public House & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orange Public House & Hotel

Property: The Orange Public House & Hotel
Address: 37 Pimlico Road, London SW1W 8NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 556 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orange Public House & Hotel. In our beautifully restored building you'll find a bustling bar serving fine ales and cocktails. Our casual dining rooms on the ground and first floor offer a fresh and seasonal modern European menu. The Orange has four beautifully designed bedrooms that offer the perfect retreat after a long day in the city. Each room boasts complimentary Wi-Fi, luxurious king size beds and en-suite bathrooms complete with Aesop amenities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing