We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You pay for what u get”
Review of Swinton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swinton Hotel
Ranked #915 of 1,063 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“You pay for what u get”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Booked a double room and got three single beds,the beds weren't that comfortable but ok, the shower was good, the breakfast was alright but not what I expected so went else where. For a 2 star hotel it ain't bad but I would pay the extra money and stay in better hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    87
    141
    79
    138
See reviews for
67
134
64
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Great staff, warm welcome. Room was small and basic but spotlessly clean - bed VERY comfortable. Shower was a dream - I could have stayed in it for hours!! Very reasonably priced £49 for a night. Yes, I heard the traffic in the morning but then I was staying in central London…… no moans from me. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: I stayed on the top floor in room 56 - great room. It does face the traffic so maybe a room at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I stayed here for one night as cheap and close to work. The location, staff and breakfast were excellent. The decor is tired but very clean. The rooms have comfortable beds, clean linen, tv with decent channels and tea & coffee with biscuits! Would stay again.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper try for a room at the back as the front are right in a busy london road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaireF1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I have just spent a Night in Swinton Hotel , for the price I paid for a London Hotel 2* I got what I expected a room which was basic and small, But I will say it was ok for a 1 night stay, if I was taking a family I would booked somewhere else like a travel lodge or premier inn , but for just somewhere to put your head down in central London for a night or travelling light, it was ok. I would use this hotel again, but like many people say don't expect The Ritz, The staff were friendly and the breakfast was continental, but again the staff member asked what kind of bread i would like for Toast and if I would like coffee or tea. There is no bar on site or place for a evening meal, but there is a lot of bars and eateries local.

Room Tip: if on own go for a double room pay a little extra as a single room is small,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catterick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I booked this hotel through an agency, namely Travel Stay, mainly because it bought the cost down, and reviews didn't seem to bad, and the pictures actually looked fair good.
Boy I was wrong on all accounts.
Firstly a "few" pro's
- The hotel is a few minutes walk from Kings Cross station.
- They supply a 24 hour desk to get in and out via a buzzer
- There are plenty of biscuits, tea, coffee, fresh bottled water available in room.

Now a fair few cons...
- Before arriving at the Swinton i rang to ask if we could check in early, before the stated 1PM as our train arrived at 9AM, so thought it would be easier if we could check in early, was told no problem at all. So we arrived at 9.20 to then find out that my name was not on the list of bookings, he kept checking I had not booked it in another name, before he admitted there was a mistake somewhere.. Luckily (or not depending how you look at it) he had one spare, so we took it. Now this is where it goes slightly downhill.
On the way to the room, through the tight narrow corridors and steep stairs was a very noticeable of cigarettes, despite the no smoking signs everywhere in the hotel. This was apparent through the duration of our stay.
When we arrived at the room, we opened the door to discover a room that wasn't the "freshest" smelling room, had a massive set of patio doors opening to a "garden" and access to other parts of the building it would seem. Luckily there was a blind to cover it, though id hate to think how cold the room is during a cold period. Guess thats why the radiator is set to full wack to compensate for it.
The room its self was very very small, barely enough room to fit a double bed. The TV was situated so you had to move it out the way evey time you needed to navigate the room, the spare socked behind the TV was burned out and all corroded away
There were no bedside lamps other than the one 4 foot from the bed in the only other two sockets in the room, the other being the kettle, so pointless really when you have to get out of bed to turn off a lamp, on a table that has the kettle and all other complimentary items on it.
The Bathroom is a all in one room of the toiler shower and sink area.
The shower worked fine, but didn't sit well in the shower holder so had a tendancy to slip out and you had to be quick to stop it from falling.
The sink was barely attached to the wall and was slightly wonky.
Downside to the all in one, if one has a shower and next needs the loo, floor is very wet and this can cause issues.
The towels were horrible, barely the size of a large tea towel and very hard and well worn away round the edges. at the least they were freshly washed.
Carpet well aged with bits slapped together to make up for bits where they had " replaced it ?"
Didnt even try the complimentary breakfast we were offered free from TS, decided to eat elsewhere, so that i cannot comment on.
I won't use this hotel again, and I certainly will not recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: A good tip is to avoid this hotel at all costs,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tjw4rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Yes i agree for the money in london its basic hotel. However we booked through travelstay nothing like the pictures stated on the their website.
After two and a half hour train journey in the early morning my boyfriend phoned the day before to check if we could leave our bags in the hotel given the fact our train was early morning and as stated you cant check in till after 2pm.
Guy on the phone very friendly said yes not a problem provided room ready (fair point not a problem)
Got to the hotel before our site-seeing trip and he didn't even have our name down on the booking form he said i will stick you in room 5 is that ok??? Not really giving us much confidence the fact our name wasn't on the their list (would have been interesting to see if they were actually fully booked what would they have done?)
our room was one of the basement rooms and already going down very very narrow stairs you got the smell of cigarette smoke even though it tells you not to smoke?
the room was small outdated decor. no lamp on bedside just main light, horrid brown torn and very worn carpet dirty too.
socket where telly was shot completely. wet room decent size but awkward if next person needs the loo you get wet feet.
Good selection of biscuits and water tea/coffee.clean sheets bed comfortable ish didnt sleep that well due to in places bed springs at times and right near king cross which is great for location but window couldn't close properly so you couldn't block noise out.
rooms were warm and dry. bath towels were about the size of tea towels very worn and old frayed and tired looking. could have also done with extra pillows in wardrobe
personally needs to be modernized even for a budget hotel you expect clean and fresh.

Room Tip: maybe try and get a room not in the basement you might have better luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne110586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sint-Katelijne-Waver, Belgium
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We (my girl and I went to this hotel the weekend before Christmas 2013: Rooms are very small, no closet in the room, just a bar with some draws under it, no chairs on the room, and rooms no bigger than a postmark, the shower is in the toilet, so after a shower you get a wet bottom and feet if you want to go to the toilet. My opinion is this isn't what you'll expect from any hotel in a civilised country for this amount of money.
There is also a positive side on this hotel as well, very friendly staff, its clean and the reception is open 24/7

Room Tip: All rooms very small, good for 1 or 2 nights, but no place to store clothes other than your bag/suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BX-driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#531 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#946 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#548 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#733 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#788 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinton Hotel

Property: Swinton Hotel
Address: 18-24 Swinton Street, London WC1X 9NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #915 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Swinton Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Swinton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing