We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Swinton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swinton Hotel
Ranked #928 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for two nights on a recent long weekend visit to London. Yes, it is a budget hotel and not luxurious by any standards. But staff friendly and helpful, sheets and towels clean and changed daily, tea and coffee in room replenished daily, close to Kings Cross and St. Pancras, breakfast consists of tea, coffee, toast, cereals, croissants, ham, cheese, and fruit juices. Basement rooms have patio doors which open onto small garden, so not hot at all. No noise from traffic that we could hear. Two excellent nights sleep. If you want a basic hotel with amenities that is close to tube and all sights of London then this place is adequate.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kellyandsiobhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

I stayed one night on July 1st in this hotel. It is close to the St. Pancras station especially practical for Eurostar travellers ! You can walk there from the Station.
The staff is very friendly, our room (n°6) small but very clean and had everything we needed. The best was we had a door in our room leading to a beautiful little garden with palm trees and roses ! A miracle in the middle of this city !

Room Tip: If you choose a room in the basement you have access to a little garden !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Ingrid N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

First night, gun shots out the back and being situated in the basement it was like being in a frying pan with a bathroom that's like a Rubix cube where the shower was situated half a metre from the toilet with no curtain with mold on the shower head. The staff where also banging about At 3-30 in morning on chairs and it was very basic with no DVD player. On a good note lovely drinking water although during my shower the water cut and wouldn't come on for half hour and at one point had to get a cold shower and use a stained dirty towel which was all frayed. Also for breakfast was given a dirty knife with chocolate spread on, only to ask for a new one which conveniently was the same. At all costs avoid I would rather sleep in the underground

Room Tip: Go to the travel lodge or premier inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed in room 21.

The room was clean and comfortable. It was a bit cosy. The bathroom was tight and looked as though it was newly renovated. It was very nice and quiet.

Swinton Staff were very nice and reminded us that breakfast was included with the room. The continental breakfast was nice with table service.

King's Cross Underground was about 10 min walk away, but there were bus stops on the same street.

The surrounding area was a bit rough and dirty, but safety wasn't a concern.

Good value for money.

Room Tip: Room 21 was situated away from the street and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harry954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Lift stopped working- I am recovering from knee surgery. When I let the desk know, (about the lift and the knee surgery) the staff member barely flicked a glance up from his cell phone and said that the lift likes to play games. Bottom of bathroom door was rotted. Huge line in hot lobby to check in. Supposed to leave the key to go out (long line again...and again to return). No help with my luggage to get out the next AM despite requesting same. Very poor, even at the price.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We needed somewhere to sleep for the night. Spotted this hotel and thought it would be ideal. The pictures on the booking site looked decent!

Ok so let's start off with the pros:
- Very cheap for location in London
- clean room

Now for the cons:
- smelly reception area.
- dirty corridors
- hot rooms with no aircon
- poor noise insulation. You hear every car pass on the road. If you are a light sleeper, good luck!
- Very basic room. Extremely small.
- shower and toilet Is basically an all in one cubicle.
- staff, they could be more friendly.
- Very firm matteress.
- rooms look nothing like what they did in the official pictures.

Although very cheap, I would prefer to spend the extra £40 to get another hotel. I wouldn't stop here again!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank CraigB650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed at the Swinton hotel as a lone female travel for my daughter's hen night. From the moment I entered the Hotel I felt welcomed and safe. For a budget hotel it was spotless and the staff were helpful without being intrusive. Thoroughly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#582 of 1,077 in London
1,006 reviews
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#756 of 1,077 in London
573 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#549 of 1,077 in London
944 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#257 of 1,077 in London
2,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinton Hotel

Address: 18-24 Swinton Street, London WC1X 9NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #928 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £47 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Swinton Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Swinton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing