We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Sunday Night Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot
Ranked #864 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Auchinleck, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant Sunday Night Stay”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I managed to get a Sunday night stay here for £20 which was absolutely brilliant.

I had room 112 which sat out on it's own at the back of the hotel. I had two small high windows which did not open, but the plus side was that I had air conditioning which was brilliant as it was really warm outside.

The room has just been redecorated and it was very big, with a very big shower room as well. The bed was really comfortable and the shower really powerful. The hotel was full when I stayed, no wonder at the prices and the great location. I picked here as I was travelling by Eurostar on the Monday morning. The on site bar remains open 24 hours a day for drinks and snacks which was really good.

Breakfast was good and filling.

The staff were all excellent and very helpful.

Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lem01uk69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    986
    984
    506
    486
See reviews for
685
1,323
222
461
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-trent
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Great location for the West End, the City, trains including Eurostar and buses. Although not the smartest or newest Travelodge, the corridors have lovely Art Deco facades which give it character, so I like staying here. Some rooms get traffic noise as it fronts onto a main road

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Pauline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
946 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 604 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We checked into room 413, unpacked and everything was fine until we tried the cold water tap and found that only scalding hot water was delivered...on any setting. The hotel reception was kind enough to move us to another room, this one being on the 5th floor. It contained one single bed so we returned to reception. "But it's a double on our system!" exclaimed the receptionist. "Are you sure it has only a single bed?" Yes, we can tell the difference between a single and a double. At this point, we are standing in reception with clothes and belongings in our arms and cases. A lady who seemed to be in charge then took us to another room on the 5th floor, 503, and 'together' we tried the tap. Piping hot water out of the cold tap. She left the room to check another three rooms on the same floor and returned to say that all rooms were affected and she had called the engineer. As he takes four hours to arrive, we skipped teeth cleaning and showering and went off to see our play. On returning late, eight hours after reporting the problem, we were told it was not fixed. My impression was that the 'new shift' had not been properly briefed so there was confusion and chaos regarding this problem. There had been only three other complaints so it was not a problem that afflicted the entire floor. We were given bottles of water to use to clean our teeth and were told the problem would be fixed by the morning. On London's hottest day of the year, we couldn't shower before bed. At 6am the next morning, the problem was not solved. The night porter was a breath of fresh air to deal with - he took responsibility for the problem and he said he would check every empty room until he found one with cold water. He knocked on our door five minutes later with a key card for 531, and we showered there. But why oh why could we not have been given this room on the previous afternoon?! I feel I'm a reasonably experienced traveller and I know that things do go wrong in hotels from time to time. I'm relaxed about that and try to be patient and tolerant. But what makes me irritated is when something goes wrong and there is not a soul who takes charge and puts a plan into operation to work around the problem. Each time we arrived at reception, we felt as though WE were the problem. The impression that the staff gave was 'if only customers would leave them alone so that they could get on with their jobs'. They have three work stations on reception and occasionally, a member of staff is using the station to do some sort of admin. task. Meanwhile, a customer is standing in line, waiting to be served, and not understanding why the staff member is not attending to them. Sure, nice staff, I'm sure they are nice people, but they have no clue how to solve a problem whenit arises. They can't even utter the words 'I'm sorry about this'. To be fair, on checking out, the hotel offered us a credit which we accepted, but I'd rather not have had to use four rooms for a one night stay.

The room we slept in was clean, though we found the lack of a bedside tables odd. Sure enough, you must climb out of bed to switch off the light. In room 503, we had no problem from external noise and slept reasonably soundly. The location of the hotel is excellent, about a walk of 350 metres from King's Cross/St. Pancras and we felt perfectly safe walking this late at night. The food at breakfast was average, though again, the peak morning rush seems to take the staff by surprise - waiting around for scrambled eggs to be replenished, out of cutlery, and so on.

We normally give our business to Premier Inn and Holiday Inn Express, but we thought we'd try Travelodge to see if the brand has improved. Sadly, it hasn't - it remains characterised by poor leadership, inadequate investment and a lack of staff training.

Room Tip: Room 503 was quiet to external and internal noise, despite being close to the elevator. Room 531 is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrevorHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your review TrevorHall. We are very sorry to learn of the poor experience you had at our hotel. Your room should access to both hot and cold running water and our staff are trained in how to deal with these situations so it is regrettable to learn of the issues regarding this that occurred during your stay with us. We are sorry for the experience you had with us and would like to investigate the concerns that you have raised. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I had booked a twin room but we were given a double room. This did put a downer on our trip as there were no twin rooms available although I had booked in February. I was told that I had booked via a third party and that the hotel had not even received a confirmation of the booking ..... So check in advance. Apart from one member of staff everyone else was very obliging, especially Sofia at the front desk. It is a travel lodge, and is of the usual standard. It was very well situated about half a mile or less from Kings Cross station. It provided very good services and I would say it is family friendly. Te breakfast was very good value for money and there was something if not more for everyone.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor in the summer they are cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christina1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Booked this hotel as it was the only cheap one anywhere near Euston (my fault for going to London when Wimbledon is on) It was a mile walk from Euston and about 5 minutes from Kings Cross Underground. The room was spacious and clean but the bureau, wardrobe and bedside tables were all dated and scratched, although functional. The bathroom was clean and pleasantly decorated but small and the shower pressure was pretty pathetic (I was on the second floor). Ate in the onsite cafe one night but it was pretty dreadful food (I had the nachos) - give it a swerve there are plenty of other places to eat nearby. I would stay here again as for the price it was far better than I expected.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Liz2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Excellent value. Great location as we were going on the Eurostar to Paris. Helpful staff. Rooms very clean. Good bar, good all you can eat breakfast. Prices are reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Rod C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed with a friend, thought the hotel was nice for a visit to London while not spending too much on accommodation. We ordered a triple room & on our arrival they no longer do triple rooms so they gave us another room, which when looking at the room would not have been big enough for three people. Would differently stay again for the price & not far from kings cross station about a 10 min walk, nice pub nearby called The Lucas Arms nice food good price for London..

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maza09_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Travelodge London Central Kings Cross
Clerkenwell
Travelodge London Farringdon
Travelodge London Farringdon
#342 of 1,068 in London
152 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
London Bridge
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot

Property: Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot
Address: 100 King's Cross Road, London WC1X 9DT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #864 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot 3*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story Hotel overlooking Percy Circus, 1/4 mile from King's Cross Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Nozio Netplan srl, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, HotelsClick, TravelUp, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot Hotel London
London Travel Lodge
London Travelodge
Travel Lodge London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing