We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor plumbing, lack of basic facilities” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot
Ranked #827 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Poor plumbing, lack of basic facilities”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner for 2 nights. The first room we were given on the 3rd floor, looked tired and in need of a revamp. On using the toilet, I found it didn't flush. Had to make the long walk to reception as there are no phones in the rooms. Receptionist then moved us to another double room but on the 6th floor. This room the same as the last looked tired. The shower in this room, was scalding hot and didn't drain properly, resulting having to turn it off every 2 minutes to stop the bathroom flooding, couldn't be bothered make the long walk to reception to report this just put up with it. The room was very hot, with the window opening around 5 cm with only a small pedistal fan to blow hot air around. The only toiletry was a face and hand balm, very basic, and overall a disappointing stay, has tarnished travelodge for me and will never stay in one again..

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    912
    895
    422
    390
See reviews for
598
1,196
203
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I use Travelodge often, mostly due to price, location, availability and you know what your getting. The Royal Scot is typical of the chain, basic clean room and well situated. It's a shame that all too often other users fail to respect the wants/needs of others - whether that be late at night or early morning - sign of the times and not really Travelodge's fault.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I've used this particular Travel Lodge many times now. Despite being a very busy hotel the service has always been excellent. The rooms are well maintained, which is more than can be said for the public areas such as corridors and lifts.... These are positively scruffy! Having said that, for London prices this hotel is ideal. A short 7/8 minute walk from Kings Cross stations with a variety of eating establishments in the surrounding area. I can guarantee I will continue to use this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrC114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
168 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I took 3 students for an educational break to London. We had booked a 3 bedded room and a single, months before, but when we got there they said the rooms had been refurbished and now apparently they don't have rooms with 3 beds any more, I was apprehensive because of the ages of the students and the fact that they hadn't let me know before arrival; but they gave us an extra room at no charge for the 5 night stay. I'm not sure we had refurbished rooms, but although small they were clean and well presented. We were not too far from the station and the metro so it was a doddle really. It is very noisy but you are near everything and the staff couldn't have been more helpful.I can't agree with the adverse comments, hair driers and adaptors are available at no charge on request and the restaurant provides a full English breakfast at a good price Great value for money in one of the most expensive cities in the world

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellecram1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Booked 6months in advance for a great price at c£50 pn. Great location for hotel, 10 mins walk from Kings Cross. Rooms were good size and clean with nice clean bedding. Could do with aircon as was difficult to sleep due to heat but for that price in London - I ain't complaining!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Scotia68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

My friend and I stayed here recently for our trip to London for Wimbledon. The rooms were clean, surprisingly quiet and the location convenient. This is where my review gets tricky though..... On the second morning we went into the bathroom and discovered what appeared to be a cockroach, both myself and my friend were not brave enough to tackle it however so we went to reception to get help. Now this is the good bit, not only were they genuinely shocked by this but they immediately gave us another room to use the bathroom (we were checking out that day else I am sure they would have relocated us anyway) but upon check our we were actually refunded our stay apologised to profusely, given complimentary breakfast and asked if they could do anything else at all for us! Wow! I have stayed in 5* London hotels and not had this level of customer service! Granted the intruder was not pleasant but we were in London where the problem is rife anyway! I would stay there again without doubt and commend travelodge for this level of customer service from what at the end of the day is a budget chain! Well done and thanks!

Room Tip: Although main road facing as I had was fine I imagine car park facing would be even better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dellbell1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Travelodge Kings X for a few days. Eurostar and Paris were the main attractions but this hotel ticked all the boxes for a comfortable if basic hotel, conveniently located for St. Pancras. It was also very reasonably priced with breakfast included. Only a few things were missing, a hair dryer, fridge and minibar and those tiny bars of soap and sachets of shampoo...reception do,have hair dryers however and the staff were exceptionally helpful and polite.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank EileenM443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Travelodge London Central Kings Cross
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Travelodge London Covent Garden
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#519 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot

Property: Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot
Address: 100 King's Cross Road, London WC1X 9DT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #827 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot 3*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story Hotel overlooking Percy Circus, 1/4 mile from King's Cross Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot Hotel London
London Travelodge
London Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing