We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average dated hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot
Ranked #897 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The reception and front areas of the hotel look nice and modern and clean but when you get through the corridor you step back in time but not in a good way. The full place needs a refurbishment and it would be a great hotel. Its at the stage where however much you clean it, it still looks dirty. Managed to get a double room for £65 which was a bargain for central London. I only think I got this price because I booked the night before. Also needs air con! My room had an AC unit but it was decommissioned, the room was really hot but I did have a small fan.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Woodle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,963)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,321 - 3,327 of 3,963 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

After all the advertising on TV and needing a hotel for a three night stay in London we booked this hotel, as it seemed to offer what we required. On arrival it was quite a walk from the nearest station with our baggage. Reception staff were busy and seemed quite harassed! it took quite a while for them to decide which room we were in, after travelling up five floors on a very small slow lift the door to the room had a damaged lock and was unusable, there was no view except of brick walls,was a very small room and the windows did not open! there was no air conditioning and it was unbearably hot. Due to the broken lock on the door we then had to travel back down to reception in the slow hot lift and report the broken door and request a different room. This time the room was on the fourth floor and over looked the main Kings Cross Road so although the windows did open once they were open you could not hear yourself talk, the air conditioning unit in the room only seemed to work at a very dismal rate, they are very stingy on towels as only one bath and one hand towel supplied for two people. we purchased the continental breakfast each of the three days but service was quite poor and each day we had to request refills of the available supplies such as milk and fruit juice. The Hotel was clean but is very tired and seems on its well past due a major refit. we would not return.

Room Tip: rooms at back may be quieter but no air con, some rooms at front did have air con but were very nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jaymay3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here in 2 rooms
The rooms are very cramped,
some Staff very helpful providing cot we forgot to book.
although plenty of space in the bar / restaurant.
Was hard to get the hotel taxi in the morning so had to flag 1 down outside.

Room Tip: handy location for kings cross station / st pancs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JazzyDuckUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Been here 6 days now and every day we have to go to the front desk to get a towel. Even though we are a couple in a double room with 2 of everything on display we only get 1 bathroom towel. Thought it may be a strange English custom but no obviously the housekeeping staff just hate us. I cannot understand why management doesnt follow up on our dailly complaints. Also there is no aircon in the rooms and they are stifingly hot with absolutely no airflow. The toilets dont flush properly, the showers have no pressure and we have had two power failures. Breakfast is a joke, not one morning have they had our name down as having prepaid breakfast, not that it really matters as 4 out of 6 days there hasn't been anyone there to take our name or room number. Breakfast supposedly starts at 7 but rarely are any staff there, food is not out, juice machine not working etc. This is the worst managed hotel i have ever had the misfortune to stay in. c

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Di B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Budget hotel basic room comfortable bed and air con was a bonus. In a low level and quiet room which again was a positive. Ten minute walk from Kings Cross station. Staff were friendly and helpful. Ok for a two night stay in London.

Room Tip: Rooms in The Millenium Suite are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jonty100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Pretty standard Travelodge. Stayed in a twin room before a trip abroad departing from Heathrow the following day.

Hotel is very convenient from Kings Cross / St Pancras International, but is a short (maybe 8 minutes) walk. This does mean it is central and therefore very noisy.

Rooms are reasonable. Lack air conditioning, which although it was not a problem during our visit could have become one had we visited during a hotter period.

Breakfast requires an extra payment, so we did not try it, but heard from others it is good enough. Typically English.

Reception staff quite helpful. Transpired on our arrival that no triple rooms in the hotel existed any longer, yet had been informed by the manager a couple of weeks previously that there was. Given this was part of a medium-sized group travel experience, this was not a problem, but had there been three of us only, isolating one person in a single room unexpectedly would have been somewhat unfair.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room (if they exist) where the windows open out onto the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AW789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed for 3 nights mid week. Staff helpful and friendly. Could not fault rooms or service, considering price paid. Location is very good being close to Kings Cross station, shops and restaurants. Bar and restaurant prices in hotel are an average price. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TheOldiesNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
Travelodge London Farringdon
Travelodge London Farringdon
#286 of 1,081 in London
358 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Travelodge London Central Kings Cross
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#305 of 1,081 in London
1,788 reviews
Covent Garden
Travelodge London Covent Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot

Address: 100 King's Cross Road, London WC1X 9DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #897 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: £58 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot 3*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story Hotel overlooking Percy Circus, 1/4 mile from King's Cross Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Expedia, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Stayforlong S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot Hotel London
London Travelodge
London Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing