We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plain and Simple but good value.”
Review of Wedgewood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wedgewood Hotel
Ranked #940 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Stromstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Plain and Simple but good value.”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Got this hotel room for a very good price. We were staying in London for a week and had a lot of events to attend and sights to see so we wanted to save money on the hotel room. The women working at the reception were kind and helpful. The sheets were clean, bathroom was clean. Felt like a very safe area, 5-10 minute walk to Baywater underground station, grocery store, pharmacy and restaurants bear by. If you are in London to sight see like we were and only need a room for a few hours every night. It is fine. If you are going to spend the whole day in your hotel room. You'll probably want something else.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TGD419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    114
    210
    140
    197
See reviews for
149
230
37
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
COLCHESTER
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

stayed at the Wedgewood in December whilst on business in London. Got a really cheap deal on Laterooms - circa £35 for a single room. Great location just a short walk from Bayswater and Queensway underground stations. Upon arrival I was upgraded to a twin room which was of a good size. Room was clean and there was a decent sized bathroom which looked newly decorated. On the down side, the furniture in the room was in need of replacement - especially the beds which sagged badly and should have been put on the skip many years ago. The breakfast room was clean and a continental breakfast provided which was fine. All in all, a good stay for the price, although I would not have wanted to have paid too much more for what I got. If the beds and mattresses are replaced I would consider staying again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank CASARNBIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two days while visiting london..10 mins walk away from queensway station, dont go to bayswater station get off at queensway.Hotel was fine, Our room was small but everything we needed was there..Beds a little uncomfortable, they were only fold up beds..But did the job.Would stay here again if visiting london for short break..free wifi, tea and coffee in rooms..Nice and warm to..:)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happycamper691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Booked this hotel through Booking.com. Read revues that are massively misleading. Viewed photos on the hotel web site, and they say a camera never lies!
Arrived at 6pm with a drop off of luggage as we were on way to the O2 for a music concert. We were given room 53, which was downstairs, in the basement, next to the kitchen and directly opposite the dining room. If you look at the hotel web site photo front of house, this room is the basement window to the left as you look!
Stairs carpet was filthy, with pealing wallpaper and chipped paintwork throughout the basement.
The room had no carpet, just a tiled floor. The window had security 'grill' which prevented opening the window; it was incredibly hot. This room actually contained a double and single bed. The double looked like a hammock, seriously you cannot expect paying customers to sleep on this. The bed cover sagged badly, the single bed was not much better. On peeling back the covers it was evident that the mattress was a very poor quality with metal frame and springs covered in material! The state of the bathroom was poor.
On returning to the hotel we asked to be moved to another room (We had considered just retrieving our luggage and getting the last train home) and the male receptionist seemed surprised 'As none has complained before'. He confirmed we were only staying for 1 night and gave us the key to 57. This is also in the basement and is the room to right of front door as you look at photo.
This room (see photos) was a joke. The bed literally filled the room, with just enough room to 'crab' around to get to the other side. You had to lean when you did this to avoid hitting your head on the TV, mounted on the wall at the end of the bed! The door to the actual room is permanently open (see photo) it cannot close due to the bed being in the way. On the other side of the bed is the 'wet room'. Originally this must have been an old cellar with a vaulted ceiling. The light didn't work and there are no windows. I reported this to the receptionist who said he'd log it as a fault. The only saving grace for this room was the mattress so we reluctantly stayed. The sheets were clean and so were the towels - the rest of the room was less desirable (see photos).
Using the wet room was a joke, we used iPhone torches to illuminate, otherwise it was pitch dark.
Wardrobe had 1 hanger, but the bit thats attached to the rail was missing, so actually it had no hanger and was therefore a waste of space. Tv was barely on the wall (see photo), vanity unit containing mirror and kettle was also barely on the wall.
Carpet dirty (see photo)
Breakfast was minimal - toaster only did one side at a time, orange juice watered down, choice of cornflakes or bran flakes only.
Overall, terrible. This accommodation was worse than the University rentals our son was in for 3 years. The price was £60 for a double room. The last two hotels i have 'got deals in' were £49 & £49, these were both excellent so there should be no excuse for turning up and finding this poor standard at all.
I feel sorry for the staff who must have these complaints all the time. Individually they were friendly and helpful, although i do think the experience 'we' had with 'no one has complained…' is a party line as the revues i have subsequently gone into say otherwise.
I'm guessing the hotel does have rooms that reflect the revues at the time the other guests stayed - but we had two rooms that were both sub standard. I'm not fussy, i was in the army for 10years and stayed in places worse than this. What i do expect is to be treated with a bit of common decency when i'm paying for it!
Would therefore not recommend or stay again.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ted6228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Helpful and kind staff,always willing to assist (also in italian language). They can call a taxi anytime (and tell you the price in advance) or arrange your transfer back to the airport with a Shuttle service (surcharge). Great Location. Close to Bayswater/Queensway underground station. Free W-Fi and safe inside the room. Nice hotel, especially if you are on a budget (London is an expensive city...)

Breakfast is very basic. only orange juice, toasts, milk, coffe, butter, jam and cereals are provided. Small bed and small room with squeaky floors. Walls are poorly soundproofed. The kettle was not working; I also found old water still inside. Wi-fi signal was often very low. The hotel needs renovation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nijouvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I suppose it is all about what one expects but some negative reviews of Wedgewood Hotel are in my opinion slightly unjust. Just like previous reviewer I was also worried about stay at this hotel but our 3 night stay was a pleasant experience. Location is very good for shopping and sightseeing, close to the tube and buses, minutes away from city centre. Room we stayed in (412) was of clean and comfortable enough for us: bathroom, TV set (£10 refundable deposit has to be paid for remote control at the reception), hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities, towel provided - more then we expected. Ladies at the reception were helpful and polite. And you get continental breakfast in the morning: tea/coffee, toasts, cornflakes, jam and orange juice. All in all : apart from outdated lift, good enough for anyone not expecting Hilton's standarts as it is a budget accomodation. Would not hesitate to stay there again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans_Kloss_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Decided to go to London with a friend for a few days midweek. Booked the Wedgewood on the advice of a travel agent. On reading the reviews on this, I was more than a little worried. However, I can barely fault this hotel at all. The reception staff were extremely helpful in every way as we had no idea where we were going! They printed maps and ordered tickets for us to help us along, were friendly and welcoming. Our room was perfect too. Towels provided, comfortable beds, clean and warm. For a low budget trip, absolutely perfect! Couldn't beat location either being just a short walk from the underground and a number of different bus routes!

This hotel is rated as a 2 and a half star hotel and thus must be judged on this. You get what you pay for. Buckingham Palace wasn't in our price range!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank elaine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#605 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Hotel 65
#750 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#772 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel London
Shakespeare Hotel
#625 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Pimlico
Caswell Hotel London Victoria
Caswell Hotel London Victoria
#742 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wedgewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wedgewood Hotel

Property: Wedgewood Hotel
Address: 49-51 Leinster Square | Bayswater, Westminster, London W2 4PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #940 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wedgewood Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Bayswater, 15 miles to Heathrow Intl Airport; beautifully appointed guest rooms that are clean & comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wedgewood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wedgewood Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing