We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG avoid !!!!”
Review of Wedgewood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wedgewood Hotel
Ranked #942 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Well, I've been to some dumps in my time but this is the cherry !!! Filthy rooms, paper thin walls and the so called continental breakfast is toast and jam, that's it !!! My advice would be sleep on a park bench, it will be a more pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Horton1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 717 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

The room was very clean and comfortable. Attentive staff. Location very good: easy access to buses and the underground (max 3 minutes walk), access to museums through Hyde Park, 15 minute walk. Good variety of restaurants and bars close by as well. Smooth check in and check out, free WiFi log in. Hope to stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oana2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel and found it to be the most disgusting hotel I've ever been to. Upon settling into bed, pulling back the sheets me and my partner found an insect crawling around on the sheets, disgusting stains and hair on the bed. After two members of staff saw the hair, stains and insect on the bed, we asked for a refund so that we could go elsewhere. Both members of staff denied seeing anything on the bed and refused to give us a refund. Along with being rude to us, shouting at us and talking to each other in another language in front of our faces. They would not contact the manager to authorize a refund and asked us to come back the next day. We have on several occasions contacted management to get our money back and are yet waiting a reply. This hotel and is staff members are a disgrace. I recommend no one to stay at this filthy hotel. It's not worth a single penny. I hope this hotel is shut down by the department of health and the staff members take some serious customer service courses.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank n4498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Room Tip: A few additions to the room could make a big difference. A mirror would be an asset. Some coat hooks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Grl50
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The hotel was in a great location and very easy to find from both Queensway and Bayswater stations, only about a 5 minute walk. Outer appearance of the hotel is a bit shabby but once inside it is very pleasant. While the staff were not particularly friendly or smiley, their service was efficient and helpful. Do not take the escalator, walk instead, it is tiny and makes rather unsettling noises. The hallways could do with a bit of a clean but the rooms are good, basic but good. The beds are not particularly comfy but were suitable for the one night that I stayed here. The hotel is budget friendly and you get what you pay for. If I needed to stay in the city overnight again, I would stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I stayed here for 1 night and the room was very comfortable. It was clean, quiet and was great value for money. The rooms are a little cosy, but you don't need a massive ammount of space. The wardrobe is a decent size, and the bathroom was good.
The location is very good. It's in a quiet street, within walking distance to portobello Road, Paddington train station, and a few tube stations: Lancaster Gate, Queensway and Bayswater.
There is a shopping centre close by, and the high street with heaps of restaurants is just around the corner.
There is door to door airport transfers if you need it, that can be organised at reception.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a quiet street, so you don't need to worry about noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhiannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We had recently been given a present by my family as a gift, a two night stay at this hotel for myself and my wife to have a well deserved break. Unfortuantly we were unable to attend as shortly before we left to travel to this hotel my brother in law, who has cancer was diagnosed with secondry cancer of the bones and two days before we were to stay at this hotel he suddenly became paralysed. As my wife is his next of kin and only carer we could not leave him so my son telephoned the hotel in an attempt to postpone our stay until a later date, he was told that he would have to wait until the following Monday to speak to the manager which he did and had a more than negative response from the manager. I then telephoned the manager myself and was met with a disgusting and vile attitude towards this situation and was told by her that I could not rearrange our stay there even on compassionate grounds.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Phillip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#611 of 1,075 in London
466 reviews
Notting Hill
The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel London
Caring Hotel
#546 of 1,075 in London
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#748 of 1,075 in London
459 reviews
Notting Hill
Reem Hotel
Reem Hotel
#595 of 1,075 in London
720 reviews
Notting Hill
Notting Hill Gate Hotel
Notting Hill Gate Hotel
#822 of 1,075 in London
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wedgewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wedgewood Hotel

Address: 49-51 Leinster Square | Bayswater, Westminster, London W2 4PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #942 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Price Range: £52 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wedgewood Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Bayswater, 15 miles to Heathrow Intl Airport; beautifully appointed guest rooms that are clean & comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wedgewood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wedgewood Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing