We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great welcome”
Review of Westland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westland Hotel
Ranked #767 of 1,067 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a great welcome”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I could not have chosen any better place for my first nights in London. As soon as I got to Reception I was warmly greeted by the Receptionist, to whom I spoke a few minutes ago in order to make a lastminute reservation. After checking in, the staff offered me to enjoy some free drinks from the open bar, even if it was already over. I will always appreciate every single gesture done in this occasion by the staff, since they were able to make me forget any bad experience I had before arriving.

Only a little complaint about wifi connection. The first night was great, but on the second day it stopped working in the room and was only working in the lobby. The staff mentioned they were trying to fix it, but it seems this issue had already been experienced the days before by other rooms, so it could be something normal. However, lobby was never busy, so it is possible to work without being interrupted by any noises (even if reception is directly next to the lobby, staff is very discrete and you do not hear the conversations between guest and receptionist).

Great service by the way and very good price-quality relationship.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelotinaLefescu, General Manager at Westland Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.

I am pleased to hear you had such a great experience at the Westland Hotel.

I would like to apologise for the inconvenience you have experienced regarding the Wi-Fi connection. We always want to ensure the Wi-Fi connection is active , therefore any incident is immediately reported and taken care of.

We hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,

Melotina Lefescu
General Manager, Westland Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    55
    32
    21
    16
See reviews for
41
51
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Spent one, comfortable night at the Westland and have to say that you could not ask for a friendlier welcome or a better attitude towards their customers. The hotel is in a great location near to the tube and bus and across the road from Kensington gardens. I have to say the room was looking very tired with loose light fittings, peeling paint BUT we had a big room, it was quiet and we had a great nights sleep. There are shinier hotels in London but I doubt there are friendlier or more customer focused ones.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank rob-Bewdley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
493 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Was visiting London for a football match at Fulham, and was looking for a hotel that was convenient for getting to Fulham, as well as getting to Victoria Train Station, and also getting into the city, and after a search, the Westland Hotel seemed to tick all the right boxes.

Got a deal of £70 a night for a double room for single use with breakfast included.

Arrived at Victoria train station running a little late as I had to meet some friends, so jumped into a taxi to get me there (I knew it was not to far, and on their website they say a taxi will cost no more than £10, but it was actually £14), to show up at 1pm (check in is at 2pm, and they are rather strict on this, so had to come back later in the afternoon).

As I needed to get to Fulham and into the city, the transport system is good, with the hotel 3-5 minutes walk either way from two central line stations, and Notting Hill Tube Station with the district line as well.

London I have always found to be rather hard for hotels, as in most experiences I have had you do get what you pay for if you go cheap, but this hotel I would say is just above average for London and will do perfectly.

Nice and clean, with big modern spacious rooms, only problem is room was VERY warm and that was with the heater on the wall turned off, so resulted in a pretty uncomfortable nights sleep.... also every once and a while you can hear the faint rumble of a underground train going by as the hotel is right on top of the Circle Line.

Breakfast was a little to be desired for.... offered a "Full English" and all that came were two small over cooked sausages, 1 slice of bacon and two over cooked eggs.

All in all, if I need to be in London again and need a location in the West End of the city, then this will do.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderer_scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansburg, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

small room filled with lovely old furnishings, door was carved lovely to see.
front desk friendly. nice .helpful.
happy hour enjoyed in lobby free wine and drinks.
out front big bus tours all in all very pleased

Room Tip: nice rooms 102 105 102 large room 105 small but lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeancorbettfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

on arrival to the hotel the reception was very welcoming with the aroma of lillies, check in was fast. our twin room 106 was a lovely sized room more like a suite, we were very pleased, however during the evening water started to poor through the ceiling in the bathroom from the room above obviously concerned i reported this to the man on reception who said he would get someone to come and take a look, some time later no-one had arrived so again i had to go back to reception to find out what was happening, some time later still no-one had arrived, this continued for about 40 minutes until i went back down again insisting that he come take a look, his response was " its the people in the room above taking a shower ive asked them to turn it off!" he came to take a look at and said he would get me some towels to mop it up!!!!!!! He did not at any point seem concerned as it seemed this happens reguarly?!
such a shame this happened as it ruined such a lovely experience of the hotel and i dont think they will be in any hurry to rectify the problem.

Room Tip: if the bathroom issue gets sorted then room 106 is a lovely quiet room if you need twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jomarsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

stoke on trent
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Arrived on the 12th may for a mini break. Booked a parking space that was a mile away with no CCTCV working has advertised. The hotel front of house staff did not know anything about the hotel facilities at all when we asked which, is very disappointing. Location is good and the room was ok But bed very uncomfortable springs protruding in the mattress hence a bad nights sleep.
Dont book breakfast £9.99 one sausage one rasher of bacon 1 egg and half yes half a cherry tomato!!!!! We booked a pizza for supper but was told the kitchen had closed when we asked where the pizza was?? A really disappointing hotel wont stay again sadly!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ussmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2014

What we really liked about the Westland was the fact that it had its own personality! OK a bit tired around the edges and our doudle bed was 2 singles pushed toegether, but at least it's not another souless 'chain' hotel.
Our room was very spacious, very quiet, considering we fronted Bayswater Road, and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
I can't comment about the food because we always eat elsewhere - why go to London and limit your options?
The only thing that disappointed was the fact that we didn't see the ghost of Agatha Christie or similar!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
#618 of 1,067 in London
201 reviews
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#377 of 1,067 in London
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
The Laslett
The Laslett
#342 of 1,067 in London
166 reviews
Notting Hill
Notting Hill Gate Hotel
Notting Hill Gate Hotel
#821 of 1,067 in London
484 reviews
Notting Hill
Vancouver Studios
Vancouver Studios
#366 of 1,067 in London
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westland Hotel

Property: Westland Hotel
Address: 154 Bayswater Road | Bayswater, Westminster, London W2 4HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #767 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Westland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just opposite Kensington Gardens, the Westland Hotel is a traditional premium 3 star hotel only 4 minutes walk from Queensway and Notting Hill Underground Stations. The Westland Hotel offers a complimentary and well stocked drinks bar from 6pm to 8pm each evening for residents. There is also limited on-site parking (chargeable) and a 24 hour Front Desk. The spacious rooms are all en-suite and feature satellite TV, a work desk and free Wi-Fi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westland Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing