We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moorey "Welcome Home it certainly does "”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City
Ranked #31 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Moorey "Welcome Home it certainly does "”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Stayed for a week and every evening coming back from work really did feel like coming home, all the staff make you feel welcome, always ready to chat and make you feel relaxed, more like friends rather than hotel staff. I am going to stay on a long term basis and will even bring my family down at the weekend to enjoy what I enjoy in the week.
The Buffet breakfast has just what you need, hot food, fruit, cereal, fruit juice, yogurts great. The thing I like about staying at the Staybridge is that you can be self sufficient, you don't need to go to breakfast or go out to dinner you can eat in just like being at home, put the dishes in the dishwasher and of you go enjoy shops on the door step out for a drink and even a little gambling opposite. overall i found the Staybridge perfect for what I need from a weeks stay, even made new friends not something that happens when away on business.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moorey_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,009
    243
    46
    7
    1
See reviews for
244
479
74
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Booked a weekend stay using their special Weekender price, which allows you to cancel your booking up until 4pm on Thursday, which I think is pretty good and would recommend.

Anywho, back to the hotel itself. Didn't have too much trouble finding the place, although the signs in the Westfield Carpark could have been a little better, but I guess that's not the hotel's fault. The receptionist on the phone was really helpful.

Arriving at the building situated out on The Street at Westfield, you are greeted by friendly staff and have to take an elevator to the top floor to reception. The whole hotel was spotless; faultless in fact? The room we had was facing the city, with fantastic views over London. The skyline at night is absolutely beautiful. The room was fairly big, clean and furnished pretty well. We booked a normal King Size room, so was equipped with a mini kitchenette area, which was cute. The shower/wet room was pretty generous, and the water pressure really good, which was a plus, I enjoyed a really nice shower in the morning. Also comes with your usual washing/shower products, such as shampoo and conditioner, but I brought my own anyway. There's a hair dryer in the room too, which was handy. The free Wi-Fi wasn't great, it was quite slow at times and you couldn't really stream anything properly without it breaking up at times. You can upgrade to the option premium internet, however with the price we paid for the room and the feel of the hotel, you'd expect that sort of internet access to be included. The hotel has a 'business class' feel to it, so I suspect it appeals to a lot of business travelers. Again, just furthering the need for higher speed internet access. Apple TV in the room too, but again you need to upgrade to the higher internet, so that was a little disappointing.

Breakfast in the morning was to a good standard, however, we were disappointed with the lack of bacon. Although we thought there could have been more variety in the way of hot food, there is an extensive range of cereals, breads, croissants, fruit etc that you can help yourself to. Oh, also really liked the 'home from a home' feel to the restaurant area - it's basically a kitchen you can help yourself too: you can make your own coffee, toast, etc - so that felt pretty homely. So, yeah, only criticism is that they could have offered a wider variety of hot foods - overheard another guest asking about beans?

Be sure to check out the balcony in the dining area - some fantastic views, and luckily we enjoyed some sunshine so was really lovely to enjoy a coffee out there in the morning.

Would probably stay again, it did the job and it did it well. I would say it lived up to my expectations and was a good price for what it was. The staff are really friendly, the breakfast is good and included in your room price, noise levels are low and we had a really comfortable room. I'd recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the city. Bring your own shower wash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelkat90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

When I last visited London, I stayed in the Holiday Inn Express next door to the Staybridge Suites, which was just fantastic so when there was no vacancies this time we decided we would be on a winner in the Staybridge Suites. Upon arrival the lobby looks fresh and clean and the receptionists were very pleasant and welcoming. First impressions of our suite was that it was still fresh and new. Very pleased until entering the bathroom only to find a patch of dried on crusty urine under the toilet seat! yuk!! I called the receptionist who said " sorry" (and not much else) and sent a couple of girls to our room to clean. As I looked I noticed one of the girls wiped a dry cloth over the urine stain, then immediately wiped over the sink and the mirror with the same part of the cloth, which didn't even have any water or cleaning product on it. The second girl got her toilet brush and brushed and swilled all around the inside of the toilet then proceeded to scrub the floor and the toilet flusher with the same brush without even rinsing or cleaning it! this was enough to put me off staying there ever again! absolutely disgusting hygiene levels and makes me wonder what they do when you are not there if that's what you see when you are. Not acceptable by any means!!!!!!! breakfast was no where near the level of the Holiday inn next door and there was a lot of people always waiting for refill and top ups. No where near enough choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank kirstygirl2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayGM, General Manager at Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear 'kirstygirl2000'

Thank you for your review. This is the type of review I always find difficult to understand why the writer has taken time to write the review and share it globally, but did not bring the (highly distressing) concerns to management, and indeed chose to stay in the room ?!

The Executive Housekeeper and her team have taken this review extremely seriously and I request that you please contact us directly with your details, what room you stayed in, and what dates you stayed, so that a full investigation can be made.

You mention the Holiday Inn and its excellent standards of cleanliness. I feel it is relevant to highlight that the two hotels share the same housekeeping team and Manager (we are in one building and owned by the same company).

Both hotels pride themselves on excellent standards of cleanliness (as reflected by most of the reviews on this site)

I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Wayne Androliakos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I was fairly skeptical when I saw the sign "Welcome Home", as I stepped into their reception the first time. It didn't take too long to identify with it, though! Hotel is in a fantastic location both in terms of the immediate environment (new and huge mall, lots of restaurants with variety of cuisines, cinema theatre, casino et al) as well as connectivity (5 mins. walk to the Stratford station, which is a junction of so many lines that you can reach most parts of London with ease). One thing to keep in mind though - the building is in the middle of several blocks of restaurants and the mall - so the taxi goes as far as the Westfield Chestnut Plaza Restaurants board - with Busaba Eathai on one side and The Cow on the other... you would need to walk it (less than a minute) to the hotel itself from this point.

Rooms are fairly spacious and clean and come with all necessary amenities for a comfortable long stay (kitchenette with hob, dishwasher, fridge, toaster, microwave, kettle and basic crockery and cutlery). Views from the room could be towards the mall or looking out towards the city - the latter is absolutely incredible, especially at night with the twinkling skyline, the green laser beam of the GMT line, the trains doing their busy runs and so on (ask for a city-view when you book). In-room amenities are standard. They provide Apple TV (at extra charges) but the basic TV channels were more than enough. Free wireless and wired internet connections within the room, but if you need to stream videos, you will have to upgrade to the faster and paid internet. Wardrobe plus drawer space was ok but could be better. Basic toiletries provided - I liked the low-waste approach where they don't provide the little vanity kits, instead have big bottles of shampoo, conditioner and shower gel - just like at home. Carry your own lotions, though.

The 12th (top) floor hosts their reception area, gym (comfortable for 3-4 people to work out at the same time), laundry room, pantry, breakfast area and the "den". I loved the den! It's a cosy room at the end of the floor, with a big TV, a little "library" (just a handful of books but enough), board games and multiple points where you can plug in your laptop. They host a movie once a week in the den too, complete with popcorn to go. Socials are ok with the wine / beer / sodas and cheeses, olives and salads, chips, breads and pâté. But easily, the winner is their complimentary breakfast - with a spread of hot and cold, veg and non-veg items, from fruits to cereals to eggs to sausages to yogurt to croissants etc., there are enough options to choose from and it's all yummy too, though one may tire of it after 2 long months :). Another convenient thing was a 24 hours tea/coffee availability, though one needed to go to the 12th floor for this. But it was nice to be able to get my cuppa literally anytime, complete with honey to go! And all this at no extra charge made this one of the best value-for-money places by far!

Also, the hotel folks are really nice, friendly and very helpful - when I needed to get printouts and scans in the middle of the night and their own scanner was not functioning suitably, they went down to their other hotel (Holiday Inn), got it done without my having to run around one bit! Without a doubt, will be happy to stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with City View (not Mall View); also ask for higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kan_rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed in this hotel as it was close to rail station giving easy access into London, It is in the midst of Westfield Shopping Centre with all the bars, restaurants and shops and thought it would be interesting as it is next door to the Olympic Village. Staff really friendly and helpful, room immaculate and views from the upper floors were great. Two rooms: one open plan with kitchen, sofa bed flat screen tv, the other main bedroom again flat screen tv and bathroom. Very spacious.

Room Tip: The staybridge suites seem to be on the upper floors and some have good views. The room we stayed lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here over Easter weekend. The staff is wonderful, and very accommodating. I am a light sleeper, and we had our 21 month old daughter with us. The first night we were on the side of the hotel that overlooks the mall/casino. Very noisy from the casino, and could hear people on the smoking deck. I asked if we could switch sides the next day, no problem. It is in a great location, right next to the huge mall with a lot of dining options. We would take the underground into the city for the day, and come back and have dinner at the mall at night, worked perfectly for our little family. Rooms are lovely, and quite spacious...although the queen sized bed is smaller than what we're used to! We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms are on the casino side - if you're a light sleeper ask for a room overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grad98cofc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Deeping
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Great facilities and location - close to the Shops at Westfield Stratford and all transport links into the city
Note the shops do not open untill 12.00 miday on a Sunday.
Breakfast the best offering ever..so much choice

Next to the Holiday Inn - I would choose the suites evertime

Room Tip: Always ask for the other side , away from the Casino
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSD6228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Westbridge Hotel
#99 of 1,068 in London
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#58 of 1,068 in London
3,694 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#34 of 1,068 in London
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City

Property: Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City
Address: 10B Chestnut Plaza | Westfield-Stratford City, London E20 1GL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose a relaxing home-from-home at Staybridge Suites London Stratford hotel, located in the Westfield Stratford City Shopping Centre and just a 5 minute walk from the 2012 Olympic Village.From the minute you step inside the bright, welcoming Lobby of Staybridge Suites London Stratford, you'll feel at home. Unwind by the contemporary fireplace in the Lounge or head to your smart Studio or 1-bedroom Suite. You'll find complimentary wireless Internet throughout.Staybridge Suites London Stratford is in the heart of Europe's largest shopping centre and is one of the onsite hotels for the 2012 Olympic Village. With only a 200 metre walk from Stratford Tube, Railway and DLR Stations, you are within minutes from London City, Canary Wharf, the O2 Arena and the ExCel Exhibition and Conference Centre.Most of Stratford's most exciting bars and restaurants are literally on your doorstep, but if you fancy a night in, the fully equipped kitchen in your Suite makes it easy to cook your own dinner. You'll find all the groceries you need at our 24-hour Pantry. Complimentary breakfast is served in our Hub Kitchen, while guests can network or mingle over complimentary drinks and snacks at our evening reception, held Tue-Thu. Guests can make use of our complimentary laundry room.After a long day, you can energize in the Fitness Centre or meet in the Den meeting room. Ask our team members about exploring the city of London, a few tube stops from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing