We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting play - plus a cafe with a playscript library”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bush Theatre

Bush Theatre
Ranked #629 of 1,599 things to do in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
284 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Interesting play - plus a cafe with a playscript library”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

How great is it that the toilet walls are decorated with pages from play scripts!
The cafe is a library lined with more plays - and everyone is reading...
We saw a thought provoking play - 'We are proud to present' - which we thought was far better than the review in the Sunday Times which seemed to miss the point of the production....at least - we all thought it was about how people relate to each other - or don't rather than really being about Namibia....

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank KarenKew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex UK
Level Contributor
312 reviews
158 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Best London Theatre?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

This may just be my favourite London theatre. A big claim when there are so very many from which to choose. It never fails to provide excellent, thought-provoking dramas and is usually full - witness the queues that form early to enter the auditorium, as the seats are unallocated. In truth, though, there are no bad seats in this great space. As others have mentioned - a great cafe with a good, modest list.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank malaita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great production”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Saw the advertisement for "Jumpers for Goalposts" in Timeout and thought what the heck, might as well give it a try. I also ordered some mulled wine and mince pies. For starters, the minced pies were great. But then the show blew us away. For £20 per person, I wasn't expecting much ( boy was I wrong). The acting, plot and theatre were excellent. Very well written and looking forward to Ciphers. Hopefully my second experience will match up to my first.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“great theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

The theatre is now in the old library just opposite Shepherds Bush market tube station. lovely little cafe doing a small but nicely presented menu. had a great mince pie and mulled wine. lovely theatre space. have a copy and dip into one of the huge library of scripts in the coffee area. ..

Helpful?
Thank TonksMeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“1st visit but not our last”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

1st visit to lovely tiny little theatre to see a brilliant play. No allocated seats just 5 rows of seats around stage and help yourself, everyone had a great view. Play very funny and moving too, brilliant actors, go and see it. Bar for pre show drinks. We live out of London but would definately make the effort to visit again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SteadyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bush Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Bush Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing