We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of Saffron Red - CLOSED

Saffron Red
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City of London
Description: Newly Opened, fine dining restaurant in the heart of Londons Business district.Offering delicious, traditional Indian food.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Went for dinner with new friends. Group of eight from all over the world. The food and service were excellent. The spices were mild but spicy enough so that everyone could enjoy. One person was experiencing Indian food for the first time and found it quite delicious. They have a variety of naans that were quite delicious. We has chicken lamb and vegetarian and they were all very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dyan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food imtimate restaurant”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I went here on a first date with my now boyfriend, the food was really nice, the staff were friendly and attentive but left us alone enough that it felt cozy. Highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SP
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A true hidden gem”
Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

This little underground restaurant has a menu that is a pleasure to read, cover to cover. The food was delicious. We ordered 5 different dishes, 4 were simply exceptional, and one, the biriani was a bit dry, but still very flavourful.
We visited ona Saturday night, and the beautiful very modern decoration looked sad since the restaurant was ver, very empty. This is obviously a weekday restaurant with its city location, and as we saw later is very busy at lunch time.
Still for a great cury, at a reasonable rate, with true choice from their menu, this is a restaurant I seriously recommend.

Helpful?
Thank samwSp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian food...a hidden gem”
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

This restaurant seems to be hidden away but is a lovely place. It is located in the basement but is clean and has nice contemporatry decor and furnishings. The staff are attentive and friendly. There are traditional favourite dishes on the menu which taste fresh and delicious and is well presented. Would visit again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank j2bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
“Clean and Comfortable”
Reviewed 5 December 2012

I decided to head into Saffron Red after reading a couple of reviews on the net-- and I wasn't disappointed. As you enter the staff are warming and attentive. The restaurant overall is clean and comfortable. The staff are happy to explain all on the menu and recommend dishes depending on your palate. The food items are of course Indian cuisine and have delicious subtle flavors, so will not destroy your taste buds or leave you wanting more. (You can ask staff to adjust the spices within your meal though) I had three courses which were ample; I left feeling very satisfied and would certainly visit again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 942Rita84_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saffron Red also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing