We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could be improved”

Baskervilles Tea Shop
Ranked #163 of 675 Coffee & Tea in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$25
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good but could be improved”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The place has got bags of potential. An independent tea shop, good location (nothing but chain coffee shops in the area), a lovely park on the door step, nice decor. A busy place, we were lucky to get a table straight away, 20 minutes later there was a giant queue :)
The staff are lovely, although there seems to be very many of them. The tea is very nice, but the cakes we got (although looking delicious) were very dry and the scones were cold. Little things like that could be improved. Next time we will just go for the tea and pass on the cakes.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    18
    12
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely people, delicious teas and great location”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Baskervilles is an ideal way to end or indeed begin a walk in the local park. Actually that's not strictly true - whether you are visiting the park or not it's always a treat to sit in the spacious and bright front area and treat yourself to the delicious teas and cakes on offer. The staff are always relaxed and cheerful. The ambiance always chilled. It's a good place to sit and chat and put the world to rights while watching it go by outside. What's also great about the place is it's involvement in the community - the activities and workshops it runs are really beneficial and popular.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 14Rob_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Over priced, over baked and overall poor.”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

This tea shop has the potential to be the perfect place to spend money but sadly disappoints on all levels. I have been there about four times now hoping improvements are made but they never are. Service is opaque and sporadic. We have waited ages to be served and had the waitress clear our table before we had finished. The cakes are always yes always dry and overcooked lacking in finesse and taste ( i defy anyone to be able to not pucker up the face when getting to the bottom of the lemon drizzle!). It's lazy baking, they all look as though they are the product of a domestic science class from a secondary modern of the 70's. It's a shame because i am all for supporting the independents but it seems they're just not doing their bit of the
bargain. Perhaps after reading this they'll have a staff meeting and revisit the recipes of the cakes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Peenie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Big let down”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Quite quick to take the order and then we had to wait ages for 3 teas 2 slices of cake and a scone jam and cream. When it finally came it was short of 1 cake which we were told had run out. Another choice was made and they came back with the original order. Confused - I was. The scone was more of a rock cake so it was returned and changed. The jam and cream were in small pots, jam was plentiful but cream was very stingy. As for the cake, we are still looking for the apples that it were in the name. On top of all this not one cup saucer or plate matched in each setting. We made a game of matching pairs!! All in all not a very good experience and I would also strongly suggest they get someone in to manage the staff who were plentiful but had no direction.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Special Place”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I had my wedding reception here on 6 September 2013. It was Baskervilles' first wedding and Diane, Mathilde and the girls did us proud.

The wedding had a vintage theme so the tea shop was perfect for an afternoon tea reception. The sandwiches, scones and cakes were all fantastic but the show stopper of the afternoon was the sausage rolls. I am not sure if these are on the daily menu but they darn well should be! They decorated the shop beautifully and all our guests were enchanted.

We also visit here for lunch quite often and love the atmosphere. All the cakes and bread are freshly baked, the cheese selection is fantastic and if mushroom soup is the soup of the day I recommend you have it! The tea menu is extensive to say the least and they have their own blends. The children's menu is also very good and try the hot chocolate with Maltesers!

The shop is very popular with locals and they also have various events happening during the week, e.g. sewing classes, mother and toddler groups, etc. so you may have to wait for a seat. The girls do their very best to serve you as quickly as they can but a little patience may be required at busy times of the day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baskervilles Tea Shop also viewed

 

Been to Baskervilles Tea Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing