We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bugs”
Review of Royal London Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal London Hotel
Ranked #275 of 555 London B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bed Bugs”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The rooms in this hotel are very, very small as are the bathrooms. I was unfortunate enough to be in a room where the bed bugs ate me alive and had to spend most of the night sitting on the very small kitchen chair that was in the room. The room was extremely hot. Breakfast was satisfactory. I would certainly not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annette146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    91
    87
    42
    38
See reviews for
71
73
40
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

When you go to a hotel that also includes breakfast, what do you expect? Full English or a good Continental. To my surprise neither. I was expecting a full English, so when asked fried or scrambled eggs, It did not surprise me. When I was presented with just two fried (more like cremated eggs) with two toast (like cardboard). I thought the rest of the breakfast must have been forgotten?
A continental with Fresh Bread, Cheeses, Cold Meats or a Full English with Bacon, Sausage ect would be fine but not this excuse for a breakfast,
After this disappointing experience I did not bother with breakfast again.
The room was very hot, there was a portable fan in room but this did not stop me having to throw heavy duvet off during night.
Both Hotels either side having renovation work in progress, can be annoying if you return to hotel during day.
On the positive side, hotel in good location, shame about the rest of it

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Sheffield, Uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I was a little concerned about staying here having read TA reviews from people who had been moved from hotel to hotel. Sure enough, mid-morning before our check-in I receieved a call, we had been moved to the hotel down the street. Not happy! We had booked the hotel because of how close it was to the Shepherd's Bush Empire. Two women travelling together, we did not want to be wandering too far late at night back to the hotel.

We arrived at our new hotel to be told we had been assigned a double room, when we had requested a twin. HOWEVER...After a few minutes on the phone the gentleman manning reception (who was the least pleasant of the staff we encountered, and was still perfectly professional) informed us that a twin room was waiting for us at our original hotel.

The gentleman at the Royal London Hotel was lovely, explained the mix-up (two bookings made at a similar time on the same day, they wanted double, we wanted twin) and checked us in.

The rooms are very small, but impeccably clean. We had just enough room for two single beds, wardrobe, a full-size fridge (odd...but appreciated. A smaller one would make the room feel larger) with more than ample tea and coffee making facilities, and a tiny bathroom with shower. The main complaint about the bathroom is that the mirror is so stupidly high up (I'm 5'2", I could only just see the top of my head in it, I'd say it was about 5' off the floor). The windows were open on arrival and the room was fresh, with towels and complimentary toiletries on the beds.

Being on a main road it was noisy late into the night with traffic and the occasional siren, but with the windows closed it was quiet enough to sleep easily though rather warm. The beds are very comfortable and the linen is all perfectly clean. The free wi-fi was an unexpected bonus, and worked very well at a decent speed. We did get a little noise from other people's running water, etc, but I guess in an older place that is to be expected and it wasn't bad enough to wake you up/keep you awake.

Breakfast was very busy, we headed to the breakfast room only to find it full and return to our room for 15mins to give it time to clear out a little. When we did get a table, breakfast was delicious, all the crockery and cutlery clean, and the atmosphere is lovely with sunlight pouring through the skylights. Breakfast is prepared in the same room which is nice, and everything was done as requested and in good time considering there was only the one woman working in the kitchen. We didn't feel rushed (maybe because we waited a little and were some of the last to be seated) and could have sat longer if we didn't have places to go.

All in all great value for money and will definitely be my first choice if attending any more gigs at the Empire. Close to the Tube station and the venue.

Room Tip: I would imagine rooms upstairs are quiter, we were in the front bottom room facing the road and it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah_Sheffield_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

The Royal London is staffed by very friendly and efficient people. Great value for money and a cooked breakfast is included. I'm fussy with my eggs (I like them hard) and the staff did an excellent job in accommodating to my tastes. Although the rooms are small, I have had smaller at a higher tariff. The single bed needed either a fitted bottom sheet or a larger sheet that doesn't come loose easily.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The rooms are very small, but are cleaned everyday and towels changed. The breakfast is pretty basic but the location is good for getting around London. Overall this hotel was good, clean and cheap if you just need a place to sleep and wash whilst in London. The staff were friendly also.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazkaili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We had booked in the Saba hotel, but they checked us into the Royal London Hotel, which is just alittle further down the street. We stayed in a triple room. Nice clean room, tv, fridge and possibility to make a coffee or tea. Short walk from tube station. Staff is very friendly. The breakfast is basic, but very good and plenty for a full days walk ahead.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midnightowl_be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Location is excellent with transportation at the doorstep. Breakfast is basic but certainly enough to start the day. I loved the coffee machine which offered latte, capuchino, mocha, etc. Facility, however, is not very comfortable. Sheets are not
fitted so you end up sleeping on the bare mattress. Not enough lighting in the rooms for reading a book. Stairs are steep and narrow and are hard to navigate for seniors. I have reservations recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grandmajoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Royal Guest House 2
#752 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Hotel 65
#756 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Comfotel Prpl
#821 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pearl Hotel London
#832 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Grantly Hotel
Grantly Hotel
#681 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Saba Hotel London
#159 of 555 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal London Hotel

Property: Royal London Hotel
Address: 47 Shepherds Bush Road | Hammersmith, London W6 7LU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #275 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal London Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal London Hotel is Town House Hotel all rooms are En Suite with free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing