We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot!”
Review of Mayfair Tandoori - CLOSED

Mayfair Tandoori
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Serves Alcohol
Neighbourhood: Mayfair
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great spot!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We fell upon this small restaurant the day we arrived. We were exhausted and thankful they were open for an early dinner. The food was fantastic and I was thankful to have delicious Indian food because where I live (in the suburbs), it is hard to find!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank NTN2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    4
    10
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not sure I would return”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I generally go try to have Indian food at least once while visiting London. I was staying in Mayfair, so decided to try this little place in Shepherd Market. I hesitated to go in because it was nearly empty, but ultimately decided I would give it a try because I didn't feel like walking. I stood in the doorway for a good five minutes before anyone showed up to seat me. Once seated, I ordered the meal and a beer relatively quickly. I liked the lamb vindaloo quite a bit -- the food was definitely satisfactory. Not outstanding, but good. What annoyed me, was how long it took me to get the bill when I was the only one left in the restaurant at the end of the meal! The hostess and the cook, a young man, stood around talking about what the cook would do on his day off. She kept encouraging him not to get drunk. Maybe they were flirting, I don't know. But the whole thing was inappropriate. Great location, decent food, poor service -- they could do better!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cramsay1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Delicious”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

I am from Kentucky and was on vacation visiting my fiancé in Brighton. We wandered around for a while and happened upon this place tucked away in a corner. We walked pasted a crowd of businessment and as soon as we entered it was quiet. I guess we hit them at a slow time. No one was there. The waited immediately helped us, light candles and played beautiful music through his iPod and a dock. I ordered a lamb dish and my fiancé ordered something too spicy for me to handle. Our service was great and our food was delicious. My fiancé and I frequently talk about returning when I visit again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Makayla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice little Indian restaurant in Shepherds Market - Mayfari”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

A nice smaller Indian restaurant in Shepherds Market area of Mayfair. Attentive staff, food is quite good and not too much of it, just the right amount. If you like good and not too expensive Indian and like smaller local places, this is a good one.

Much warmer upstairs than the downstairs dining area so keep in mind if you want to be cooler (or warmer).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank sdbolts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“STAY AWAY....”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Cold-warm food, tasteless and cheap, AVOID at all costs, a packet curry tastes better than this rubbish...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frank w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mayfair Tandoori also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing