We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb little hideaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abbey Wood Caravan Club Site
Ranked #46 of 843 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Superb little hideaway”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Spent 6 nights here last week in our motorhome. This is the second time we have been here, the previous time was August for the Olympics and we found it fantastic both times.
Relatively easy to find and negotiate in a large vehicle. When you arrive on the site it seems almost rural, lots of trees and greenery (even in the winter) You wouldn't really know how close you were to London.
My daughter was working in the West End for a few days so we went in on the train with her every day. Its just a 10 min walk to the station and a 40 min direct train to Charing Cross - we walked up to Leicester Square from there in around 10 mins rather than bothering with the underground.
The surrounding area, particularly the area on the way to the station looks a bit dodgy if I'm honest but even when we got back really late there were no safety issues and we were happy to walk back to the site.
The site itself is beautifully laid out with large pitches and spotlessly clean toilet blocks and showers.
The wardens are friendly and helpfull and a mine of information about cheap restaurants in the city etc.
Didnt eat at the take aways or the Indian Restaurant in Abbey Wood itself - didnt really like the look of them but there are a couple of other shops where you can pick up bits and pieces on the way to the station.
Overall we love this site and will definitely go back - well done The Caravan Club!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karensolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    29
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
50
34
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We booked into Abbey Wood with 5 other families/couples to watch some events at the Paralympics. I had wondered what to expect of a campsite practically in the middle of London, but am delighted to say it was needless concern.
The whole site is great!
From arrival through to check out a week later not one of us could find fault with any aspect. Spotless shower and toilet blocks, well spaced across the site, with hot water at all hours. With clean and well maintained prep'/washing up kitchens at each block. We didn't use the laundry facilities but they looked as well maintained as the other facilities.
The wardens were friendly, approachable and informative.
The site is a 5-10 minute walk from the train station (Abbey Wood) and a row of local shops. And 2 minutes from Abbey Woods itself, absolutely great for early morning runs, strolls or dog walks, and the abbey ruins and gardens, with TI centre and tea shop! (we didn't catch the shop or TI open, because we were there and gone before they opened in the mornings, but everything was immaculately kept and looked great)

All members of our large group would definitely use the site again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We had tickets for two days at the Paralympics Athletics so although we only live 35 miles away from Stratford, we decided to book our caravan in at Abbey Wood for five days.. what a good decision that was !! Ten minutes easy walk to the station or bus stop and local shops.
We went to the Olympic Park for two days then did the 'tourist bit' for 3 days and as pensioners with bus passes it was great. We did use the train with our travel card provided with our tickets on the days we were there, we also went to Greenwich and went of the cable car, went to Trafalgar Square, Hyde Park,and did a boat trip from Jubilee Gardens back to Greenwich...
A lovely site with excellent facilities, wild life and very helpful staff. We shall definitely go back ! Where else can you stay at those prices so near town..

Room Tip: If you have a pitch choice and like the sun try for a pitch lower down on the site, we were up neare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We loved this site! This is the usual standard of caravan club sites and the wardens are great and very freindly. Transport is accessible, the train is only 7 minutes walk, also a high street of shops and takeaways are near the train station. The site is peaceful and the kids loved it, very safe and secure and the play area is lovely. The planes do fly over head but not all night you forget them after a while. A great base to explore london.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SacredG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth,Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We booked this site after researching places on the net! You can book it without fear its fantastic. Very clean and modern toilet blocks very helpful staff and a well cared for site.
The only slightly negative thing is aircraft noise from London City Airport but all in all a small price to pay for its proximity to the big city!
Squirrels, parakeets and woodpeckers are only some of the wildlife we saw on our visit.
To get about buy an Oyster card. You can use it on the bus, tram, dlr and trains in London.
It costs £5 (refundable) and top it up as you need it! £2.30 bus trips then cost £1.50 saving us £1.60 on our first use returning from Greenwich to Abbey Wood on the number 180 bus : )
All in all a great site,popular with french,german,dutch visitors and us two Scottish tourists too.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grumpy356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I had never been camping before and chose this site for four days in London. It is small, yet tidy, clean and well run. Check in was simple and the staff were friendly. We were told we could pitch our tent anywhere in the main patch of grass. The two car parking areas mean that you are not walking miles to your car if you leave anything in there.

The shower and toilet blocks were clean, warm and well maintained. Perfect for a first timer like me. Once you leave the site and head towards the train station it does feel like you are walking through a council estate, but this is a London borough and they will always look worse than it is.

The train station is actually no more than a ten minute walk and the centre of London is about thirty five minutes away. We never investigated the night bus, although we're told that there was one.

We had a great few days in London all in all and the staff were more than accommodating when I advised that we had to leave a day early.

We will definitely return to the site for a couple of days in London again. Thank you for a great first time camping experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fillyerboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012 via mobile

The site itself is kept well as you would expect from caravan club sites. Clean, and pitches are good size. Entrance exit barrier was annoying as you have to get out of your car to open and close it. Then separate entrance barrier with keycode.
As a base for London it was ideal. Abbey wood station is literally a 5 minute walk from the site. The area itself is a typical greater London suburb, a little run down but we weren't there to visit abbey wood. We bought off peak travel cards which gives you a days unlimited public transport for less than £10. Got train to either London Bridge or Cannon Street, then changed to underground or bus if you prefer, and all the sights of London are yours to explore. Would definitely use site again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsutt74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travelodge London Woolwich
#457 of 1,067 in London
359 reviews
Bexleyheath Marriott Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bexleyheath
714 reviews
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Wood Caravan Club Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Wood Caravan Club Site

Property: Abbey Wood Caravan Club Site
Address: Federation Road | London, London SE2 0LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 843 Speciality Lodging in London
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey Wood Caravan Club Site is a Caravan Club Golden Jubilee Site and feels positively rural when you reach this gently sloping verdant site. Its mature tree screening and spacious grounds making it a secure site. Good railway connections are within walking distance of the caravan site and will get you into Central London in just 35 minutes. Alternatively, nearby Greenwich offers its own blend of fascinating attractions, including the famous observatory. River cruises operate from nearby Abbey Wood Caravan Club Site between Greenwich, Tower Bridge, Westminster, Kew, Richmond and Hampton Court. Open all year, this is a busy caravan site and is very popular with European visitors during the summer months. There are good reasons to visit Abbey Wood throughout the year though. The Christmas Lights, shopping at the January Sales, the London Marathon, Excel Centre and the Chelsea Flower show can all be enjoyed from this scenic, yet well placed, site. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing