We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still happy after 20 years”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marlyn Lodge - Serviced Apartments
Ranked #9 of 923 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I have been renting at Marlyn Lodge for over 20 years on my business trips to London. The location is perfect for accessing the London financial district all my appointments are within walking distance. With the relatively recent renovations they are an even better bargain than before and much more reasonable than local hotels. The recent updates to cehckin procedures etc. are wonerful making the process so much easier.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

The location of Marlyn Lodge was perfect - close to Tube stations, attractions and services. Check in was easy with an email with instructions sent to us before our arrival. The kitchen in unit 203 was updated, albeit small. It would have been nice to have salt and pepper, etc. in the cupboard though. Would definitely recommend this unit/location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrosProp, Manager at Marlyn Lodge - Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Leanne,

Its great again to hear a glowing report of our apartments!

We have now added sea salt and pepper to our apartments this week. So we now provide tea/coffee/sugar and salt and pepper along with all the kitchen utensils you need to cook.

We do feel it is difficult to offer many more perishables due to cleaning and health and safety.

Again, thanks for taking the time to write a review for us, its much appreciated.

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This flat couldn't be more convenient at a great price. Situated between two Tube stations with two convenience stores (Sainsbury's & Tesco) literally round the corner. Number of pubs and eateries within easy walking distance. Tower of London short stroll away, too. I can see what other people have said about the kitchen needing updating but that's merely cosmetic and that didn't spoil our enjoyment of the holiday. The only bugbears we had were small cleaning issues. No reason not to recommend this accommodation - as indeed I have done to anyone who's asked about our trip!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mwwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrosProp, Manager at Marlyn Lodge - Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thanks for your kind words regarding our accommodation, we are so thrilled you are recommending us to your contacts as we do feel we have a fantastic product at a brilliant price.

In regards to the kitchen, we fully take on board your comments and we completely agree, however we are trying to make our apartments available to all budgets.

We are looking into finding a supplier to cost and fit 18 new kitchens, we also need to find the time to for them as we are busy throughout the year.

We did have one set of clients who thought they were perfectly adequate and would be happy with the current setup if there was an indication of price increase with a new kitchen! So it will be a juggling act to keep everyone happy but ultimately that is our goal!

Once again, thanks for finding the time to write your review it is greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My husband, adult son and I stayed in Flat 409 recently for 7 nights.
Whilst a good reno/makeover is well overdue it was an excellent choice for our needs. Bed was comfortable, spotless linen, fresh towels daily if needed and plentiful high pressure hot and cold water at all times. The living room and bedroom were flooded with natural light which is a huge plus in my book, although it may be a bit too warm in July and August as we had the ceiling fans on non stop in mid May.Once there, the location is fabulous….we hired a cab from Heathrow which cost 90 Pounds ( return flights to Dublin were cheaper ) but took the tube from Tower Hill for the return journey which requires a change to the Piccadilly Line further along the line. Make sure to change at Hammersmith as there is a cross platform change which means not hauling luggage up and down stairs. Communication with the letting agent was excellent at all times which made the complete process seamless. Highly recommended for those wanting basic accommodation with a very reasonable price tag.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goodcarmabythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Two of us stayed 6 nights here - I loved this location. Just a 3 minute walk to a bus which goes to Covent Garden and a 4 minute walk to Tower Bridge tube station. Groceries are available at Tesco which is only a minute's walk away. The area is great for tourist attractions and to walk across Tower Bridge to the great restaurants at Butlers Wharf.

The accommodation (studio), while a bit dated, was clean, with even dish washing liquid left for us. There is a lift, which is great for luggage! The fully equipped kitchen with washing machine/dryer and fridge/freezer was great. Wifi worked well.

Checking in/out was a breeze.

A really good value for money accommodation. My only wish was that there was air-conditioning... though there is a fan, it was still warm.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharonsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrosProp, Manager at Marlyn Lodge - Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Sharon,

You have your words spot on, I always forget how charming Butlers Wharf is just over Tower Bridge, its great that you explored the local area to its full potential.

We do supply Tea/Coffee/Washing Liquid/Hand Soap/Shampoo & Conditioner and shower gel, with a daily change of towels at no extra charge so that you can enjoy your stay and not have to bring any of those annoying items through customs or buy and leave behind!

We are making sure all apartments have an air conditioning unit going forward and will be rolled out shortly.

Again, we thank you for your time in writing about our apartments.

Take care
Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our family of 4 stayed in flat #407 for 8 days in this place. We enjoyed it very much. The booking was easy and the instructions prior to and after our arrival were very helpful. It was a self-assisted place but whenever we needed help, the staff were very helpful and friendly. The interior of the rooms is decent and clean (there was a bit of carpeted-room smell when walk in but not noticeable after staying for a while). The room has pretty much all we needed, including the kitchen utensils and bathroom tissues and towels and shampoo stuff. The location is great, walking distance to the Tower Bridge, Tower of London and 2 Underground stations (Aldgate and Tower Hill). The last night we were there, we walked all the way home from the London Eye area along the river bank, and enjoyed it very much. There is a grocery store Tesco right around the corner of the lodge where we got our food daily (it has an ATM outside, too). Many restaurants are in the neighborhood. London is now my favorite city outside of USA, thanks to this great flat. I'd definitely come back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 189Amy189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrosProp, Manager at Marlyn Lodge - Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Amy,

Many thanks for your review!

Its great to hear another spot on review for what we feel is such a great accommodation for the location and price and size of apartment!

Just to mention about the carpet, we recently updated 5 apartments with new carpet and yours was one of them!

Take care and so happy we helped to make London your favourite city outside of USA!

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed 5 days in this nice condo. It has many positive things you may consider to rent it:
-location (wonderful location close to London Tower and the city of London, marvelous views!), -a supermarket in the corner, underground just 3 blocks) and the price (which is a major reason to consider this apartment).
The condo is nice, clean and it has basic amenities to you enjoy the stay (do not except anybody is waiting to welcome to you, but this is Europe, so it is ok).
In summary, I highly recommend this flat, you will enjoy your stay in London.

Room Tip: I just new the ap 409, it was nice to me, I recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Whitechapel
Leman Locke
Leman Locke
#8 of 923 in London
292 reviews
City of London
Cheval Three Quays
Cheval Three Quays
#1 of 923 in London
2,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
SACO - The Cannon
SACO - The Cannon
#3 of 923 in London
166 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlyn Lodge - Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlyn Lodge - Serviced Apartments

Address: Marlyn Lodge 2 Portsoken Street, London E1 8RB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 923 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: £96 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The apartments are designed to cater for the needs of people visiting London either on vacation, business or residential use. The accommodation includes spacious studio apartments and one bedroom suites. Facilities include WiFi broadband, direct dial telephone and room safe. The apartments offer a cost effective and pleasant alternative to hotels and give the visitor somewhere to live as opposed to simply staying in a hotel room. We also provide the accommodation to both large and small companies and because of the level of repeat business we receive we believe we fulfil the needs of the business visitor to London as well. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing