We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marlyn Lodge - Serviced Apartments
Ranked #9 of 823 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location, location, location!!!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Overall we were very happy with our stay in #508 at Marlyn Lodge! Check in was easy with explicit instructions sent to us via email before our arrival. The king size bed in our room was very comfortable but unfortunately the pull out sofa bed in the livingroom that my brother and his partner were supposed to sleep on was not. When I called Andrew about it, he was very apologetic and said he would see to the sofa bed after we checked out. In the meantime, he refunded my brother's portion of the bill and offered an apartment for one night free of charge which we thought was very fair.
The apartment was well equipped with wi-fi, a big screen t.v. in the livingroom and bedroom, washing machine and drying rack, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, safe to store our passports etc. in, and a kitchen equipped to do light cooking in.
The location of Marlyn Lodge was so handy to the Tower Hill or Aldgate Tube Stations on the Circle and District Lines, and to the DLR. There were lots of great restaurants and pubs in the area. We especially enjoyed the short walk to the St. Katherine Docks area which offered a great variety of restaurants to choose from and was so picturesque!
We would recommend Marlyn Lodge to our family and friends and will definitely want to stay there the next time we visit London.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carole b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    176
    22
    5
    4
See reviews for
250
118
14
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Marlyn Lodge was the ideal place for my family of 4 to stay. You are literally a 5 minute walk to the Tower Hill Station, where you are able to catch the Central or District line trains. If you need to transfer to a different line you can do so with ease. The Tower Hill station is right across the street from the Tower of London, and the Tower Bridge, so maybe tack on another 5 minutes.

As for the accommodations……very good!! It was a very quiet place to rest at the end of a long day of walking. The beds were comfortable, although my husband would have liked a harder bed, but that is a personal preference. Reading other reviews about the kitchen, it was fine! Clean, all appliances worked, loved having a clothes washer. Just having the ability to make breakfast, and a picnic lunch was invaluable. There are a LOT of restaurants around, and the grocery was right around the corner.

Jorge downstairs, was very helpful and friendly, as was the housekeeper. Christine and Andrew were organized in taking our reservation, and answered any question/concerns that we had.

Definitely will stay there again, and have already told friends about Marlyn Lodge!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OmahaKs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I have been renting at Marlyn Lodge for over 20 years on my business trips to London. The location is perfect for accessing the London financial district all my appointments are within walking distance. With the relatively recent renovations they are an even better bargain than before and much more reasonable than local hotels. The recent updates to cehckin procedures etc. are wonerful making the process so much easier.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The location of Marlyn Lodge was perfect - close to Tube stations, attractions and services. Check in was easy with an email with instructions sent to us before our arrival. The kitchen in unit 203 was updated, albeit small. It would have been nice to have salt and pepper, etc. in the cupboard though. Would definitely recommend this unit/location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrosProp, Manager at Marlyn Lodge - Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Leanne,

Its great again to hear a glowing report of our apartments!

We have now added sea salt and pepper to our apartments this week. So we now provide tea/coffee/sugar and salt and pepper along with all the kitchen utensils you need to cook.

We do feel it is difficult to offer many more perishables due to cleaning and health and safety.

Again, thanks for taking the time to write a review for us, its much appreciated.

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This flat couldn't be more convenient at a great price. Situated between two Tube stations with two convenience stores (Sainsbury's & Tesco) literally round the corner. Number of pubs and eateries within easy walking distance. Tower of London short stroll away, too. I can see what other people have said about the kitchen needing updating but that's merely cosmetic and that didn't spoil our enjoyment of the holiday. The only bugbears we had were small cleaning issues. No reason not to recommend this accommodation - as indeed I have done to anyone who's asked about our trip!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrosProp, Manager at Marlyn Lodge - Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thanks for your kind words regarding our accommodation, we are so thrilled you are recommending us to your contacts as we do feel we have a fantastic product at a brilliant price.

In regards to the kitchen, we fully take on board your comments and we completely agree, however we are trying to make our apartments available to all budgets.

We are looking into finding a supplier to cost and fit 18 new kitchens, we also need to find the time to for them as we are busy throughout the year.

We did have one set of clients who thought they were perfectly adequate and would be happy with the current setup if there was an indication of price increase with a new kitchen! So it will be a juggling act to keep everyone happy but ultimately that is our goal!

Once again, thanks for finding the time to write your review it is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My husband, adult son and I stayed in Flat 409 recently for 7 nights.
Whilst a good reno/makeover is well overdue it was an excellent choice for our needs. Bed was comfortable, spotless linen, fresh towels daily if needed and plentiful high pressure hot and cold water at all times. The living room and bedroom were flooded with natural light which is a huge plus in my book, although it may be a bit too warm in July and August as we had the ceiling fans on non stop in mid May.Once there, the location is fabulous….we hired a cab from Heathrow which cost 90 Pounds ( return flights to Dublin were cheaper ) but took the tube from Tower Hill for the return journey which requires a change to the Piccadilly Line further along the line. Make sure to change at Hammersmith as there is a cross platform change which means not hauling luggage up and down stairs. Communication with the letting agent was excellent at all times which made the complete process seamless. Highly recommended for those wanting basic accommodation with a very reasonable price tag.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodcarmabythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Two of us stayed 6 nights here - I loved this location. Just a 3 minute walk to a bus which goes to Covent Garden and a 4 minute walk to Tower Bridge tube station. Groceries are available at Tesco which is only a minute's walk away. The area is great for tourist attractions and to walk across Tower Bridge to the great restaurants at Butlers Wharf.

The accommodation (studio), while a bit dated, was clean, with even dish washing liquid left for us. There is a lift, which is great for luggage! The fully equipped kitchen with washing machine/dryer and fridge/freezer was great. Wifi worked well.

Checking in/out was a breeze.

A really good value for money accommodation. My only wish was that there was air-conditioning... though there is a fan, it was still warm.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrosProp, Manager at Marlyn Lodge - Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Sharon,

You have your words spot on, I always forget how charming Butlers Wharf is just over Tower Bridge, its great that you explored the local area to its full potential.

We do supply Tea/Coffee/Washing Liquid/Hand Soap/Shampoo & Conditioner and shower gel, with a daily change of towels at no extra charge so that you can enjoy your stay and not have to bring any of those annoying items through customs or buy and leave behind!

We are making sure all apartments have an air conditioning unit going forward and will be rolled out shortly.

Again, we thank you for your time in writing about our apartments.

Take care
Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
City of London
Chamberlain Hotel
Chamberlain Hotel
#119 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#80 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel
City of London
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlyn Lodge - Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlyn Lodge - Serviced Apartments

Property: Marlyn Lodge - Serviced Apartments
Address: Marlyn Lodge 2 Portsoken Street, London E1 8RB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 823 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The apartments are designed to cater for the needs of people visiting London either on vacation, business or residential use. The accommodation includes spacious studio apartments and one bedroom suites. Facilities include WiFi broadband, direct dial telephone and room safe. The apartments offer a cost effective and pleasant alternative to hotels and give the visitor somewhere to live as opposed to simply staying in a hotel room. We also provide the accommodation to both large and small companies and because of the level of repeat business we receive we believe we fulfil the needs of the business visitor to London as well. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing