We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
122 Great Titchfield Street B&B
Ranked #112 of 554 London B&B and Inns
Vaud
2 reviews
“excellent stay”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Friendly welcome and from start to finish everything was impeccable. Breakfast was fantastic!

Will return for sure, location cannot be beaten for visiting friends in London.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotia81Vaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    13
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
27
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Having stayed here for almost a week last month, I can only endorse the extremely positive reviews already posted on this site. While now resident in the US, I lived and worked in London a decade ago, and I was delighted to find somewhere to stay in my old stomping ground of Fitzrovia, when I returned on a research visit. The location is excellent, equally distant from Goodge Street, Warren Street and Oxford Circus tube stops, and also close to the bus routes to points east along the Euston Road. The neighborhood has real character, with a few hold outs from the old 'garment district days' but also an increasingly hip fashion, media and design presence. If you're arriving after a long journey, there is a decent selection of places to eat and drink within a couple of blocks, but, if you need a good night's sleep, the B&B is also on a stretch of Great Titchfield without a pub, a benefit which is not to be sniffed at in this part of town. The vibrant (not to say priapic) nightlife of Soho, and the more sedate (but charming) shopping and dining of Marylebone (if you're new to London, Marylebone High Street has many of the chains, but with none of the teeming tackiness, of the West End, and - in addition - the brilliant Daunt Books) are a relatively short walk away. Mike and Wendy are kind and attentive when needed, but don't cramp you either. If you're bringing work, the large glass-toped desk in the bedroom I had was an added bonus, and a pleasing contrast to the pokey desks found in most London hotel rooms. The breakfasts are excellent, fusing an excellent food supply source (the upscale Villandry, on Great Portland Street) with Mike and Wendy's own attention to presentation and quality. The bathroom was genuinely creative in terms of how it secured the prerogatives of functionality and style in what was ostensibly an extremely confined space. It's a smart, bright and well-located place to stay, and I'll certainly be going back. Like another reviewer, I'm conflicted over my desire to praise and my selfish desire to keep it a secret (especially since - and I'll add this sotto voce - the rates are extremely competitive in London's over-priced hotel market). I should add that another advantage for travelers coming from the US, is that you can pay using Am Ex (through Paypal) - frustratingly, a a lot of smaller UK establishments don't accept it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Constanza1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakhurst, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

As frequent travelers to B&Bs both in America and abroad, Mike and Wendy, our very gracious hosts, provide superb accommodations. Our breakfasts were filling and custom to our desire, free Wi-Fi in the room-a major plus in London, easy access to public buses and underground, and of course the ambiance of their neighborhood with a cultural variety of different foods for the tasting. Both are wealth of information about what is happening in London and more than happy to share it. The only drawback in room 1 was that there was no TV though for many that may not be much of an issue. Would stay there again without hesitation. Jeff and Liz

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBLover1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

A dilemma - what do you do when you find somewhere, especially in a city like London, where you would like always to find a room available on the dates you choose? You could just decide not to tell any else about it or, even more effectively, just give it a really poor review. But that wouldn't be very nice, would it? Especially when Mike & Wendy have put such a lot of themselves into this first class B&B venture.
So, whether you want a traditional B&B set up, or the flexibility of a self-catering studio (or, the best of both worlds - the self-catering studio with a freshly prepared breakfast delivered to your kitchen table!), I can, rather reluctantly, thoroughly recommend 122 Great Titchfield Street.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isleofwightseagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

A perfect start to our holiday. We were in the self catering flat, and it was great. Roomy, bright, well equipped and well located. Mike and Wendy have done an outstanding job converting this into a lovely self contained studio, perfect for retreating from the business of London to catch your breath before diving in again! Easy to get to all the main sights either on foot or public transport. Quiet enough to relax and sleep well and an outstanding array of food for every palate and budget nearby. Would love to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I stayed here for one week and found this a perfect B&B. Excellent location, with a Boris Bike right in front of the door step. My room was big, light and elegantly decorated, with a lot of books. The Breakfast was amazing, always with fresh fruits, warm toasts and very good Coffee. And of course, Mike and Wendy are a kind and lovely couple. I really liked my staying and I'm sure you'll like it too.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanarasl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights. This is a really interesting neighborhood and we quickly became acquainted with the local pubs and cafes. Michael and Wendy were wonderful hosts. Delicious, hot breakfast every morning. Lovely room. Everything is close to this part of town so we walked most days, but the Oxford Circus line is very close as well. Astrid the dog is sweet and will share your toast and home-made marmalade with you! I highly recomend this B&B if you're looking for something off the tourist path.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_PMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Grange Langham Court
Grange Langham Court
#522 of 1,069 in London
590 reviews
Fitzrovia
Astor Court Hotel
Astor Court Hotel
#587 of 1,069 in London
673 reviews
Fitzrovia
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
#517 of 1,069 in London
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
Rathbone Hotel
Rathbone Hotel
#296 of 1,069 in London
1,074 reviews
Fitzrovia
Central London Serviced Aparthotel
Parkwood at Marble Arch
#32 of 554 in London
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 122 Great Titchfield Street B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 122 Great Titchfield Street B&B

Property: 122 Great Titchfield Street B&B
Address: 122 Great Titchfield Street | Fitzrovia, London W1W 6ST, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 554 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DESCRIPTION Bed and Breakfast right in the heart of central London in private home owned by architects. Expect a friendly welcome from your hosts Mike and Wendy. Well appointed rooms and English or continental breakfasts made from fresh ingredients and cooked to order. We have two large double or twin rooms with en suite facilities. For those who prefer to cater for themselves, we also offer a comfortable and generously sized self-catering suite, with private kitchen facilities. ROOM RATES £150.00 Double Rooms £120.00 Single Rooms £150.00 Self Catering - includes a food hamper Breakfast, service and taxes are included in the B&B room rate. Welcome food hamper included in the self catering rate. Children: An extra bed is available in all rooms for one or two children - £50.00 Per night. Pets welcome: One off charge of £20.00 PLEASE VISIT OUR WEBSITE FOR MORE DETAILS ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing