We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for travelling and tidiest hotel I've been away for business”
Review of Cart And Horses

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cart And Horses
Ranked #185 of 558 London B&B and Inns
Braunton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location for travelling and tidiest hotel I've been away for business”
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I booked this hotel in late september because it was linked to all the travelling services you need to get around in London. The rooms were very clean also the staff and landlord were very helpful with the rooms and directions to get places. The band what was on over the weekend was excellent. And you get good choice of cereals from the breakfast cupboard. The En-Suite in the bedroom was nice and spacious and the bedroom was also good with wardrobes and a comfy bed!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Owner at Cart And Horses, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Hello Peter,

Thank you for your review and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed staying in our hotel.
We are pleased that your room was to your liking and you were happy with our facilities on offer.

We hope you can stay with us again in the future!

Kind regards,
Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    19
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
8
15
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for a couple of days to watch the ATP tennis in the 02.

This hotel was great as it was close to the 02 as well as the west end for shopping.

It was clean and comfortable and the staff were really nice and helpful.

Will definitely return next time we are in London!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig_Mcnally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Owner at Cart And Horses, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Hi Craig,

Thank you for your time whilst writing this review, it is greatly appreciated.
We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Cart and Horses and found both your room and our facilities to your liking.
We hope you can stay with us again in the future!

Kind regards,
Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I booked a double room for me and my boyfriend to stay over for the weekend so that we could see a show in a theatre in the West End and also see the Iconic Olympic site and do a spot of shopping in Westfields Shopping centre the next day.

I cannot stress enough how great the hospitality was, how fantasically clean the room was and how brilliant the service and the facilities were for the money I had paid!

The room was spotless, spacious enough for a weekend stay, and provided us with a wide screen TV, a guest book which displayed all the necessary information we needed, as well as a brilliant en-suite with a high pressured shower (Heaven) and all the shampoo, conditioner and shower gel I could ask for!

They also included a selection of cereals to choose from and tea and coffee was also provided in the room.

The Landlord was brilliant and we chatted to him for ages after we came back from the theatre on the Friday night. We enjoyed a few drinks in the bar to listen to the band that were playing and had a great night!

The location aspect is PERFECT...especially if you want to go to Westfield (5 mins walk) and the West end is literally 10 minutes by train so what more can you ask for?

I can honestly say that the Cart & Horses is the perfect place and great value to stay if you want to be local to everything and have a lovely clean and modern room to stay in.

And also can I mention FREE PARKING!? Name another place in Inner London where they provide that for free?

For £69, you cannot go wrong! definately will be coming back when I book more tickets for another West End Show!

Room Tip: Choose a room that has an ensuite if your a girl or your a couple, the shower is brilliant! and ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Owner at Cart And Horses, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Hi Charley,

Thank you for your time whilst writing this review, it is greatly appreciated.
We were delighted to hear that you really enjoyed your stay at the Cart and Horses and you were pleased with both the hotel and Bar areas.

Thank you for this kind review and we hope you can stay with us again in the future!

Kind regards,
Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I booked this hotel for me and boyfriend to stay for one night. I had compared to various other hotels thinking this was definitely the best one, I was wrong!

The only positive aspect of our stay was that the room was very clean, no dust or anything at all, so thank you for that.

However, that is where the positives end, and I left the hotel extremely disappointed.

Firstly, the staff are extremely unfriendly. You would think for it being a pub the staff would have some people skills but we did not even receive a 'hello' when we first entered the pub. The staff member then walked us up the stairs and showed us to our room. He looked miserable and pretty much mumbled everything. We also passed another member of staff at a different point during our stay and she was just the same.

We were also very annoyed when we first arrived to find that our radiator was not on. Arriving after spending 20 minutes in an ice cold pour down of rain, we were more than annoyed that our room too was ice cold.

After an hour, the radiator still had not heated up our room, and the only way for us to alert the attention of the staff was to put on our winter coats, walk outside and round to the entrance and queue at the bar!! Ridiculous!

I had also booked this hotel over others because the website boasted live music every Friday and Saturday night. But this one night they did not have a band, but a very loud 'disco'. So that was disappointing.

Also smaller things, but just as annoying: The UHT cream that was provided in the room (not milk, just cream) was out of date! And when we went to get cereal in the morning there was minimal milk left. Also the bulb in the bedside lamp had blown.

So if the only thing you are bothered about is cleanliness then this hotel is great for that. But if you are bothered about noise/friendliness/convenience/essentials then do not go to this hotel. It was just terrible!

Also, definitely not worth the £70ish I paid.

Room Tip: Get an ensuite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reneelaurajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Owner at Cart And Horses, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Hello Reneelaurajones,

I would firstly like to thank you for your review and for staying in our hotel.
We were very unhappy to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you experienced a number of problems during your stay.
To begin, thank you for appreciating our high standard of cleanliness. We try our hardest to ensure that the hotel is extremely clean for every guest who stays with us and make sure our decor is constantly maintained. We are very proud of our high standards and plan to uphold them.
We apologise profusely for the member of staff that checked you in and their manner when greeting you. We will look into which member of staff this was and ensure this does not happen again.
All of our staff are trained to greet both our hotel guests and bar customers in the same manner which is polite, informative and courteous.
Please accept our apologies in regards to the radiator that was not fully functioning within your room. During check-in the member of staff did inform you that we had recently had a brand new heating system installed that included a new boiler and Mega flow, which added to an old system, was still causing teething problems. We had thought, up until then that all of our radiators were working fully and all of the problems had been resolved.
For those reasons mentioned above, there was air that needed to be let out of your radiator, which we did as soon as we were made aware. However, as we were unable to control the weather outside, it was just a case of a bad coincidence.
The bar that is situated underneath the hotel does feature live music every Friday and Saturday night. On this occasion, the band that was due to perform had had to cancel at the last minute. Their bass guitarist had suffered an injury at work that had resulted in him breaking his wrist as a lump of concrete had fallen onto his wrist. In circumstances such as this, it was too late to find a replacement and we had no other choice but to use our own in house stereo system.
In regards to the cream that was provided within your room, I can only apologise again for this mishap occurring. I was completely unaware that any of our stock was out of date and assure you that this is not normal procedure in our hotel.
In addition, the milk and cereal that we provide for breakfast in the morning is always allocated in excess of the amount of guests we have staying with us. However from time to time we do have guests that choose to take all of the milk for themselves and do not consider other guests. In circumstances such as these we can only apologise for another guest’s self-indulgence.
Our housekeeping inspects all elements of a room when preparing it for a new guest, as is apparent due to our high levels of cleanliness. Please again accept our apologies for this oversight that occurred with the bedside lamp.
Once again I would like to say how sorry I am that you did not enjoy your stay at the Cart and Horses. I do appreciate that no apology from me or my staff will undo the discomfort you experienced but I hope you understand that this is not normal procedure at the Cart and horses and in no way was it deliberate but merely a case of human error.
Thank you again for your informative review and we have taken all of these points on board and will ensure they are rectified at the first instant. We hope you can accept our apology and may stay with us again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Justin and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I have been booking accommodation at the Cart and Horses since February 2011 and cannot speak highly enough of the service provided. We still, to date, stay here on a weekly basis and every visit is as good as the others. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, the staff are wonderful and extremely helpful - the price is very reasonable. It’s in a perfect location - with parking! Whenever we are in the area, accommodation will be booked here - without a doubt. =)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TalbotFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Owner at Cart And Horses, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Hello Talbotfarm,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, it is greatly appreciated.
We were delighted to hear that both you and your staff were pleased with our hotel and enjoy coming back time after time.
We look forward to your next booking and seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

If you like staying in a tiny room ...with no wardrobes next to a busy loud street , with the trains echoing throughout the night then this is for you . Also if you enjoy a landlord who never smiles and will help you out during your stay then he's your man ...the service was shocking and he was rude , six of us will never ever go back ..also ten rooms and one shower to share ! ! What a lovely sight after a hard days work , 20 men queuing to have a wash , probably better to get us all out the back and hose us down ...the previous review was spot on with cupboard and cereal selection , also you have to eat it on your bed. ...overall worst place I ever stayed at in 15 years of working away .

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stickler1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Cart And Horses, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Hello Stickler1927,

Firstly I would like to thank you for your review and for staying in our hotel in June 2012.
We were very saddened to hear that you hadn't enjoyed your stay and that you had encountered some problems during your stay.

To begin we are sorry that the passing trains disturbed your sleep whilst you stayed with us. As much as we would like the trains to be quieter and less disturbing, this is completely out of our hands and all we can do is apologise profusely for the disturbance experienced.

I also apologise for any lack of customer service you experienced during your stay. I will personally take it upon myself to look into the matter and rectify this problem. All of our guests are our main priority and we strive to maintain an excellent level of service provided to all. Again I am sorry that you were unhappy with the level of service experienced.

When making your booking, you would have been made aware that our hotel has a mixture of both en suite rooms and rooms that share shower and toilet facilities. Only a few of our hotel rooms use the shared facilities and we have always checked with our guests that the shared facilities match their requirements and if they have in any way, struggled to gain access. Again we are very sorry that you experienced problems and had to queue.

As our hotel has a maximum occupancy of 18 (including those in en suite rooms) we will have to investigate as to why there was a queue of 20. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention.
In your review you also mentioned the lack of a wardrobe in your room. Some of our rooms offer stand alone wardrobes and fitted storage. We are currently updating out storage and having unit’s custom made. Due to delays we are still awaiting delivery of some units. Again I am deeply sorry that you were unhappy with the storage facilities we had available.

Our continental breakfast does consist of cereals that are held in a cupboard area but again we are sorry that you didn’t like this arrangement. We offer breakfast in this manner as many guests prefer to eat in their rooms privately.

We have taken all of your comments on board and are constantly striving to improve our service and standards for all guests who stay with us. I hope you can accept our sincere apologies and thank you again for choosing to stay in our hotel.

Kind regards
Miste & Staff
Cart and Horses Bar & Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Stayed here late May and had a wonderful time. The staff were very helpful and attentive. Rooms were clean with every amenity available. The price was also brilliant for such a great location! Very convenient and close to many transport links.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin E, Owner at Cart And Horses, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Hello Samantha,

We were really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in May and that you were happy with your overall experience. We strive to provide the best service possible to every guest who stays with us.

Thank you very much for your review and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Justin & Staff
Cart and Horses Bar & Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Ibis London Stratford
Ibis London Stratford
#459 of 1,069 in London
820 reviews
Epsilon Hotel
#583 of 1,069 in London
190 reviews
Travelodge London Stratford
#348 of 1,069 in London
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cart And Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cart And Horses

Property: Cart And Horses
Address: Stratford 1 Maryland Point, London E15 1PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 558 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cart And Horses 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family owned and run Cart and Horses Bar and Hotel is situated in a period property in the East end of London. It is a 5 minute walk from the 2012 Stratford Olympic park, which includes all of the Olympic venues for 2012 Games. The Cart and Horses boasts a large smoking area, private car park and separate hotel entrance. The Hotel was launched in January 2011 offering rooms with both en suites and shared facilities.All rooms include flat screen LCD/LED TV's, tea and coffee making facilities and towels. We are more than able to accommodate both solo travellers and large corporate bookings. A continental breakfast is also included!In the Bar area live bands play every Friday and Saturday night, showcasing an assortment of chart, rock and indie music.The bar stocks a variety of world beers, spirits and shooters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Cart And Horses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing